New Arrivals, Current Reading June 3 – 9, 2013

NEW ARRIVALS:
In addition to the artwork that I’ve been filling the blog with the last few days, I did get three books.

Abaddon’s Gate by James S. Corey [Orbit Books 2013 trade paperback, new] – science fiction novel – third book in The Expanse series. I read the first one, Leviathan Wakes, knowing there would be more. Though I often wait for a series to all be published before I read it, in this case reviews and an excerpt made me so eager to read it I didn’t wait. I loved it and have the second book near the top of the TBR. This third book in the series will be shelved until that one is read.

The Hand of Dinotopia by Alan Dean Foster [Harper Collins 1999 hardcover, new] – fantasy – the second novel based on James Gurney’s wonderful Dinotopia books, following Dinotopia Lost. I hadn’t realized this had been published until I came across mention of it by accident. As I love all things Dinotopia, I was lucky to be able to snag a reasonably priced new first edition on-line.

H. J. Ward by David Saumders [Illustrator’s Press 2010 oversized hardcover, new] – art, biography – Ward was a pulp illustrator with a short career before his death in WWII. The images in this book are from Spicy DetectiveArgosy Lone Ranger, Superman and a host of other pulps and some slicks. Pulp fans will love it.

CURRENT READING
I’ve really been in a reading slump of late. Several books were started but set aside. I’m now about halfway through The Velvet Touch, a collection of Nick Velvet stories by Ed Hoch. Meanwhile I’m still continuing to read The Song of the Sky, and a couple of other short story collections.

What did you get, new, used or from the library, and
what have you been reading?

About Rick Robinson

Enjoying life in Portland, OR
This entry was posted in books, Current Reading, fantasy, New Arrivals and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to New Arrivals, Current Reading June 3 – 9, 2013

  1. I picked up Abaddon’s Gate and the new Stephen King book, Joyland, last Tuesday when they came out. I’m midway through Caliban’s War right now and am enjoying it.

    I can’t remember, did you ever read the shorter works “The Butcher of Anderson Station” and “Gods of Risk”? You should check them out.

  2. Richard says:

    Carl, I have “Butcher of Anderson Station” as an e-story but have not read it. Nor have I started Caliban’s War. BTW, more artwork posts coming next week, and we went to the frame shop too.

  3. Evan Lewis says:

    H.J. Ward! Jealous.

  4. Jeff Meyerson says:

    I wish you wouldn’t keep writing about books that make me want to get them.

    😉

    Leviathan Wakes is a 2011 science fiction novel by James S. A. Corey (pen name of Daniel Abraham and Ty Franck).

    I put the first one on reserve. We’ll see if I read it.

    Will get back to new stuff shortly.

  5. You can’t go wrong with Ed Hoch’s short stories! I’m still working my way through William Gaddis’ massive novel, THE RECOGNITIONS. We’ve had three inches of rain in the past week: perfect weather for reading!

  6. Jeff Meyerson says:

    True. I’ve read all the Crippen & Landru/Hoch collections – Nick Velvet, Michael Vlado, Jeffery Rand, and my favorites with Dr. Sam Hawthorne.

    This week I only finished one book (library), John Scalzi’s THE HUMAN DIVISION, latest in his Old Man’s War series. It was ingeniously done, publishing each of the thirteen sections as a stand alone chapter weekly. I liked it a lot though he left a cliffhanger at the end.

    I did get a bunch of paperbacks (recommended by you and George, mostly) – all from PaperbackSwap.com:

    Gordon R. Dickson, NAKED TO THE STARS, MUTANTS, INVADERS! and BEGINNINGS. The last three are short story collections.
    Robert McCammon, THE WOLF’S HOUR
    Elisabeth Sanxay Holding, THE BLANK WALL/THE INNOCENT MRS. DUFF (trade pb, done like an Ace double back to back) – Patti Abbott wrote about her twice
    A. Bertram Chandler, GALACTIC COURIER, the latest Baen collection of John Grimes novels, this a trade pb
    John D. MacDonald, SOFT TOUCH

  7. cgramlich says:

    I remember when Dinatopia was huge

  8. Cap'n Bob says:

    I’m amazed that no one commented ob the “Nice Velvet” typo. I guess I won’t, either.

  9. Cap'n Bob says:

    Good thing I didn’t, what with my own typo in the comment, “ob” for “on.”

  10. Richard says:

    No one else has your eagle eye, Bob. Thanks, I’ll correct it.

  11. Richard says:

    Charles, among art lovers, Dinotopia is still huge, or at least James Gurney’s artwork is.

  12. Patti Abbott says:

    Reading KILLSHOT for Elmore Leonard day. Also MARY, LOU< RHODA AND TED about the writing of the Mary Tyler Moore show. Just finished THE WOMAN UPSTAIRS, a literary novel which was great.

  13. I would recommend reading both shorts before Caliban’s War. It adds a little depth to the characters.

  14. Redhead says:

    I am so excited for Abbadon’s Gate!!

  15. Richard says:

    Patti, I doubt I’ll do an Elmore Leonard, not a favorite. Who is the author of The Woman Upstairs?

  16. Richard says:

    Redhead, I know. After I read Caliban’s War and – Carl says – the two short pieces, I’ll get to it.

  17. Richard says:

    Okay, Carl, will do.

Leave a comment