Current Reading, December 22 – 28, 2014

The busier it gets here, the less reading I seem to do, and it’s been “holiday busy”.

I finished Greenglass House by Kate Milford, which was a disappointment, I expected better. I liked the setting, the characters and though it was pretty wordy, things went along fine until two-thirds of the way in the author pulled a trick with one of the main characters that I didn’t think was fair. I also kept plugging away at The Big Book of Christmas Mysteries until the day itself, and am only a quarter way in. Now I have to decide whether to put it away until next November or just keep going. I read The Maze by Peter David and have started Moriarty by Anthony Horowitz.

Barbara finished Stephen King’s Revival and said she liked it. Now she’s reading Wild which I didn’t get to before other library books showed up. She is liking the sections with walking the trail, some of the other parts, not so much. I don’t think she wants to see the film. She has another book by Mark Billingham up next, The Burning Girl.

What are you reading?

About Richard Robinson

Enjoying life in Portland, OR
This entry was posted in Current Reading. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Current Reading, December 22 – 28, 2014

  1. Richard, I have been eating more than reading since Christmas. I wish you and Barbara a very Happy and a Healthy New Year!

  2. Jeff Meyerson says:

    I did get one book in last week, THE COMPLEAT TRAVELLER IN BLACK by John Brunner, which Bill Crider recommended a couple of weeks back. Who can say ir or when I will read it.

    I did read several things, the first mine and the others from the library. Mine was the aforementioned THE SNOW RATTLERS by Shepard Rifkin. I remember liking his first Damian McQuaid book (McQUAID) way back in 1975 but this one just didn’t do it for me, despite moving the book to the Four Corners area for the second half. I didn’t care much for McQuaid as a character (it was first person narration) and the attitudes and plotting seemed very dated. I mean, an NYPD cop in New Mexico is not allowed to carry a gun? Was that ever true?

    Next I got an old (1952) library collection of short stories by Dawn Powell called SUNDAY, MONDAY AND ALWAYS. I read something about her and thought I’d give it a try. While nothing exceptional I did enjoy these short-ish stories. Then I set out to catch up on the Nameless Detective books I’d missed by Bill Pronzini, reading HELLBOX (wife Kerry disappears on a trip to the Sierras) and the shorter FEMME (as in “fatale”). Each took less than a day,.

    Current reading. I plan to finish two excellent books of stories by the end of the year, Phil Klay’s National Book Award-winning REDEPLOYMENT and Charlotte Armstrong’s NIGHT CALL AND OTHER STORIES OF SUSPENSE. a Crippen & Landru publication. I’ve got two stories in the former and a longer novelette in the latter to read. Beyond that it is Brandon Sanderson’s dystopian YA book, STEELHEART, recommended by George Kelley. Then we’ll see.

    Soon it will be time to start gathering what books I need to take to Florida later this month.

  3. Richard says:

    Prashant, yes, us too with the eating. Now we’ve switched to beginning of the year diet mode. Thanks for the new year wishes, and the same back at you!

  4. Richard says:

    Jeff, I have no doubt you read two or three themes the number of books I did, but who’s counting? I’m sure you’ll finish up those last two books and be able to give your year count when I post my reading stats in a couple of days.

  5. Been playing too much Skyrim here to do as much reading over the break. Have read a number of things though. Futures from Nature was a wonderful collection of short SF flash fiction

  6. Jeff Meyerson says:

    I was astonished to discover that more than a third of my books read this year were short story collections. I guess that’s why my total will be as high as it is.

  7. I’m busy reading Big Fat Books now that I’m on vacation (aka, “Winter Break”). There are a bunch of movies that I want to see. We woke up to a couple of inches of snow this morning. New Year’s Eve is supposed to be frigid.

  8. Richard says:

    Jeff, I’m not surprised, every week you report some short stories read.

  9. Richard says:

    George, it was 21 when we got up this morning, which is darn cold. It’s clear and sunny but that sunshine is a trick, the high will be just under freezing at 31 today. Yikes.

  10. Evan Lewis says:

    Moriarty looks mighty interesting. My holiday reading included Headed for a Hearse by Jonathan Latimer and Valley of Vanishing Herds by W.C. Tuttle.

  11. Richard says:

    Cool stuff, Evan. I’m planning on getting to some more of the saddle-stitched Black Dog stuff in the coming weeks.

  12. Jerry House says:

    Happily, most of the week was spent with family. I did read Marian Babson’s UNFAIR EXCHANGE, Ed Gorman’s RIDERS OF THE STORM, and Max Allan Collins’ SUPREME JUSTICE — all recommended. In the short story department I read Robert Weinberg’s Weird Tales anthology THE EIGHTH GREEN MAN AND OTHER STRANGE FOLK, dated but interesting stories, mainly from WT’s heyday.

    If I can ever get Kitty’s hands off it, I’ll be ringing in the New Year with Sophie Hanna’s new Hercule Poirot, THE MONOGRAM MURDERS.

    Wishing you and Barbara the very best of New Years.

Leave a Reply

