SFAL art – a closer look, part 1

I’ve taken photographs of the artwork – all of it prints, many of them signed – that I posted about in the Spectrum Fantasy Art Live! swag post. To give a better look and a little more information I’m going to do a series of posts on single works. I’ll do two or three items at a time to limit post length. Here we go.

First up, a wonderful painting by Donato Giancola.

Red Sonja by Donato Giancola

Red Sonja by Donato Giancola

This is Robert E. Howard’s character Red Sonja. There are a lot of images of this character out there, but this is probably my favorite of them all. The image is a little canted due to my camera angle.

The second print I want to share is by Edward Howard.

Edward Howard - The Relic

 I first saw this image while browsing some artist websites and when I saw this on Howard’s site I was immediately spellbound by it. It tells a story, but I don’t know what it is. As Carl Vincent remarked, this image needs a book written around it. If that happens, what a cover image this will make!

Last item for this post is a Tolkein image from artist Justin Gerard.

'There He Lay"

‘There He Lay” by Justin Gerard

In the mind of some fans, when it comes to illustrating Tolkein’s books, Gerard’s art is overshadowed by some better known names. However this image in particular is one I love. The subtlety of Smaug’s coloring against the horde of gold and the use of dark and light to define the scene show the level of Gerard’s artistic skill. Wonderful!

About Richard Robinson

Enjoying life in Portland, OR
This entry was posted in art and illustration, fantasy and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to SFAL art – a closer look, part 1

  1. cgramlich says:

    Whoa, love the one with the horses showing so small, revealing the massive scale of the object. very cool and it fires my imagination.

  2. Edward Howard’s image makes me think of a John Berkey spaceship crashed on the surface. As you said, that I said, a story really needs to be written around this image.

    Glad you enjoyed the Justin Gerard image. You point out the reasons I like it so much myself. The gold really shines and I love the way the image is lit, especially as framed by the darker areas.

    And Donato is simply amazing. It is hard to describe just how jaw-dropping his original work is when you are standing inches away from it. It doesn’t seem possible. And he is the nicest guy. I’d love to see a Howard collection with that image of Red Sonja on the cover.

  3. Love that Red Sonja cover! And that mysterious huge object! Great artwork.

  4. Richard says:

    Charles, yes that’s a really wonderful image. As I said, I’d love to read a story about this world.

  5. Richard says:

    Yes, George, I love good SF-F art. There’s more to come in the next installments of this topic.

  6. Richard says:

    More to come, Chris. Part 2 is tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

