Current Reading, December 29, 2014 – January 4, 2015

The holidays and end of year stuff is over and it’s time to get back to the business of reading. Here’s what we’re up to.

Richard
moriarty-us cvr
I finished Moriarty by Anthony Horowitz (from library). I liked Horowitz’ previous book, House of Silk, so I was eager to read this, but it didn’t impress me as much, and the twist at very nearly the end bothered me. I’ll say no more, as I don’t want to spoil it for others, but consider this my review of the book and leave it at that.

Can't Make This UpI’m now reading You Can’t Make This Up by Al Michaels, the sports announcer (from library). I’m enjoying it a lot as I remember much of what he talks about as he covers his various assignments  as a play-by-play announcer over the years. Recommended for the sports fan.

Bob the Cat WhoNext up is A Street Cat Named Bob by James Bowen (from library). While browsing in B&N before Christmas I spotted the author’s new book about Bob, and decided -on a whim- to read the first book, which I found at the library. Speaking of which, I have three other library books sitting here waiting, so who knows when I’ll get to the new things I got for Christmas.

Barbara
Barbara  finished Wild, and now she’s reading Mark burning girlBillingham’s The Burning Girl (from library).Next up is another Jo Nesbo novel, Nemesis (also from the library…).

Barbara also has several other things on hold at the library, waiting for her turn, so no doubt something else will pop up before she finishes the Nesbo.

And yes, I’ll be reading some SF-F soon as well as mysteries and miscellaneous stuff.

What are you reading?

About Richard Robinson

Enjoying life in Portland, OR
This entry was posted in Current Reading, mystery. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Current Reading, December 29, 2014 – January 4, 2015

  1. One of these days I’ll have to give Nesbo a try.

    I’m reading Uplift War by David Brin and also Assignment Eternity by Robert A. Heinlein. I had started the Heinlein before Brin and read two of the four short works and decided over the weekend to go back to it while those were fresh in my mind and finish the other two before going back to the Brin. Both have been highly enjoyable thus far.

  2. Jeff Meyerson says:

    I’ve been having a ridiculously hard time finding a novel (of any sort) I really want to read this week, despite having hundreds unread on my shelves. I think I’ve become addicted to short stories or perhaps I just haven’t hit on the right book.

    I like Al Michaels. I guess he’s most famous for the “Do you believe in miracles?” call from the 1980 Winter Olympics.

    This past week I finished up the year with two excellent collections, Phil Klay’s National Book Award-winning REDEPLOYMENT, based on his service in Iraq (library) and (my own) Charlotte Armstrong’s Crippen & Landru Lost Classics collection, NIGHT CALL & Other Stories of Suspense. I read several of Armstrong’s novels back in the 1970s and liked them a lot but really haven’t read any by her since. This is a terrific collection for the most part and highly recommended. Since the turn of the New Year I’ve finished only Brandon Sanderson’s dystopian YA novel, STEELHEART, recommended a couple of weeks back by George Kelley. I liked it quite a bit and have the second on reserve.

    Now I’m reading (finally) Max Allan Collins’s collected Nate Heller stories, CHICAGO LIGHTNING. I’ve read over half the stories before. I’ve also read a bunch of stories from EQMM and AHMM from last year that I hadn’t read, and I’ve started THE LOST SCOUT, a Garth Ryland novel by John R. Riggs set in south-central Wisconsin, where Garth owns and runs a weekly newspaper and is an amateur sleuth. It’s been years since I read the previous thirteen titles (2002, though I read most of them in 1993). If you try one start at the beginning, with THE LAST LAUGH. Some of the early ones should be available in paperback.

  3. Richard, I’m reading my first ever fiction by Lawrence Block titled ME TANNER, YOU JANE and I’m already looking forward to reading his other novels.

  4. Jeff, I’m glad you enjoyed STEELHEART. There are rumors that Sanderson is considering a movie offer. And you’ll like the sequel, FIREFIGHT, where more secrets get revealed. And, it takes place in New York City!

