Resolutions, sort of

calvin-and-hobbes-New-Years-ResolutionI used to make a new year’s resolutions every year. I’d resolve to read more, which I’ve done. I’ve resolved to lose weight, which has been, literally, an up and down thing and is still at the top of my things I NEED to do list.

A few years ago I resolved to read two books I already had for every one I bought or got from the library. I did okay, but wasn’t 100% successful. I think that’s another good one, and I’ll take a shot again this year, but I suspect I’ll really just read what I feel like reading at the time, and that’s a pretty darn good way to go. These days, I read a lot more books from the library, and have cut back on buying books, and that’s good, because it supports the library (for which we pay a special tax here) and for the budget.

I’m also going to try to put up more posts, but that depends on what I have to say.

I’ll also try for the usual: healthier eating, more exercise, make better choices, be more kind in everything I do and say. We’ll see. It would sure be easier if I just resolved to eat more chocolate.

Current Reading post will go up Monday mid-day. 

About Richard Robinson

Enjoying life in Portland, OR
This entry was posted in At Home in Portland. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Resolutions, sort of

  1. macavityabc says:

    I’ve never made resolutions. I k new I’d just be setting myself up for failure.

  2. I think setting goals is a good thing, and I think yours are all very reasonable and worthwhile.

    We pay taxes that go to our library as well, and I love our local libraries, so I like to support them when I can. I don’t want to see them go away.

    If only chocolate resulted in better health and weight loss…then again, if it did, none of us would probably like it. We seem to be built that way. Ha!

  3. Jeff Meyerson says:

    As long as it is dark chocolate, that’s a good thing. Personally, I prefer milk.

    I don’t make resolutions, other than the ones I make every day. Just keep on trying.

  4. I’m completely down with that “eat more chocolate” thing. ;-D

  5. Patti Abbott says:

    I too never make resolutions on the New Year. But I sporadically try to improve on other days.

  6. Richard, each new year I draw up a mental list of “to do” things which rarely translates into real action. Staying healthy and reading more is definitely on my agenda, though.

  7. Richard says:

    Carl, Jeff, I like chocolate, both dark and light, and honestly if I were skinny and didn’t have diabetes I’d treat self to a box or two of See’s chocolates a month. As it is, I allow a small amour once a year, and I hd that a couple of weeks ago.

  8. Richard says:

    Patti, trying to improve on an ongoing basis is the very best way to go. I need to try harder to do that.

  9. Richard says:

    Kristi, yes, it’s a good one, if only it were healthy. But then as Carl says, if it were healthy we might not like it…

  10. Richard says:

    Thanks, Prashant, I will do my best.

  11. By this time in our lives, the die has pretty much been cast. Most of us are not going to be making any Big Lifestyle Changes at this point. We’re all going to keep reading and blogging about it. We’re all looking for the next Great Book to read. Just keep taking Omega-3 and statins and Vitamin-D and get some daily exercise and all will be well.

  12. I was never able to keep up with any resolution other than writing so I’ve largely stopped making them.

  13. Richard says:

    George, when we get older and have health problems, it seems to get easier to gain and harder to lose weight. I take the meds and supplements, but the foods tempt and the exercise is difficult.

  14. Richard says:

    Charles, I hear you, but it never hurts to try.

Leave a Reply

