Current Reading, January 19 – 25, 2015

ToS

I finished A Natural History of Dragons: A Memoir by Lady Trent by Marie Brennan. I liked it pretty much, so I got the second in the series, Tropic of Serpents from the library a few days ago. It was also good though I did skim a section in the center which was filled with politics and international squabbles, which I felt padded the book but were of no interest to me. It does show motives, add background and set up what comes after. Others might find that part more interesting than I did. These books are worth a look. Next up is a Charlie Chan novel, Behind That Curtain.

I’m also making yet another try at reading more short stories. I’ve pulled out a few collections and plan, in between novels and whatnot (that whatnot gets me every time) to work through them. A couple are quite fat and will take a long time. I won’t list the collections, but here are the covers, click to see them better.

All-the-Light-no-carsProgress  on reading these will be reported in brief. This week I read seven, 2 from Grottos, 1 each from the others.

Barbara
Barbara  finished All the Light We Cannot See by Anthony Doerr, and really liked it a lot. She said it was the best book she’s read in a long time.

Now she’s reading another book by Jeffrey Deaver, The Sleeping Doll. Next up will be another novel by Mark Billingham.

What are you reading?

About Richard Robinson

Enjoying life in Portland, OR
This entry was posted in Current Reading, fantasy, mystery, Pulp, science fiction, short stories. Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Current Reading, January 19 – 25, 2015

  1. Some nice stuff here. My post is up and you’re responsible for one.

  2. macavityabc says:

    Just finished the new bio of Jerry Lee Lewis by Rick Bragg.

  3. I’m back to work so it’s mostly short books and short stories until June. Diane’s book club read ALL THE LIGHT WE CANNOT SEE and really liked it.

  4. Jeff Meyerson says:

    I guess it will take a while to get to the Doerr book as there are 735 holds (!) for the 25 copies in my library system. Oh well, I guess I have enough other stuff to read.

    Will get back to you after breakfast.

  5. Charlie Chan eh? I’ll be interested in your take.

  6. Jeff Meyerson says:

    I do want to read that Jerry Lee Lewis bio too.

    Since we got down here on Wednesday I did little reading on the road and have been pretty busy getting settled in, leaving less than my usual time for reading. I am reading short stories, of course, the new Crippen & Landru collection by Phyllis Bentley and (an ebook) The Randall Garrett Megapack, both of which I’m enjoying. I’ve read 41 stories in the first 25 days of the month, as many days one was all I had time to manage.

    As for books the only one I finished was another ebook, TV writer Phoef Sutton’s FIFTEEN MINUTES TO LIVE, which was apparently written in 1998 but not published until 15 years later. Let’s just say author Lee Goldberg and I have very different ideas of “hilarious” (his word). The book centers on a young woman in her thirties who is losing all her memories and is unable to form new ones. It would be hard to think of anything less hilarious.

    I’m more than halfway through Kristine Kathryn Rusch’s EXTREMES in her Retrieval Artist series,

  7. Patti Abbott says:

    Reading WEST OF SUNSET. Picked up a few books here at library sales. Everyone I know says that about the Doerr book so I must try it. Phil is reading STATION 11 after just finishing DRY BONES IN THE VALLEY and HANOVER SQUARE. He is a better reader than me.

  8. Jeff Meyerson says:

    I liked STATION ELEVEN but wouldn’t call it great. But then, I thought THE GRAND BUDAPEST HOTEL was very overrated.

  9. Richard says:

    Bill, did you like it? Was it well done?

  10. Richard says:

    Randy, ah, I see you got SCARLET RIDERS. I hope you like it! You should certainly enjoy the Hammett and the Ed Noon.

  11. Richard says:

    George, she was very impressed with ALL THE LIGHT WE CANNOT SEE and raced through it. It got her highest praise. I plan on reading it when the line for it at the library gets smaller.

  12. Richard says:

    Jeff, the Doerr book had a wait list of about 190 at the Lake Oswego library, but it was the LO Reads book for December, so they had many copies. Barbara got it in about two weeks, though it was a two-week book, not the usual three weeks. Multnomah County, the other library system we use, had about 950 people waiting for 12 copies, so not bad either. I’ll put a hold on it soon, then when I get within a few spots of 1st I’ll freeze it until I feel like reading it.

  13. Richard says:

    Charles, I’ve read others. Here are the review of the last one I read: http://wp.me/pCGOo-25s I like the Chan novels (and dislike the films) and I don’t mind the “datedness” of them, nor the language or any of the rest of it. I take all that stuff in stride as I consider when it was written and then put what I read in it’s time. No problem. The books present fun puzzles, interesting characters and settings. As I said, I like them.

  14. Richard says:

    Jeff, FIFTEEN MINUTES TO LIVE sounds awful, and not in the least amusing nor conducive to hilarity. Gladberg was way off the mark on that one.

    I know you read thousands of short stories every year, but give a guy a chance…if I read 100 a year I would be doing really good. I haven’t read any of the Retrieval Artist series books in a while, I should get back to them.

  15. Richard says:

    Patti, I appreciate you adding Phil’s reading to the list. As you know, George reviewed WEST OF SUNSET today. It seems everyone wants to read ALL THE LIGHT WE CANOT SEE right now.

  16. Fence says:

    I really enjoyed A Natural History of Dragons, I loved Lady Trent’s voice. But I haven’t gotten to the second yet.

    I’m reading A Serpent Uncoiled by Simon Spurrier. I can’t recall where I came across it, but I must have bought it as an ebook at some stage because there it was, sitting on my kindle when I went browsing.
    It’s interesting so far. I’m not quite half way in.

  17. Jerry House says:

    It’s been short stories only for me this week, Richard. I read MORE DIXIE GHOSTS edited by McSherry, Waugh, and Greenberg, and Asimov and Greenberg’s THE GREAT SF STORIES #7 (1945) and #24 (1961), as well as a few stories from other collections.

    Coming up is a collection of Joe R. Lansdale’s JONAH HEX comics, as well as Alan Bradley’s latest Flavia de Luce mystery. Also in the queue are mysteries by Lawrence Block, Marian Babson, and Agatha Christie, as well as SF collections from James Tiptree, Jr. and Joanna Russ.

    You certainly have some great short stories in those six books, and the original Charlie Chan novels are far better than most people assume.

  18. Richard says:

    Fence, that’s a Dan Shaper novel, right? I haven’t tried any, I’m trying to make some headway on the stuff I already have on my shelves. I’ll be looking to see what you think of it.

    Tropic of Serpents was good, I just skipped some of the international intrigue/politics because it’s the natural history aspect that interests. I agree, I like Lady Trent’s voice too. The third one, Voyage of the Basilisk, comes out in late March, I believe.

  19. Richard says:

    Jerry, everyone’s reading short stories. Those Great SF Stories collections contain some good things. I really should get around to reading one of Alan Bradley’s Flavia de Luce mystery novels Everyone seems to like them. I have the first one on the shelf, so it would qualify for me push to read what I have. I’m due for a Christie soon to. It may be Cat Among Pigeons.

    You said: “You certainly have some great short stories in those six books, and the original Charlie Chan novels are far better than most people assume.

    Thanks, and you are right the Chan books are much better than people who have not read any think they would be, especially if the only exposure they’ve had is a film or two.

  20. Fence says:

    Yup, Dan Shaper is the former-enforcer/private eye protagonist

Leave a Reply