    Prashant, I’ve read a couple dozen Lawrence Block novels over the years. You’re in for a lot of fun reading.

    I’m reading up a storm before my vacation ends. I have a 1,200-page book to get through next week.

  5. Jeff Meyerson says:

    I’ve read over 50 of Block’s books. I’ll get to FIREFIGHT as soon as we return from Florida. For some reason the library is still “processing” the books.

  6. Jerry House says:

    It’s been a quiet week on the reading front here, Richard. I read Steve Niles’ graphic novel adaptation of Richard Matheson’s I AM LEGEND. I’m in awe of the great work Niles and illustrator Elman Brown’s outstanding work here. Another good read was the Asimov/Greenberg anthology ISAAC ASIMOV PRESENTS THE GREAT SF STORIES 5, covering the year 1943. Five of the stories here were by Henry Kuttner and C. L. Moore under different names (it was a very good year for the Kuttners), leaving room for some good stories by Leigh Brackett, Edmond Hamilton, Fredric Brown, A. E. van Vogt, Eric Frank Russell, and P. Schuyler Miller.

    On the other side of the ledger was Sophie Hannah’s very disappointing THE MONOGRAM MURDERS, the new Hercule Poirot mystery. The book might have made a decent stand-alone mystery with some work, but to claim the mantle of Christie was a mistake.

    Coming up are collections by Hugh B. Cave and Brian W. Aldiss.

  7. Richard says:

    Carl, both Heinlein and Brin are well worth your reading time, I like them both a lot. I have Brin’s Existence sitting here, hopefully I’ll read it this year.

  8. Richard says:

    Jeff, I go through times like that now and then, though not lately. I think you just haven’t found the book that you’re in the mood for. Yes, Michaels is famous for that, but perhaps even more so for the coverage of the San Francisco earthquake at the beginning of game 3 of the Giants-A’s World Series game. He was on air for several hours doing updates and got a news Emmy nomination for it. And of course he’s done Super Bowls, Olympics, World Series, Monday Night and Sunday Night Football.

    Sanderson is too long-winded for my taste, as was Robert Jordan before him. I know the book you read wasn’t a Wheel of Time one, or even part of his Radiance series, but still.

    For some reason I didn’t enjoy that last Collins I read, but I will be getting his last comics-titled on from the library. I’m not familiar with John R. Riggs.

  9. Richard says:

    Prashant, unlike most mystery readers, or at least the one’s whose blogs I read and those who were in DAPA-Em with me, I don’t like Block’s books very much. But you may, and in that case there are a lot of them out there.

  10. Richard says:

    Jerry, a quiet reading week for you is breakneck speed for this old guy. I may try that graphic novel. I just finished a couple Doctor Strange ones (see my Christmas New Arrivals post) and enjoyed them. That list of SF authors really goes back a ways. I read them all Then. I didn’t expect much from that new Poirot, nor do I from any attempt to write the Christie characters, and why bother? I say make up your own character and write your own book. It’s the publishers who hope a gimmick like “a new Poirot” will sell that push these things. Bah. I don’t think many people read Aldiss any more.

  11. Jeff Meyerson says:

    I agree. I wouldn’t read the new Nero Wolfe books or Peter Wimsey books or James Bond, so why would I read a new Poirot? I wouldn’t. Not only is his creator dead, so is he – she killed him off.

    Case closed.

    Riggs writes a nice small town regional series set in south-central Wisconsin. Nothing exciting, but in the right mood it is enjoyable.

  12. Richard says:

    Jeff, once again I’m feeling overwhelmed with books I want to read to seek out a new author just now, but maybe…later…

  13. I might have to try the Al Michaels book. I’m a sucker for football.

  14. Richard says:

    Charles, if you’re a sports fan you may enjoy it. There’s a lot about his broadcasting career, and he did cover super bowls and playoff games, as well as Monday Night Football and now Sunday Night Football. He’s one of the best, in my opinion.

Leave a Reply

