That Reading Feeling

happy readerI read about 100 books a year, and that’s a lot of pages, even if some of the books are thin. My reading is mostly genre fiction; mystery novels and short stories, science fiction, fantasy, adventure, reprinted pulp stories from the 1930s and 1940s and so forth. I also read historical non-fiction, general fiction, an occasional western, spy or young adult book. So, lots of pages, lots of book types over the year.

I enjoy just about everything I read; otherwise I wouldn’t chose to read it, though I do occasionally start a book that disappoints enough that I don’t finish it. But most of the time I do enjoy the book and keep reading to the end. Sometimes I write a short review, sometimes not.

But you know what I really love? It’s when I get what I call that reading feeling. That’s when I enjoy a book so much I hate to stop reading at night, and wake up wanting to start reading with breakfast and just keep going all day or until I (almost always regretfully) finish it. As far as I’m concerned, those are the really good books!

About Richard Robinson

Enjoying life in Portland, OR
This entry was posted in reading. Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to That Reading Feeling

  1. Jeff Meyerson says:

    I totally agree with that, Rick. I only wish it happened more often for me these days. Once in a while I get on a roll where I seem to find several books in a row that inspire that feeling, but not often enough.

  2. Richard says:

    Jeff, it’s not frequent, in spite of how much we’d like it to be, but when it does it’s sure great.

  3. Rick, you’re right about the feeling readers experience when they’re reading a good book. For me, that feeling is JOY. A good book transports me into another state of consciousness. Jeff is right: I wish it happened more often.

  4. Yes, yes, I love that feeling so much as well. To take me away from the rest of the world.

  5. Richard says:

    Patti, all of the real readers, as opposed to people who read sometimes, will recognize that feeling of being in the middle of a book and not wanting to stop reading, whether it’s to run an errand, go to an appointment, eat or sleep.

  6. Richard says:

    George, if only there were more books that gave us that joy. Of course a book that gives you joy might leave me cold, so there’s no formula.I have read books that transport me away but are still a bit of a chore to get through.

  7. Richard says:

    Charles, how delightful to find and read such a book. I’m sure to write one is no easier than writing any other book so I suppose the writer writes what he or she thinks would give joy were he/she the reader.

  8. Fence says:

    Oh I love that feeling too. I have to make sure not to read those sort of books at the kitchen table when I’m having my breakfast though, otherwise I run the risk of being late for work

  9. Evan Lewis says:

    Good pic of you, though you seem to have lost all your hair. And your nose. And your ears. But hey, you don’t need that stuff for reading, anyway.

  10. John says:

    Sometimes I find myself still reading at 3:45 AM knowing full well I need to be at the CTA station no later than 7:50 AM in order to get to work. But I get “that reading feeling” as you say. I’m “in the zone” to use my own slang, and time no longer exists. Usually the next day I ‘m a wreck from lack of sleep. But I can’t wait to get back to the book. I love this feeling more than something I call “book glut” when I’ve read too many mediocre books in a row and need to take a break.

  11. Richard says:

    Fence, I did that a few times in the day, but I usually didn’t have time to even open the book in the morning, just grab a bite, he’d for a coffee and to the office. The reading began a few minutes after I got home and changed out of the work clothes.

  12. Richard says:

    Evan, ha, ha. But you’re right, some of that stuff ain’t necessary to read, no.

  13. Richard says:

    John, I don’t find myself up late very often anymore, because I start to yawn, and yawn, until my eyes tear up and I give it up. But I will sometimes get up at 4:00 or 5:00, get coffee and read all morning (retired people can do that, he said smugly).

  14. Richard says:

    John, that book glut thing, several mediocre books, sometimes each partially read, is awful. Depending on the book and my level of investment, I either plod on or give it up. Even worse is when I start a book I’ve really, really, been looking forward to and it’s a dud.

  15. Richard, I agree with you on both counts: “enjoying just about everything I read” and “that reading feeling” when you just don’t want to put the book away.

  16. Yvette says:

    Been getting that ‘reading feeling’ a lot lately, Richard. I’ve discovered several ‘new’ authors and managed to get my hands on their books and all I seem to want to do is read, read, read!! Sometimes until four in the morning. And then it’s ‘oh, do I HAVE to go to sleep?’ Ha.

    Lately I have found several books in a row that I’m mad about and then it’s, ‘why can’t I read all these at the same time? ‘ HA!

    And now that I have a Kindle and can download at whim – watch out world!!

  17. Richard says:

    It’s always great to discover new authors, isn’t it? It seems every issue of Mystery Scene magazine points me toward one or two, and my library hold list gets longer. I saw that review on your blog mentioning reading into the wee hours. That’s rare for me, my eyes get too tired. Yes, why can’t we find those kind of books ALL THE TIME?

    Congratulations on that new Kindle.

Leave a Reply

