Current Reading, November 17 – 23, 2014

Reading – Richard
I’m plugging away. My intention to read mostly short stories during November got off to a late start due to several library books drifting into the house, but I finished those up last week, as shown in last week’s post.

 

Before I launched into the several short story collections, however, I thought it was time to read the 299 page special edition of Blood ‘N’ Thunder that came last Summer and has been sitting here since. In addition to the usual editorial, convention reports and articles, this huge issue had a lot more fiction than usual, which accounts for the size. I enjoyed it, though not all of the articles were of deep interest to me, as usual. The fiction reprints were nice. Now the issue is filed away with the other ones and out of the way.

On to the short stories. I’ll not say much other than listing my progress, as I have reviews forthcoming. I finished the short story collection The Casebook of Newbury & Hobbs by George Mann. Also finished was Tales from High Hallack – the Collected Short Stories of Andre Norton, Volume 1 by Andre Norton.

What’s up next? Short stories, but also another library book has come, The Wind Is Not A River by Brian Payton, a WWII novel.

Reading – Barbara
Barbara finished the latest Charlie Parker mystery by favorite author John Connolly, The Wolf in Winter. She always likes the Parker mysteries. She also finished another 86th Precinct novel, Ten Plus One by Ed McBain. Now she’s reading Conspiracies by F. Paul Wilson, the third Repairman Jack novel. A lot of what we’re reading these days is coming from the library.

What are you reading?

About Richard Robinson

Enjoying life in Portland, OR
This entry was posted in Current Reading, fantasy, mystery. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Current Reading, November 17 – 23, 2014

  1. Richard, my bookshelf is creaking under the weight of a dozen-plus Ed McBains and I haven’t read a single one of them. “Ten Plus One’ is not one of them and I really shouldn’t be adding it to the existing pile.

  2. Jeff Meyerson says:

    Sadly, I’ve read all the McBain 87th Precinct books long ago. I suppose I could reread them….

    A new book: yes, I got – and quickly read – Art Scott’s gorgeous THE ART OF ROBERT E. McGINNIS. Congratulations, Art. It’s a great achievement. Next I read another of mine, THE GETAWAY CAR: A DONALD WESTLAKE NONFICTION MISCELLANY, a collection of essays, interviews and other non fiction pieces gathered in a tasty trade paperback. Lastly I finished an early (1968) collection of Westlake’s short stories, THE CURIOUS FACTS PRECEDING MY EXECUTION and Other Fictions, which was entertaining enough without being anything special.

    I’ve read a bunch more of Otto’s Locked-Room collection, which I’m enjoying quite a bit, and a few other miscellaneous shorts. Currently I’m reading Scott Westerfeld’s new book, AFTERWORLDS, a 600 page YA (but a fast read). I’ve also started a Hard Case Crime noir about a bank robbery just before Christmas in 1951, EASY DEATH by Daniel Boyd, who is actually former DAPA-EM member Dan Stumpf. I read his previous book, ‘NADA, and liked it a lot. Also got the new Lee Goldberg/Janet Evanovich book from the library, THE JOB, with several other things.

  3. Jerry House says:

    Major reading this week was Stephen King’s REVIVAL. It’s an interesting take on a number of horror tropes but starts off gently in the 1960s when the narrator is six then lopes along through the decades as clouds begin to darken lives, picking up intensity until the avalanche that is the last fifty pages where an Ahab-like character finally meets his white whale. Not the best King, but a darned good one.

    Also this week: the Sax Rohmer ghosted/edited LITTLE TICH, my FFB last Friday; another volume of the Collected Theodore Sturgeon, THUNDER AND ROSES; a brief posthumous book of poems by August Derleth, LAST LIGHT; the second book in Ariel S. Winter’s three-book THE TWENTY-YEAR DEATH; and five graphic novels in Mike Carey’s Lucifer series based on the character created by Neil Gaiman.

    Coming up will be the final book in THE TWENTY-YEAR DEATH and David Kesterton’s THE DARKLING. I’ll also be finishing Alice & Claude Askew’s AYLMER VANCE, GHOST-SEER. Beyond that, whatever I may pull out of Mount TBR.

  4. Like Jeff, I read the “Daniel Boyd” HARD CASE CRIME novel, EASY DEATH. Dan Stumpf did a nice job on it! It’s great to see DAPA-EMers hit the Big Time. Speaking of Big Time, Art Scott’s contribution of THE ART OF ROBERT E. MCGINNIS is fabulous. This the the Book of the Year!

  5. Jeff Meyerson says:

    True. The pictures are great and McGinnis’s breadth of work is impressive.

  6. That’s a McBain I don’t have. But I will have it soon.

  7. I’m reading The Martian by Andy Weir, which thus far is just excellent.

    I got a copy of Andromeda’s War by William C. Dietz in the mail last week that I plan to get to next. I’m also listening to Ghost Ship by Sharon Lee/Steve Miller on audio.

    Got a copy of Galactic North, a short story collection of Alastair Reynolds and one of Keith Parkinson’s art books for my birthday, also Isaac Asimov’s novel, Pebble in the Sky. Hope to get to all of them soon.

  8. Richard says:

    Prashant, Barbara likes the 87th Precinct books a lot. You should try one.

  9. Richard says:

    Jeff, also arriving here but just not edited into this post at the last second is the latest Jeffrey Siger book. Both Barbara and I had it on hold, and now we have two copies here. She’s a third in already, I’ll start it today or tomorrow.

    I’m still waiting for the McGinnis book. Someday, I guess. I’m not a big Westlake fan, so I’d be skipping those. I’m going to try the Boyd/Stumpf novel.

    The locked room book is also out of reach…until Christmas, I guess.

  10. Richard says:

    Jerry, Barbara is still waiting for that Stephen King to show up at the library. She has a hold on it but is way down the list.

  11. Richard says:

    George, as I said to Jeff, up above there, no McGinnis book here.

  12. Richard says:

    Carl, I saw a good review on the Weir somewhere recently. I read that Clarke many, many years ago.

  13. Richard says:

    Charles, way to go.

  14. Jeff Meyerson says:

    I’m waiting on the King book at the library too. They don’t have the new Siger yet.

Leave a Reply

