Current Reading, December 15 – 21, 2014

Happy holidays! We’ve been very busy with Christmas stuff, so reading is down some.

Richard
I finished Lock In by John Scalzi, which I liked more than I expected. I say that because it wasn’t what I was expecting (a medical thriller) but was instead a very good SF detective novel. Next up for me are Greenglass House by Kate Milford and Wild by Cheryl Strayed

Barbara
Barbara finished Mark Billingham’s The Bones Beneath. She always likes his books. Now she’s about halfway through Stephen King’s Revival. which she’s enjoying. After that, she may try Wild if I either don’t get to it or finish it quickly, before it’s due back to the library. She also has eight other things on hold at the library, waiting for her turn, so something will pop up.

What are you reading?

About Richard Robinson

Enjoying life in Portland, OR
This entry was posted in Current Reading, mystery and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Current Reading, December 15 – 21, 2014

  1. macavityabc says:

    I liked Lock-In quite a bit, but I like most of Scalzi’s work.

  2. I’m on vacation now so I’ve been reading a book a day. Today it’s Sax Rohmer’s BAT-WING/FIRE-TONGUE omnibus from STARK HOUSE. I read a bunch of Sax Rohmer’s FU MANCHU series as a kid but I never go around to reading these thrillers. My 300th Friday’s Forgotten Books review goes up later this week. It will be Something Special.

  3. Jeff Meyerson says:

    Glad you agree on LOCK IN. Like Bill, I’ve liked most of Scalzi’s work. I say “most” because I haven’t read it all but I haven’t read one thing of his that I haven’t liked. I think this one could definitely be the start of a new series, if he wanted.

    I got two books this past week, one from PaperbackSwap.com and one via ABE. The first was a paperback of Stanley Ellin’s first collection, MYSTERY STORIES, here retitled QUIET HORROR. The short story collections do keep coming in. The second was a trade paperback of Adrian McKinty’s second Belfast-set Sean Duffy books, I HEAR THE SIRENS IN THE STREET. For whatever reason the library didn’t have this one.

    Speaking of the library, I got a (surprise!) short story collection which has been on many year end “Best of the Year” lists, Phil Klay’s REDEPLOYMENT.

    Current reading: Dawn Powell’s (yes) collection of stories, SUNDAY, MONDAY AND ALWAYS (a 1952 purblication) and Shepard Rifkin’s THE SNOW RATTLERS. Back in the mid-1970s I read and liked his first Sgt. Damian McQuaid book (McQUAID) but never read the others. Five years ago when Hard Case Crime reprinted his classic standalone THE MURDERER VINE I decided to catch up so bought the second.

    Finished last week: Bel Kaufman’s UP THE DOWN STAIRCASE. Anthony Boucher’s THE COMPLEAT WEREWOLF & Other Tales of Fantasy & Science Fiction. I enjoyed this one a lot. The stories were published originally between 194`1 and 1945. The book came out in 1969, the year after Boucher’s death. Lastly I read P. G. Wodehouse’s 1927 collection, MEET MR. MULLINER, which was light and fun.

  4. Richard, I hope to read Stephen King next year. I have never read his books.

  5. Jerry House says:

    It’s been a short story/graphic novel week for me. The short story collections were Eric Frank Russell’s DARK TIDES (fantasy), Theodore Sturgeon’s BRIGHT SEGMENT (SF), and Ron Goulart’s ADAM AND EVE ON A RAFT (mystery). Anthologies were T. E. Dikty’s THE YEAR’S BEST SCIENCE FICTION STORIES AND NOVELS, 1956 and Robert Weinberg’s FAR BELOW AND OTHER HORRORS. Read four graphic novels to finish up Jason Aaron’s gritty 10-volume SCALPED series and also read Books Two and Three in Bill Willingham’s great FABLES series..

    Coming up are Ed Gorman’s RIDERS AT THE STORM and Max Allan Collins’ SUPREME JUSTICE, as well as more short story collections.

    Wishing you and Barbara the merriest of Christmases and the brightest of New Years.

  6. Richard says:

    Sorry I haven’t been prompt with my replies this week. Bill, I think both you and Jeff liked it a lot too.

  7. Richard says:

    George, 300! I’m somewhere around 160, I think. Looking forward to it!

  8. Richard says:

    Jeff, I hope Lock In IS the beginning of a new series, I’d read the next one right now. He tends to write stand-alones except for Old Man’s War, but we can hope. I also read, much more recently than you, McQuaid and enjoyed it but never went on with the series, if I even know it was one.

    Thanks for the good wishes! Same to you!

  9. Richard says:

    Prashant, King is hugely popular, as I’m sure you know, but I’ve only read a couple of them myself. Barbara loves them. I mean to read The Stand one of these days. Happy Christmas!

  10. Richard says:

    Jerry, congrats on the forthcoming grandchild, Kangaroo. That sounds like a big responsibility they are taking one, I respect and admire them for it.

    I liked those early Fables collections as well as any. Aren’t they great? Thank you for the Christmas wishes, same back at you!

Leave a Reply

