New Arrivals January 31 – February 6, 2011

Lots of goodies this time, and some variety; classic mysteries, graphic novel stories, several more pulp reprints, a DVD, a P.I. mystery and even a disaster novel. I may not be reading much, but I’ve been on a bit of a buying spree. You know the drill, click to see bigger images, the descriptions follow.

The Case of the Late Pig by Margery Allingham [Felony & Mayhem Press 2008 trade paper, new] – mystery – Kudos to Felony & Mayhem Press for publishing, and keeping in print, this excellent series of books. I read and enjoyed several books by Allingham a couple decades ago, but didn’t buy or read them all, and when I saw a recent review of this one it made me check my catalog and see where the gaps were. This, and the other two below constitute the 8th, 9th and 10th – this one is the 9th – in the Campion books. I have 3 more on the way. I’ve read the earlier ones, and some of the later ones but missed these, so here they are, in very nice trade editions. I’ve been in the mood for a classic mystery or two and reading these will scratch that itch.

Creating the Lord of the Rings Symphony by Howard Shore [New Line Home Entertainment 2005 DVD, 52 minutes, gift] – music and documentary video – When it was announced that Howard Shore would be doing the music for Peter Jackson’s LOTR films I was quite pleased, as he is one of my favorite film music composers. I saw part of this on a PBS program about the films and am eager to watch the full program.

The Crimson Mask Omnibus, Volume 1 by Norman A. Daniels and Frank Johnson, introduction by Tom Johnson [Altus Press 2010 limited edition hardcover, new] – detective pulp fiction reprint – The first four adventures of pharmacist Bob Clarke as he takes on the underworld as The Crimson Mask. These stories were part of the early 1940s pulp hero revival. First of three volumes Altus is doing to collect all the stories. This one contains Enter the Crimson Mask, The Crimson Mask’s Murder Trial, The Crimson Mask’s Death Gamble. Sign of the Crimson Mask (what a great title!) and The Crimson Mask’s Scorpion Trail.

Dancers in Mourning by Margery Allingham [Felony & Mayhem Press 2008 trade paper, new] – mystery – Kudos to Felony & Mayhem Press for printing, and keeping in print, this excellent series of books in very nice trade editions. This is the 8th Campion. For the full scoop, see the first entry, above.

Diamondstone by G.T. Fleming- Roberts, edited by Matthew Moring, introduction by Will Murray [Altus Press 2010 limited edition hardcover, new] – mystery pulp reprint – I’ve read the adventures of Norgil the Magician but Diamondstone is new to me. This collects all six stories originally published in Popular Detective, in 1937 through 1939.

Fashion in Shrouds by Margery Allingham [Felony & Mayhem Press 2008 trade paper, new] – mystery – The 10th Campion. For the full scoop, see the first entry, above.

Flood by Richard Doyle [Random House UK, 2003 mass market paperback, used] – fiction, disaster novel –  Many years ago I read Doyle’s Imperial 109 and enjoyed it a lot, so when I saw mention of him recently I thought I’d get this one. Sometimes you have an itch for a disaster novel, you know? It’s a nice break from the other reading and I’m racing through it.

I Like It Cool by Michael Lawrence [Popular Library, 1960 mass market paperback, used] – fiction, mystery – This was a Friday Forgotten Books selection by someone a while back, and though I’ve searched to see who posted it, no joy. Whomever it was, thanks, this will be a good one, and the cover is excellent.

Mouse Guard: Legends of the Guard by David Peterson, et al – see the scan [Archaia Entertainment 2010 hardcover, new] – fantasy graphic novel – Peterson’s work is great, thoughtful stories beautifully illustrated. I love Mouse Guard and my only complaint is that the stories don’t come fast enough. This is a collection of stories written by Peterson and others, illustrated by Peterson and others, all taking place in the Mouse Guard world. Take a peek at the link.

The Lost God and Other Adventure Stories by John Russell [ Pocket Book #408, 1946 mass market paperback, used] – adventure short story collection – Recommended to me by Walter Albert, member of the DAPA-Em group, I was fortunate to find a copy of this, in darn good shape for a 65 year-old paperback. The paper is browned and brittle, but with careful handling I expect to enjoy every page.

