NCAA basketball time of year

2013-ncaa-mens-bracket

click to see large enough to actually read.

Once pro football is over, there’s not much of interest to me in sports until the NCAA men’s basketball conference championship tournaments, which were held last weekend. I watched those, and the bracket selection show (here’s the bracket).

Now it’s time for the tournament and I’ll be watching, focused on the upsets, close games and the few expected blow-outs. Printed bracket in hand, highlighter, iPhone app (of course there’s an app for that!) and laptop (for the “live” bracket updates), watching a whole bunch of games and probably a bizillion commercials. That will be for the next couple of Thursday-Sunday periods, plus the semi-finals and finals. All these dates are on the bracket, readable if you click on it. I love it.

Do you have a favorite team? Who do you think will go to the Final Four?

About Richard Robinson

Enjoying life in Portland, OR
This entry was posted in At Home in Portland and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to NCAA basketball time of year

  1. Evan Lewis says:

    Yawn. Let me know if and when Washington State ever gets into it again.

  2. Cap'n Bob says:

    You won’t live that long, Evan. Better switch your allegiance to the Huskies. 😉

  3. The field seems a little wider open this year. Not sure, but it may be all these one and dones headed for the NBA. I like to think of it as a more balanced group of teams. Louisville looks to be the favorite on most people’s sheets. But Digger Phelps doesn’t think any of the No 1s will make the Final Four.

    I’m a Duke fan and have been long before Coach K arrived. I make no apology for their consistent excellence. They have three seniors this year, Curry, Plumley, and Kelly, that make them better than a lot of others. Don’t mean they’ll win though.

  4. cgramlich says:

    I haven’t watched the final four since the old days when Arkansas as in the hunt for the national championship.

  5. I’ll be rooting for my alma mater, Marquette. They should be able to beat Davidson, but then they’ll face Butler. Hopefully, this will be a year where some Dark Horses show up in the FINAL FOUR!

  6. This is the first time in a LONG time that I won’t be doing a bracket. The gang at work that I did a pool with every year are pretty much all gone and I’m having a hard time getting motivated. Next year I’ll have to do an online thing just for the challenge. I am looking forward to some good games, though.

    I’ll be cheering for Kansas since I am a long time fan of Bill Self and will be cheering for all the underdogs besides that.

  7. Patti Abbott says:

    I wish I could get into this. It seems like fun. Go Michigan!

  8. Marquette managed to score on a late lay-up to defeat Davidson 58-59. They’ll need to be a lot better to beat Butler!

  9. Richard says:

    George, Marquette looked so bad I was rooting for Davidson. Marquette didn’t deserve to win that one. Sorry, but I hope Butler whips ’em.

    Oh, and how about those # 12 seeded Oregon Ducks? They creamed OK St. St. Louis will be a tougher game.

  10. Richard says:

    Needless to say, my bracket blew up when FGCU won, not once but twice. At least Arizona and Oregon are still in, though I expect Oregon to get whipped by Louisville.

Leave a Reply

