New Arrivals and Current Reading, February 10 – 16, 2014

Again, No New Arrivals.
IMG_2310I’m reading between watching the Winter Olympics (but starting to get burned out on the coverage and commercials). Yesterday we went for a rainy walk by the Willamette River, which is as high as we’ve seen it, though not in danger of flooding. Then we came home, had hot chocolate. Nice day.

We had a hell of a wind storm last night, a real howler, with rain. No power loss but a wakeful night. Lots of small branches and leaves to clean up when next the skies are dry.

Current Reading
I’d gotten halfway through Constellation, Vol. 1 by Sharon Lee and Steve Miller, from the library when three more books popped up on the library ready-for-pickup list. The first one is The Everything Store about Jeff Bezos and Amazon.com. I was on a long wait list for it so I had to stop reading one to start on the other. Two came the next day, both mysteries. I may end up returning one or two of those and requesting them again at another time.

What new did you get, what have you been reading?

About Richard Robinson

Enjoying life in Portland, OR
This entry was posted in Current Reading, New Arrivals. Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to New Arrivals and Current Reading, February 10 – 16, 2014

  1. I picked up a copy of Jeff Vandermeer’s novel, Annihilation, last week and tore through it. Will be reviewing it tonight. Today I picked up a vinyl recording…yes, vinyl…of The 78 Project, which I posted about today. Very excited about that one.

  2. Patti Abbott says:

    I plan to read THE GOLDFINCH forever.

  3. Jerry House says:

    I just took a look at my current library hold and interlibrary loan lists — 18 books in all; eight of them graphic novels and Walt Kelly collections so it’s not as intimidating as it may seem. My library doesn’t indicate where one is on the hold list and will only allow a maximum of 25 holds at any one time; still there have been times when eight or more books have arrived for me at the same time. I may follow your advice and skip every other paragraph rather than skip the vowels when this happens again, Richard.

    My Pronzini-thon is back on track, having read STEP TO THE GRAVEYARD EASY and IN AN EVIL TIME; just another four or five to go. I was mistaken when I thought I had finished all the Stephen King graphic novels; I came across THE DARK TOWER — THE GUNSLINGER: LAST SHOTS, a collection of stand-alone stories that pale in comparison to the earlier volumes (IMHO). I also read the Asimov/Greenberg/Waugh anthology SHERLOCK HOLMES THROUGH TIME AND SPACE (a good collection and my Forgotten Book last week) and the 20-author collaborative novel INHERIT THE DEAD, edited by Jonathan Santlofer (interesting but flawed by the very nature of the beast).

    My next marathon obsession may be digest SF magazine GALAXY; I read three random issues this week. (All issues through 1959 are available at Internet Archives; Galaxy published so many great stories in that decade.)

    I’m now reading Alan Lightman’s book of essays THE ACCIDENTAL UNIVERSE. This coming week will see more Pronzini, perhaps more GALAXYs, and whatever else I may stumble upon.

  4. I have a small break in the semester with Presidents Day off and the next day. I’m reading P. J. Sturges’ THE SHORTCUT MAN trilogy.

  5. Richard says:

    Carl, I look forward to the review!

    Patti, and forever…and forever… Seems to me George had the same experience. Yet the book seems, if reviews are to be believed, liked by many. Or perhaps they just bought the hype?

  6. Richard says:

    Jerry, I didn’t realize knowing position wasn’t universal. Now I feel lucky. So you’ve been getting the Kelly books at the library. I have been buying some of mine. Seems 25 holds ought to be enough. I saw that FFB of yours, now you need to try Sherlock Holmes in Orbit.

  7. Richard says:

    George, five days off so you read a trilogy. Woof.

  8. I’d be reading more books during this break but today I’m installing TURBOTAX and making the first run at my taxes. It usually takes me a couple of tries before I finally have the taxes “tweaked.”

  9. I have not watched much of the olympics. I’ve always been a much bigger fan of the summer games than the winter ones.

  10. Jeff Meyerson says:

    No new books here. Mostly reading short stories. I did read a couple of books. One was an ebook I downloaded because it was cheap (or free; can’t remember at thie point) and it sounded interesting. It was. The book was Turn a Dark Phrase by David Coy, and “dark” was definitely the relevant word, along with creepy. I liked it. The other, also a short story collection, was by Dan Simmons – PRAYERS TO BROKEN STONES. Again, I liked some of it quite a lot and I may have to go back and catch up on a few of his “big” books I wasn’t sure about before, like CARRION COMFORT.

    I should have at least three read this week.

  11. Richard says:

    George, we see our tax person tomorrow. I used TurboTax for a long time but here our situation is a little more complicated so we have them done. Last year’s fee comes off this year’s tax computation, so long run it doesn’t cost us much.

  12. Richard says:

    Charles, just the opposite here, as in Summer Olympics I skip all the track and field stuff, equestrian, and a whole lot more. In Winter, I like all the skiing and snowboarding and most everything else except hockey and curling. I catch up on magazine reading during the commercials.

  13. Richard says:

    Jeff, seems to me you and Barbara like some of the same stuff, dark, gritty creepy. You are always reading short stories. I gave one a day another try last year and got through about 40 days and then tired of it. I just didn’t want to get up every morning and read a bloody short story first thing, and if I waited I never got to it. Seems you’re reading a good amount of Simmons lately. Have you been reading any SF-F at all?

  14. Jeff Meyerson says:

    Yesterday I finished the first of Kristine Kathryn Rusch’s Retrival Artist books (originally on your recommendation) and happily I liked it a lot, especially since I have seven more at home on the shelf waiting to read. I’ve liked pretty much everything I’ve read by her, including the short stories.

  15. RJR says:

    Just got Stephen Dobyns’ burn palace from Amazon, along with a bunch of Clint Walker videos.

    RJR

  16. Richard says:

    RJR, Clint Walker videos as in Cheyenne Bodie of the TV series Cheyenne? Cool.

  17. Richard says:

    Jeff, so you finally got around to that one, eh? I have read the first three, I think it is, but have more here I want to get to. I have so dang many books I can’t decide what to read and lose track of things like this series.

Leave a Reply

