New Arrivals, Christmas 2010 Edition

This time it’s Christmas gifts, and a couple things that came at that time, that I think may be of interest to those who read this blog. As usual, click for a larger look.

G-Drive 1 TB External Hard Drive [G-Drive Tech by Hitachi, new, bought on-line] – computer hardware – I use an external hard drive, via the Mac’s Time Machine application, to back up my entire iMac’s drive, including the Mac OS, all system files and applications and my personal files and photos. A fast, reliable drive that can run frequently is mandatory. IN my opinion, G-Tech currently makes the best drives on the market. This one comes formatted for the Mac OS, but can be easily be formatted for Windows. With external drives this large drives, I partition them for more efficient use, one segment for Time Machine, another for backing up larger image and music files.

Complete Short Stories by Graham Greene [Penguin Classics, 2005 trade paper, new] – general fiction – After reading and throughly enjoying 19 Stories earlier this year, I wanted this collection that has those stories and all the rest of Greene’s short work. This will take time to savor, which is a good thing.

Autobiography of Mark Twain, Volume 1 edited by Harriet Elinor Smith [University of California Press, 2010 hardcover, new, first of 3 projected volumes] – non-fiction autobiography -  “Santa” brought me this one, meaning I bought it for myself. This is a mammoth volume, 730+ pages including numerous appendices has received a variety of reviews, mostly positive. I’m looking forward to digging into it, but suspect it will live on the nightstand with a bookmark in it for some time as I work my way through.

The Mistborn Trilogy: Mistborn (2006), The Well of Ascension (2007), The Hero of Ages (2008) [Tor, 2009 mass market paperback boxed set, new] – epic fantasy trilogy – I’ve not read any Sanderson, but after he was selected to complete Robert Jordan’s massive Wheel of Time, I decided I’d like to try his work and this seemed like was the best place to start, so I put it on my Christmas Wish List.

Passage to Samoa by Day Keene [Gold Medal, # 823, November 1958 mass market paperback, used] – mystery – When author and blogger James Reasoner reviews a mystery, I sit up and take notice. When he praises it as much as he did this one (December 10, HERE), I reach for the “buy” button. I was fortunate enough to find this very nice copy of ABE.

Exploits of the Patent Leather Kid by Erle Stanley Gardner [Crippen & Landru, Lost Classics Series, 2010 hardcover, new] – mystery short story collection – okay, this wasn’t really a Christmas present, unless you count Doug Greene at Crippen & Landru sending it out shortly before Christmas, but it is a new arrival I’m eager to read, though I’m sure Jeff Meyerson will beat me to it.

Rumpole of the Bailey complete series on DVD [distributed by A&E, 14 discs, new] – British television mystery series starring Leo McKern – I watched this series from the beginning when it was broadcast on PBS Mystery! and loved every minute, just as I love the books. I missed the last few seasons, so I’m delighted to have this complete set. There are 6 or 7 episodes per disk. In my opinion, there is no other Rumpole that McKern.

About Richard

he's the guy who's blog you're reading
This entry was posted in fantasy, reading and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to New Arrivals, Christmas 2010 Edition

  1. Carl V. says:

    Nice gifts, Richard. I love the cover to Passage to Samoa and I too really enjoy James Reasoner’s reviews, especially of books like this.

    My friend Jeff read the first book in that trilogy and enjoyed it but has since moved on to the new Way of Kings book and says that as much as he enjoyed Mistborn, and he did, he is REALLY enjoying Way. I haven’t read his work either but used to read his found him interesting. I’m really happy for the guy’s success and am thrilled for Jordan fans that they are finally getting an end to this series.

  2. I just picked up my first Sanderson book. It’s huge! but I will read it in time.

  3. Nice haul here. Not read any Sanderson either. Be looking forward to reviews on them. I don’t usually like these doorstop fantasies(i tired of the Wheel of Time series about book four).

    The Patent Leather Kid looks interesting. probably get that one.

    I, of course, have a different edition of Passage To Samoa.

  4. Jeff Meyerson says:

    Nice arrivals. I just finished the Amos Walker stories of Loren Estleman, so haven’t started the Gardner yet, but RSN. Of course I did read that edition of the Graham Greene recently as well. We jsut bought a bunch of DVDs of British TV shows and Jackie suggested the Rumpoles, but it will probably be in the next group we order.

    I did get:

    Frank Gruber, Brass Knuckles, after reading the first Oliver Quade story in the massive Black Lizard Black Mask collection.

    The Best of Jack Williamson. Another sf author I’ve never read. I thought this would be a good place to try. One of you bloggers (George?) reviewed one of his recently.

    Vincent McHugh, I Am Thinking of My Darling was reviewed in one of the Friday’s Forgotten Books and sounded good. This and the Gruber were bought via ABE and the Williamson was from the exchange.

    Alexander McCall Smith, Tea Time for the Tradionally Built is the latest in the No. 1 Ladies Detective Agency series picked up from the exchange.

    The rest were the aforementioned DVDS: One Foot in the Grave, The Darling Buds of May (first time we saw Catherine Zeta Jones), and Men Behaving Badly. All are complete series, with Christmas specials where they exist.

