SCARRY NIGHT Flash Fiction Challenge

Patti Abbott issued this challenge on February 6:  “On Saturday night, we passed a young woman on the street who was talking to her male companion and said, “I really don’t mind the scars.” A good start-up line for a little challenge perhaps.”  Though I don’t consider myself A Writer, I did have the following short-short jump into my head. Enjoy.

Give and Take
by Richard Robinson

“At least they got it before it burst,” she said as she loaded the small handgun, “and I don’t really mind the scars. I do wish I didn’t have to rob a bank to pay the bills.”

story (c) Richard Robinson, 2011.

~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~
links to the rest of the Scarry Night Flash Fiction Challenge
participants can be found at Patti’s blog, Pattinase.

About Rick Robinson

Enjoying life in Portland, OR
This entry was posted in Personal Opinion and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to SCARRY NIGHT Flash Fiction Challenge

  1. Todd Mason says:

    Concision carries the day! Too true, as well.

  2. J F Norris says:

    It’s almost like a series of haiku. Far more evocative in 42 syllables than my sledgehammer approach in 1600 + words. Impressively and succinctly done.

  3. Richard says:

    Todd – thanks, and nicely put.

    J.F. – Hadn’t thought of it as haiku, but it could be worked that way. Glad you like it. I haven’t read yours yet, but later today will do so.

  4. Evan Lewis says:

    Cool! The birth of a fictioneer. We’ll we looking for more from you, sir.

  5. Bill Crider says:

    Good one, Richard!

  6. Charles Gramlich says:

    I could read more if all were flash fictions!

  7. Charles Gramlich says:

    Good un by the way.

  8. Patti Abbott says:

    This is the beginning of a beautiful writing career.

  9. Richard says:

    Thanks, everyone, I really appreciate the positive comments!

  10. Carl V. says:

    That was fun, Richard. Now I want to see your 800 word version!

Leave a comment