Powder 1994 – 2013

Powder RIP

He was one terrific cat!

Born in Denver, he road tripped to California and finally to Oregon. He had a long life full of love and purring, and could this boy ever purr! If there’s a cat heaven, he has a place of honor in it, just as he does in our hearts. Sorely missed by Barbara and me.

note: there will be no Friday Forgotten Book post this week.

About Rick Robinson

Enjoying life in Portland, OR
This entry was posted in At Home in Portland. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Powder 1994 – 2013

  1. Bill Crider says:

    Judy and I send out sympathies. We still talk about all our cats quite often, even the ones who’ve been gone for years. It’s tough to lose one.

  2. Todd Mason says:

    Terribly sorry, That is a nice long run for a cat, and I hope it wasn’t too tough on him, the final days…The longest my family has had one so far is seventeen years. We have three seven year olds at home, Alice and I, and are considering at least fostering my parents’ cat, who’s a little over a year…but that will put a strain on the dynamic at home…Ninja will be able to go outside, even if only in an enclosed back yard, at our place, however…Nikki (aka Anna Nicole), Domino and Emma will simply have to put up with the new girl…

  3. John says:

    What a handsome fellow! Sorry he’s no longer around your book filled home. My sister’s cats taught this fervent dog lover how to appreciate the eccentric ways of the feline. Bill’s right about the loss of a pet — no matter what it is.

  4. Sorry to hear, Richard. We said goodbye to a 19yo dog this summer, and have several more old pets jostling to go next, so I know how you feel. It’s friggin’ hard.

  5. I’m sorry too, Richard. Pets bring a lot of joy in our lives, sometimes more than humans do. Three years ago, we adopted a stray dog who wags her little tail all the time and is always cheering me up no matter what mood she finds me in.

  6. The loss of a family member(and those who don’t get it have no soul) is always hard.

  7. Richard says:

    Thanks, everyone. He cried at night to be fed, then didn’t want anything more than a bite, and he needed to be with Barbara every minute and cried when she was out of the house. He was just plain OLD. He was weak, had balance problems, just didn’t have much quality of life left in him. He didn’t appear to be suffering so much as fading away, and he’d become a bag of bones.

  8. Sorry to hear about your loss.

  9. cgramlich says:

    Sorry for your loss. He is well remembered.

  10. Wordcrafter says:

    Randy, Amen.
    Our daughter is a Manx.
    Sorry for your loss, Richard.

    For those who respect and love animals there can be no bigger thrill than one coming to you of its own free will, understanding what you are trying to communicate, and trusting you not to harm it.
    —Claire Bessant, The Cat Whisperer

  11. Richard says:

    Wordcrafter, wonderful quote from Claire Bessant. I’d forgotten that one.

  12. Cap'n Bob says:

    I just read this tonight and I’m very sorry about the kitty’s passing. I know I met him when I was there, and he was a handsome fellow. RIP, Powder.

  13. Richard says:

    Thanks, Bob, I appreciate that. Yes you did meet him here. We are still really tender about his not being here, I still expect to see him when I come home from errands or wherever and get that pang when I remember he won’t greet me ever again.

  14. I’m so sorry for your loss. I’ve never owned a cat but I do love them. In fact I spent this past weekend house and kid sitting for friends and enjoyed spending time with their indoor cat and the stray who has recently taken up residence on their front porch. Pets become such an integrated part of our families and their loss is quite profound. I still miss our first dog and that has been many years past now. Again, I’m sorry.

  15. Richard says:

    Carl, “profound” is just the right word. There was a mention of Powder (named for snow, not explosives) yesterday and it gave me wet-eye.

Leave a comment