New Arrivals, Christmas edition

“Santa” was very generous this year, but then, that’s no surprise as I was very good all year long. I’ll start out with the mystery fiction:

The Black Lizard Big Book of Locked-Room Mysteries edited by Otto Penzler [Vintage Crime/Black Lizard 2014 trade paper, gift] – mystery short story collection. This 938 page (!) collection is packed with good stuff and will take a lot of time to read, but I’m looking forward to it.

Easy Death by Daniel Boyd [Hard Case Crime 2014 trade paper, gift] – mystery novel. The second novel by Boyd, known to me from my days in DAPA-Em, the mystery APA. Set at Christmastime 1951, this one is not to be missed.

Hunter and Hunted, The Ed and Am Hunter Novels, Part One by Fredric Brown [Stewart Masters Publishing 2002 hardcover, gift] – mystery, four novel collection. The first volume in SMPL’s Fredric Brown Mystery Library, and the only one, as far as I can tell. I have the Haffner Press set on order – been on order for a very long time – and I have two of these four novels in paperback, but that’s okay, as Brown is so good. I need to be reading more of his stuff.

As a lover of jazz, I was delighted to find these under the tree:

Charlie Haden / Jim Hall Impulse Records 1990 CD, recorded at the Montreal Jazz Festival, July 2, 1990. Time: 1 hr. 16 min. [gift] – jazz featuring bassist Hayden and guitarist Hall. Great stuff.

Bill Evans – The Complete Village Vanguard Recordings, 1961 by Bill Evans trio. [Riverside   Records 2005 set of 1961 live recordings at The Village Vanguard, Greenwich Village, New York. 3 CD set] – jazz. I have a lot of Bill Evans on CD but not these recordings, until now. Yes, there are duplicates, or almost duplicates, because over the six sets here, some songs were played more than once, or several times, but with live jazz, there are always differences, great and small. A lot of happy listening here.

Then the graphic novel-comic book items and adventure:

Doctor Strange: The Oath by Vaughn & Martin, 2010 collection [gift] – collected comic issues, Doctor Strange and Doctor Doom: Triumph and Torment by various writers and pencilers, [gift] collected comic issues and Doctor Strange – Strange Tales by various writers and pencilers, [gift] collected comic issues.

Teen Titans, A Celebration of 50 years DC Comics [gift]. Collection of stories covering fifty years of the title. I’ve always enjoyed the Teen Titans stories, maybe it’s the angst in them, or the slightly less than invulnerable nature of these kids.

Dinotopia: Wind Chaser by Scott Ciencin [paperback, used copy] – first in the YA series I’ve been reading.

Doc Savage: The Whistling Wraith by Will Murray & Lester Dent as by Kenneth Robeson [Altus Press 2014 trade paper, gift] – adventure fiction novel. I now have all of the – so far – Wild Adventures of Doc Savage but these keep coming out faster than I can work them into my reading schedule (if I had anything that organized). I’ve liked the ones I’ve read, so I keep picking them up.

We also got a couple of books for “the house”:

Gary Frank’s Oregon, Second Edition  a guide to Oregon travel, lodgings and (especially) dining, culled from his columns in the newspaper. Great for when we’re out of town, have guests or just feel like trying a new place.

Make It Ahead by Ina Garten, a cookbook by a food show/chef we like.

We both had a wonderful Christmas, and we hope you did too!

About Richard Robinson

Enjoying life in Portland, OR
This entry was posted in Adventure, books, fantasy, graphic novel, Jazz, mystery. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to New Arrivals, Christmas edition

  1. macavityabc says:

    An excellent haul!

  2. Jeff Meyerson says:

    You must have been good indeed. Nice presents. Of course I’ve read that locked room collection and the Daniel Boyd book. The Ed & Am Hunter book sounds like a winner to me. I haven’t read the whole series but I’ve liked the ones I’ve read. And all the rest look good as well.

  3. Richard says:

    Bill, yes a very nice accumulation of goodies.

  4. Richard says:

    Jeff, of course, you’ve read them, you’ve read damn near everything… and if you haven’t George probably has. 😉 I wish SMPL had continued the series, but as far as I can tell they did this and then stopped.

  5. Richard says:

    By the way, my current reading post will go up in a day or so, then year-end reading stats.

  6. Nice load of swag. The Brown would interest me. I’ve read, and posted, on THE FABULOUS CLIPJOINT, but not read any others in the series.

  7. I’m jealous. these look tres cool.

  8. Patti Abbott says:

    I only got one book. A bio of Tennessee Williams. Phil got two spy novels. I got my son a novel. It was not a booky Christmas.

  9. Richard says:

    Patti, one, or two, is better than none. For me, a Christmas without books is a sad thing, so I do my best to hint and “wish list” several.

  10. I like the look of those Doctor Strange books!

  11. Santa was indeed generous! Great stuff you got! Love the covers of the mystery books.

  12. Richard, I’d love to get my hands on a few Hard Case Crime novels. I like the covers and the printing inside.

Leave a Reply

