2014 Reading Stats

My goal is always two books per week, 104 per year. This year I read 105, which is just over that goal. Here’s the breakdown:

2014 by quartersFantasy and science fiction reading was up, mystery down some, otherwise about the same across the board. A new category, e-books, has been added as I read a few and may read a few more in 2015,

About Richard Robinson

Enjoying life in Portland, OR
This entry was posted in reading and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to 2014 Reading Stats

  1. It is fun to see a breakdown done this way. Not surprised that mystery was your top category, but I wouldn’t have guessed sff was so close to the same total.

  2. Jeff Meyerson says:

    No short stories? I usually indicate within each category how many were collections of stories.

    Nice balance there.

  3. Nice job! I had a Good Year: 177 books read in 2014.

  4. Jeff Meyerson says:

    OK, here are the totals. I read only 15 non fiction books (still, up from 8) and 148 fiction, for a total of 163. Next year, 200! (Well, probably not.)

    Category totals (with short story collections in ( ) ):

    mystery 75 (13)
    science fiction 23 (15)
    fiction 29 (16)
    horror 8 ( 3)
    western 4 ( 1)
    young adult 6
    juvenile 2
    graphic novel 1
    TOTAL 147 (48)

    I read a seemingly unfathomable total of 760 short stories, finishing strong with 103 in October and 84 in each of November and December.

    I’ve been reading at least one story a day every day (with a few exceptions for illness, travel, etc. that I made up the next day – no more than 2-3 in a year) since August of 1995.

  5. Patti Abbott says:

    Geez, you guys do better than me. I lost my list this year. It was corrupted when I changed computers but I am betting it wouldn’t top 75 books. I spend way too much time online.

  6. Richard says:

    Jeff, if the story collection is SF, it goes there, if mystery, there… etc. One of the mystery books was that huge Black Mask Stories collection. If you go back and look at the favorites of 2014 post, you’ll see there were other collections too.

  7. Richard says:

    Carl, it’s pretty much 50/50, or seems that way.As you can see, mystery fell of the last part of the year and SF-F gained.

  8. Richard says:

    George, you top us all, and many of those were thick ones. I’m always impressed.

  9. Richard says:

    Patti, we all have up and down years. I barely made my goal this year, thanks to some shorter (140 page or less) books near the end.

  10. By the way, Rick, AGENT CARTER is being re-broadcast Saturday night on ABC. Carl and I thought it was terrific.

  11. Richard says:

    Thanks, George. I’ll probably try to catch it on On Demand, so I can watch it on my own schedule.

  12. looks pretty similar to my spread sheet!

  13. Richard says:

    Charles, great minds…

  14. tracybham says:

    Wow, I don’t know if I could be disciplined enough to keep stats like that. But I would like to. My reading diet is not that varied, so it should be easy.

  15. Richard, great numbers! I’m hoping to read at least 75 novels and novellas this year, up from 40+ in 2014.

  16. Richard says:

    Tracy, The stats are easy. I keep a list of what I read, in a table format, so at the end of the year I just sort it by the TYPE column and then count ‘em up.

  17. Richard says:

    Prashant, I include short story collections in my count (if I read 80% or more of them in the book), but not magazines. Your goal of 75 is a good one, good luck!

Leave a Reply

