New Arrivals October 18-24

There shouldn’t be any at all, of course, and there likely won’t be in future weeks, so consider this a bonus, or swan song, or whatever, until things are settled at the other end…  I don’t even have the books to refer to for details, as they immediately were scanned and packed. But here are the covers and a comment.

The Brandenburg Hotel by Pauline Glen Winslow [used copy] was a Friday Forgotten Book a month or so ago, and sounded great so I got a copy. Has something to do with Nazi POWs in an old seaside English hotel.

Dog On It by Spencer Quinn [new copy] was mentioned more than once in a panel of favorite books. Yes, it’s a dog mystery, yes, the dog thinks and so forth, but the comment made more than once was “Chet the Dog is wonderful…great…a winner”. This not by blurbists, but by readers and reviews I know and trust. So here it is, and (shown at bottom) it’s sequel, Thereby Hangs a Tail.

Symphonies on a Steinway played by Konstantin Scherbakov [new CD set] contains all 9 of Beethoven’s symphonies as transcribed for piano by Franz Liszt. This is not packed, and I’ve listened to it a couple of times so far. While Scherbakov may try to put a little extra sturm und drang into parts of it, overall the  performances are quite good and I’m enjoying hearing these symphonies in the piano format.

Swords of Talera, Wings Over Talera, Witch of Talera all by Charles Allen Gramlich [new copies] come highly recommended by several bloggers I read regularly, plus the author is a frequent contributor to webversations in which I also participate. Did I mention he’s a fine writer? I should have. These are going to be a lot of fun to read.

About Rick Robinson

Enjoying life in Portland, OR
This entry was posted in Personal Opinion and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to New Arrivals October 18-24

  1. I am quite sure you’re going to love the Talera books and i know charles is working on another one when he has the time.

  2. Richard says:

    I agree, and I believe it was your blog I saw the review on, yes?

  3. It was a good while back though.

  4. Patti Abbott says:

    I love that you are still getting books. You are my hero.

  5. Art Scott says:

    I’m very fond of the Liszt Beethoven symphony transcriptions. I have one of the Scherbakov CDs (2&5). I have the complete set by Cyprien Katsaris, once had the set by Leslie Howard (which I ditched), & am contemplating getting the Scherbakov set. Also have the Glenn Gould performance of #6, a real oddity, since Gould didn’t like most Beethoven, and abominated Liszt. Have never heard any of these pieces performed live, and doubt I ever will. As with much other off-trail repertoire, it’s CD or nothing.

  6. So what’s the time frame on this move? A week, two weeks? How long before you get your books settled? How long before you can buy books and CDs again.

  7. Evan Lewis says:

    Dog books? Hm. I don’t know. But I can vouch for Talera. It’s a happenin’ place.

Leave a comment