New Arrivals, Current Reading March 11 – 17, 2013

It’s beginning to look like Spring here, with Daffodils and Forsythia blooming and buds and new growth on many shrubs and trees. Spring – it’s good!

NEW ARRIVALS:
After last week’s bonanza of stuff, it was inevitable, and desirable, that there be a reduction this time, which is what happened, though throughout the week things did trickle in, resulting in four books and a classical CD set.

A Turn of Light by Julie E. Czerneda [DAW 2013 trade paper, new] – fantasy novel – Though the cover makes this look like it could be a bodice-ripper, in fact it’s a coming of age, dragons and magic, world calamity must be avoided, dark forces are at work fantasy. Reviews have praised the writing particularly, and since it’s too new for either of the local library systems to have it or even have it on order, I decided to buy it. It’s enough to know that the young woman on the cover is beginning to feel the magic she may someday, with luck, command and some people don’t want her to survive until that time. First in a trilogy, the second volume being written now. I’ve not read anything by this author.

The Charing Cross Mystery by J.S. Fletcher [Oleander Press 2013 trade paper, new] – mystery novel – Oleander Press is beginning, with this book, a series of early 20th century mystery reprints, the series titled London Bound, as shown on the cover. Extensive review on the Pretty Sinister Books blog HERE.

Masters of Science Fiction Volume 6 Fritz Leiber “Deadly Moon” and other tales [Armchair Fiction 2012 trade paper, new] – single author short story collection – classic science fiction short stories, volume 6 in this re-publication series – I ordered the first 5 volumes from the publisher, but this one was not available so I had to get it from an outside source. It arrived just after the other post went up. I already have most of these stories, but wanted to have all of the first 6 volumes in the set. There are additional volumes in the series, either already published or soon to be.

Masters of Everon by Gordon R. Dickson [Grosset & Dunlap, Book Club Edition, 1979 hardcover, used] – science fiction novel – yet another Dickson I don’t remember reading, so I picked it up on BookSwap. I like the jacket illustration by Mike Hinge.

Wilhelm Stenhammar – Symphonies and Piano Concertos Neeme Jarvi, Gotenburg Symphony, 3 CD [Brilliant Classics, 2011, new] – classical music – edited version of 2008 BIS 4 CD set – Stenhammar was a Swedish pianist and self-taught composer and conductor. His early influences were Liszt, Brahms, and Wagner, but his music is imbued with a Nordic sound without specifically quoting Swedish folk song. Later Stenhammar’s music was modeled on Beethoven, Haydn, and Mozart, though still with lots of Nordic color. Stenhammar eventually became one of the most important Scandinavian musicians of his era, turn-of-the-century Sweden. This set contains 2 symphonies, 2 piano concertos and 2 suites for orchestra.

CURRENT READING:
I very much enjoyed Wild, Delicate Moments: 29 Wildlife Encounters by Charles Finn, especially the author’s use of language and his descriptive ability with the wildlife and surroundings. Also, I caught up on a bunch of magazines that had been piling up and read a few short stories. Then Kinsey and Me by Sue Grafton came (library), and I’ve started that. More short stories, just what I need, but so far – 3 stories in – the book is great.

What did you get, new, used or from the library?
What have you been reading?

About Richard Robinson

Enjoying life in Portland, OR
This entry was posted in books, Classical Music, fantasy, New Arrivals, reading, science fiction, short stories and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to New Arrivals, Current Reading March 11 – 17, 2013

  1. The Leiber series sounds interesting. Not familiar with the Gordon R. Dickson book either, which remeinds me I was lucky enough to get him to autograph a book at a con over thirty years ago.

  2. Evan Lewis says:

    The Leiber book looks good to me too. Were the first five volumes collections by different authors?

  3. cgramlich says:

    I’ve got the Dickson, but not that Leiber. I’ve got most of his stuff in one form or another.

  4. I’m glad you’re collecting those Armchair SF collections. Diane just finished reading KINSEY & ME and enjoyed it. Of course, Diane’s read everything Sue Grafton has written. I resort to the Library for books I’m likely to only read once or books that I’m not sure I’ll like. I buy books I know I will like and might read again someday.

  5. Jeff Meyerson says:

    I quit the Grafton series after “M” but I’ll check out the short stories (of course). (OK, reserved it.) I read a J. S. Fletcher (THE HERAPATH PROPERTY, according to my database, though I have no memory of it at all) about 40 years ago when I was first reading British mysteries.

    Not much reading done last week other than short stories as we were on the road, though I did finish a couple of ebooks – Eric Beetner’s A BOUQUET OF BULLETS (shorts) and Ben Rehder’s ya tale THE DRIVING LESSON. Overall I read 19 books and 102 short stories during our trip. We also saw 17 movies, in the theater or on DVD.

    There were a couple of paperbacks (#2 and 3 in a series George recommended a few weeks back) waiting for me when we got home: THE ORPHEUS MACHINE and THE EMPEROR OF EVERYTHING by Ray Aldridge. I still need book #1.

  6. Jeff Meyerson says:

    Just checked and 11 of the books I read while we were away were ebooks. I still prefer the real thing but there is no doubt the Kindle works on a road trip. 9 of the books I finished were short story collections (all but one ebooks).

  7. Richard says:

    Evan, please see last week’s New Arrivals post for the full line up of the Masters of SF books.

    Randy, there are better Leiber collections around. I just wanted to finish out 6 books in the series.

  8. John says:

    Thanks for the plug to my blog, Rick. I’m curious to see what you think of THE CHARING CROSS MYSTERY. I’m not a big fan of Fletcher. It’s the stuff of Oppenheim and Wallace and their ilk.

  9. Richard says:

    John, my pleasure. I know Fletcher isn’t a favorite of yours, but I thought I’d try it and support Oleander Press at the same time.

  10. Richard says:

    Jeff, I stopped reading the Kinsey Millhone novels at about G, I think, not because I wasn’t enjoying them, but just because I got sidetracked by other books. I plan to get back to them one of these days.

  11. Patti Abbott says:

    It is 28 here and snowing. Three days of sun since I returned from California. Ugh. WISE MEN by Stuart Nadler, BURIAL RITES, Hannah Kent, THE BOY by Lara Santoro-all arcs my daughter gave me.

  12. Jeff Meyerson says:

    The weather here sucks too, Patti. It’s 34, windy and overcast and we’re waiting for the snow to start. I’m so sorry we’re not still in Florida.

  13. We’re in a winter wonderland here in Western NY. Freezing temps.

Leave a Reply

