rugs, electronics, and a plan

A truck arrived this morning while I was at the Post Office mailing off a BookSwap book, the stuff we got at Ultimate Electronics on Deep Discount Friday, and now the boxes are sitting in the living room, waiting for the installation tech (that would be me) to plug it all together and fire it up. Oh boy, oh boy, you think, but fact is I still don’t have the system we brought with us from SoCal fully operational (maybe today), so starting on a completely new setup isn’t as much of a thrill as it might otherwise be. I spent half the morning in the garage looking for the drill bits, which are needed to install the new stuff: cables need holes to run through.

Making things a little more interesting is the impending delivery of an 8′ x 12′ foot rug we bought last week, which means the area has to be cleared and ready for that to go down. It will look nice, and certainly will cut down on some of the echoness in the area with high ceilings and hard floors. but right now we’re waiting.

Besides the entertainment hook-ups and the rug placement, there are hundreds – or so it seems – of other things pending.

Books? You ask about books? None unpacked so far, not a single one. It’s driving me nuts, but I can’t unpack until I get shelves, and that’s a lower priority than little things like finding a bank, going to the DMV, and getting the basics unpacked.

I have a new plan for dealing with the huge amount of work involved in finishing the move at this end. I make a 5 item To Do list. If it takes me until 11:00 at night, then I stay up late and keep going. If it takes me until 11:00 in the morning, I can do other stuff or just goof off the rest of the day. So far there has been no goofing off, the closest I’ve come so far to that is, uh, typing this. Oops, I better get back to work.

P.S. – Comcast was here again yesterday, two techs here for over 4 hours. We hope this time things might all work the way they are supposed to, but I have to hook the new flatscreen HD up to their fancy cable box to make sure. I wonder where those drill bits could have got to?

About Richard Robinson

Enjoying life in Portland, OR
This entry was posted in Personal Opinion. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to rugs, electronics, and a plan

  1. Bill Crider says:

    I like the To Do list approach. Sounds to me as if you’re doing well at getting things under control.

  2. You have to just chip away at the mountain of work. You’ll be up-and-running in a few days.

  3. One thing after another. It will all get sorted eventually. Good luck with the new set-up.

  4. Evan Lewis says:

    Those electronic woes and dealing with DMV are painful enough on their own, but going without books takes the pain to a whole new level. Ouch!

  5. Carl V. says:

    In one way or another I’m sure we’ve all felt your pain and wish you a rapid return to normality…which of course means unpacked books, reading time, and connectivity.

  6. Jeff Meyerson says:

    Can’t you just open a box of books at random and pull out one of the things on top to read?

    I meant to say (when looking at your pictures again in the apa), I like those high ceilings!

  7. Richard says:

    Items of interest:
    First, after waiting until 2:00 p.m. with no call on the rug delivery, I checked the paperwork and it’s coming next Thursday. Q: we cleared out the entire space, so the rug could go down. Do we (A) leave it empty for the week and do ballroom dancing, or (B) move the stuff back and then move it out again next Thursday morning? By the way, we don’t do ballroom dancing. We also don’t want to move a thing we don’t have to.

    Second, the electronics came and I realized I had no drill bits, and also no quality speaker wire. So it’s back to someplace that sells Monster cable for that, then I can set up.

    Third, we spend the entire morning organizing the garage. Instead of looking for any one thing, I decided to take the cars out, go through everything, placing it in “areas” – the tools area, the gardening area, the goes-into-the-house area, etc. So I started that and later Wife came to lend a hand, god love her, and we got it pretty well sorted out. It beat looking for any one thing in the stacks of boxes. The furthest back, last bottom, under other stuff item was the drill tool box with the bits I needed. Then we put things in a tighter formation so the cars could go back in, and now I’m ready to have a storage outfit – Closet World, Garage Works, whomever, come out and measure things out for installation. This is a major step.

  8. Carl V. says:

    Well done you! That is a major step. And one of the steps that sounds least fun to me so kudos to you and the missus for getting that out of the way.

    And I vote for ballroom dancing…or at least the old college try.

  9. Richard says:

    Jeff – yes, I could do that, or I could read one of the 3 books I have received since I got here and thus are not packed, or I could even read one of the 2 books I saved out to read during the move and trip here. I haven’t felt like reading anything, the whole move has been so involving. Maybe this afternoon, since tomorrow we are going to the Giant Mall (aka Washington Square) on the first full weekend of December to shop, which will include a trip by me to buy more speaker cable. What that later has to do with your comment I don’t know, I just through it in.

  10. Jeff Meyerson says:

    I can totally understand your feelings and not being able to concentrate enough to get involved in a long book. I think what I’d do is get a book of shorts and try that.

    And definitely do NOT move everything back on the floor; ballroom dancing is optional.

Leave a Reply