Secret Agent X, The Complete Stories, Volumes 1, 2 and 3 – by Paul Chadwick, Emile Tepperman, with introducitons by Tom Johnson (volume 1), Will Murray (volume 2) and Stephen Payne (volume 3) [Altus Press 2008, 2009 limited edition hardcover, new] – spy/adventure/horror pulp hero pulp reprint series, four novel-length stories per volume. Again, Altus Press is to be congratulated on it’s pulp reprint series. These three volumes collect the following novels: The Torture Trust, The Spectral Strangler, The Death-Torch Terror, Ambassador of Doom, City of the Living Dead, Hand of Horror Octopus of Crime, The Hooded Hordes, Servants of the Skull, The Murder Monster, The Sinister Source and Curse of the Waiting Death. At least one more volume is coming.

The Secret Six – The Complete Adventures by Robert J. Hogan [Altus Press 2009 limited edition hardcover, new) – adventure pulp stories, reprint – this one is a litle confusing, as I’m pretty sure there are more than these four Secret Six stories. These are all from the pulp of that name (see back cover scan) and should be dandy ones, whether this is a complete collection or not.

About Rick Robinson

Enjoying life in Portland, OR
This entry was posted in books, fantasy, mystery, Personal Opinion, Review, science fiction. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to New Arrivals January 31 – February 6, 2011

  1. Evan Lewis says:

    Yikes, what a haul! I’ve heard of the Crimson Mask, but never read any. Diamondstone is a mystery to me. I have three earlier Secret Six reprints, and thought that was all there were – so I’m surprised to learn there was a fourth issue. And it’s nice to see Secret Agent X getting this deluxe treatment. If they’re really doing the complete series it will have to run ten volumes.

  2. Jerry House says:

    I’ve read the Allinmghams and enjoyed them. The Lost God is a “best of” collection taken from three earlier collections; eight of the sixteen stories were taken from The Red Mark, which I am currently reading. Russell wrote some really great tales. I know you will enjoy that book. That green color in the east that you can probably see from your home three thousand miles away is my envy for you for getting all those Altus Press books; they do a fantastic job, don’t they?

  3. Jeff Meyerson says:

    Wow – great looking group of books this week. I must admit that I was never much of a Campion fan, though I read a number of them back in the 1970s.

  4. How do I get to be Carl’s friend? What a great gift! And, just by coincidence, tomorrow I’m reviewing a LORD OF THE RINGS item you’ll really like. This batch of books shows your strong commitment to small presses.

  5. Richard says:

    Evan – yes, an exceptional week, a few things came the day before I did the post (I do them Sunday afternoons, usually) and I didn’t have scan time, then the rest arrived during the week. Ten volumes of Secret Agent X? Yow.

    Jerry – thanks for that information, this was the only collection I was able to find the day I looked on ABE, and I’m glad to have it. It came to me all the way from the U.K. Yes, Altus, and specifically Matt Moring, do a great job. This time I had a small problem with Lulu on the printing end, but got it taken care of satisfactorily.

  6. Richard says:

    Jeff – I enjoyed the Allingham books I read in the late 1980s, or was it the early 1990s, especially Traitor’s Purse. These are such nice editions I decided to buy a few more.

    George – I was reading Greg and Tim Hildebrandt: The Tolkein Years by Greg Hildebrandt Jr. just a couple days ago. I loved those calendars and wish I’d saved them, but then one can save everything!

  7. Charles Gramlich says:

    Such cool covers on those Secret Agent X works.

  8. Richard says:

    They are, Charles, they are. They look darn good on the shelf, too, with their large Volume 1, 2 and 3 on the spine.

  9. Nice haul. Familiar with most of the books. Or the characters actually. Not read any of them though.

  10. Patti Abbott says:

    Loved Allingham. I think Sarah Weinman just did a piece on her somewhere.

  11. Carl V. says:

    More wonderful stuff!

    I haven’t read any of Allingham’s work, but I’ve seen the films made from her books, starring Peter Davison, and they are among my favorite British detective films, especially Sweet Danger starring Lisette Anthony. All are available on Netflix and well worth watching. Someday I want to read Allingham’s novels that feature Anthony’s character, Amanda Fitton.

Leave a comment