Library Book Overwhelmed-ness

books07Does this happen to you?

This happens every now and then: books on hold at the library all pop up at once. Right now, between the two of us, we have seven library books in the house, a couple of them fat ones, all of them screaming “READ ME NOW, I HAVE A DUE DATE!”

Some are books I put on hold months ago, and was two hundred and something out of two hundred and something on the wait list. Others I put a hold on two weeks ago. When I stack up a dozen holds and there’s no telling when the books will be available, they can sure tumble together and suddenly I have a bunch of things all at once. That’s when I feel a lot of pressure to drop everything and get them read, especially those that can’t be renewed.

About Richard Robinson

Enjoying life in Portland, OR
This entry was posted in books. Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Library Book Overwhelmed-ness

  1. Bill Crider says:

    This happens to me every time I have two or more books on hold, some of them requested months apart. Drives me nuts.

  2. Jerry House says:

    When this happens to me, I try to get through the books fast by skipping the vowels. Doesn’t work.

  3. Jeff Meyerson says:

    Oh yeah, it happens regularly. Sometimes when I feel overwhelmed I pick out one to read and return the rest. Sometimes I have up to a dozen library books waiting to be read. As long as I can renew them there’s no problem other than guilt. Jackie actually brought her last library book on the trip, but since it was a five year old paperback and there were ten copies in the system I was sure I’d be able to renew it (and I have).

    What annoys me is when a book arrives after waiting months and I find that either (1) I just don’t like it at all or (2) I might like it in the right mood but I’m not in that mood right now.

    I hate when that happens.

  4. John says:

    Wish I knew my place in a Hold line when waiting for reserved library books. I don’t often reserve books, but I’ve never known my number in the queue. I can see how many copies are on hold by going to the CPL online system and if there are more than four requests for a popular and new title I don’t even bother. I usually end up buying the book rather than waiting.

  5. Richard, I am not a member of any library though my own pile of books screaming to be read makes me feel like I am a member of several libraries. All my books are long overdue.

  6. This happens to me All The Time. Fortunately, I have made friends with the librarians (I brought them chocolate for Valentine’s Day!) and they are willing to use their “magic powers” to renew books for me that have reached their renewal limit.

  7. Jeff Meyerson says:

    We still have a 10 book limit on reserves from the library, though no limit on how many books you can take out. When I reach my limit I can still put books on Jackie’s list. Currently there is no longer a limit on how many times you can renew a book as long as it isn’t on hold for someone else.

  8. Because I have so many unread books I almost never use the library anymore for books. So this doesn’t happen to me.

  9. Richard says:

    Bill, yep, how the heck does that happen?

  10. Richard says:

    Jerry, maybe it would work better if you skipped every other paragraph… Sometimes I do what Jeff does and just send one back and read the other, though anything that can be renewed is easy to skip.

  11. Richard says:

    Jeff, I started using the library more when I decided I didn’t have to own every book I wanted to read, and I save a lot of money by getting things at the library. I wind up putting a hold on books on order by the system, and there’s no way to tell when it will show up. If I’m 80th on 12 copies on one and 258th on 28 copies on the other they shouldn’t show up within a few days! Usually these books aren’t renewable, like Doctor Sleep, that Barbara is reading (as fast as she can!). I just stopped reading one library book that can be renewed to read another, The Everything Store, that can’t.

    That thing about waiting and then not liking or being in the mood happens to me too, but I’m always reading something else anyway, so I just drop it back in the return slot and keep going.

  12. Richard says:

    John, I guess I’m lucky that my system shows #x of #y on #z copies on my holds page. If it were me I’d continue to wait, it’s worth it for the money saved.

  13. Richard says:

    Prashant, I find the library saves me a lot of money.

  14. Richard says:

    George, you know how to make the librarians happy! When we pick up books it’s all automated, we rarely interact with staff.

  15. Richard says:

    Jeff, there doesn’t seem to be any limit on holds, only on books checked out, and that’s such a big number compared to the three we got in SoCal that it doesn’t matter.

  16. Richard says:

    Charles, I have a ton of unread books here, too, but there always seem to be new things I want to read but not buy.

  17. Frank Dento says:

    Feast or famine. Too many books show up at the library or…you didn’t request books soon enough and now you’ve run out. Fortunately, I know most of the guys on this blog and I know that they have houses full of unread books of their own. So not much reason to whine. Read on, fellow bibliophiles.

  18. Richard says:

    Well, Frank, no whining so much as head shaking over how this seems to happen. I finished a long library book last night, but three more have come in, one for me, two for Barbara, who just finished a doorstop library of her own. I just figure we’re saving a lot of money. You’re right I have more unread books here than I could read in this lifetime anyway, so I never “run out”.

Leave a Reply