  5. Patti Abbott says:

    That PASSAGE TO SAMOA keeps turning up. The Greene and Twain look great.
    Jeff-I love ONE FOOT IN THE GRAVE and MEN BEHAVING BADLY. Didn’t think about them being on DVD but will look at my library for them.

  6. Richard says:

    Carl – I think there’s something missing there, I can’t quite figure it.

    Jeff – nice. I realize your posts with all the links don’t show right up, they get filtered into the admin folder for approval, as that helps me avoid spam, so be patient with those. Nice group of books and videos you list there!

    Charles – The Mistborn series are not quite so fat as the others he did.

  7. Richard says:

    Patti – there are at least 3 of us who have bought Passage to Samoa lately, first James, then based on his review Randy and I, and I’d bet Crider has it too.

  8. Carl V. says:

    Other than my brain, you mean?

    Yes, it is supposed to say “I used to read his blog”. Not sure if it was a blog or live journal or whatever and while I was contemplating that last night I just kept on a-typin’. :)

  9. Richard says:

    Ah, that explains it.

  10. Jeff Meyerson says:

    Patti, we got the British DVDs of those shows – we were able to configure our DVD player (actually, Jackie found instructions on amazon on the DVD page) to where we could change the region from ’1′ to ’0′ so it plays British DVDs too.

  11. Evan Lewis says:

    I especially covet that Twain bio and the Gardner book. And I, too, recently got on a Rumpole kick (enjoying the audiobook The Penge Bungalow Murders, even though the narrator was not McKern), and got the first season on DVD from the library.

  12. Richard says:

    Jeff – it’s not nice to fool with that stuff, who knows where it will lead?

    Evan – The Twain is really huge, heavy, a little intimidating, but I’ll be cracking it open later today, I hope.

  13. The Rumpoles are great. Both that COMPLETE SHORT STORIES OF GRAHAM GREENE and THE AUTOBIOGRAPHY OF MARK TWAIN are on my shelf. That other stuff is tempting…

  14. Richard says:

    and temptation is part of the spirit of the season, isn’t it, George?

    I just bit the bullet and ordered some of the great hardcover pulp reprints from Altus Press that James Reasoner had on his Christmas books post. Couldn’t resist!

  15. Todd Mason says:

    An excellent haul…I shall have to investigate these non-periodical things, books you say the kids are calling them…(cue Nora Dunne in her ex-model character, always careful to note that one should always relax with a good book, such as the most recent VOGUE…). I am in need of the RUMPOLE, the Twain and the Greene at least as well.

  16. Todd Mason says:

    Oops, that’s Nora Dunn. And Jeff, Ed Gorman at least recently noted Williamson’s werewolf fiction, Paul Bishop also did a take on DARKER THAN YOU THINK, and George IIRC gave a heads up on the Williamson short fiction collection from Haffner…

  17. Todd Mason says:

    The Greene and Keene are recently so keenly seen…

  18. Carl V. says:

    Well Richard, you inspired me to get off my butt today and post my frankly embarrassing haul from birthday/Christmas/post-Christmas shopping.

  19. Richard says:

    Carl – Great! I’m heading over there now.

    Todd – you must be in a good mood!

  20. Drongo says:

    Half the people on the internet seem to have read PASSAGE TO SAMOA.

    Last time I checked, Portland was very wet and chilly, with a chance of snow. Bet the cats are staying inside.

  21. Richard says:

    Our cats are always inside, Drongo, we believe they stay healthier and live longer that way, and they don’t seem to mind much, especially now that they have more space and, as you say, it’s wet and cold out. It’s been raining steadily since last night, and “they” are calling for snow later this afternoon or this evening.

  22. Todd Mason says:

    Never assume, Rick. Aside from boredom and tendency toward fatness, you’re probably right about feline health…though my friend Alice has fenced in her back yard with cat-fence to allow her trio to roam a little bit outdoors at will, without running into too many predators, cars, or FIV-infected fellows.

  23. Richard says:

    Every vet I’ve ever talked to has said indoor cats are healthier cats. Some outdoor access would be welcomed by them, but we haven’t figured out how to safely do it, Todd. By the way, that tendency toward fatness seems to go with book readers as well.

  24. Todd Mason says:

    If you have a reasonably large and flat back yard, cat fencing will work, but it’s an expense you probably don’t need to add right now…Alice’s wasn’t cheap.

  25. Todd Mason says:

    Book readers, tv viewers, Americans…

  26. Richard says:

    Large, yes, by our standards of having been in a condo with a 12×23 foot patio for the last couple of decades, this place is on a 1/4 acre. Flat, not at all. The lower, walk out, deck is still more than six feet above grade. There is a small almost flat area, the rest falls somewhat steeply down to the bottom of our property, and it’s heavily landscaped with natives and shrubs that attract birds. When it’s wet and muddy (most of the time we’ve been here) we can’t even walk down right now. Some minimal steps and hardscape is in plans for the future, but no cat fencing.

  27. Richard says:

    My problem, and I’m not alone in this, is that most of my interests and hobbies are sedentary. Reading, listening to music (yes, I could do that while walking, I admit), blogging. Only gardening gives me any exercise at all, and here that’s a spring summer activity. Since we live on a steep hill, too steep for us to walk up, we have to drive to even go for a walk.

  28. Dan says:

    And I still didn’t get a pony!

Leave a Reply

