New Arrivals, November 2014 #1

New Arrivals: A few things that slipped into the house over the last couple of weeks.

Santa Rita Stories by Andrew J. Rodriguez [Outskirts Press 2014 trade paper, purchased new] – general fiction. I came across a recent review of this on Kirkus, and it sounded like something I’d enjoy, so I got a copy.

A collection of short stories centering on a young boy coming of age in a small fishing community during the mid-1950s in pre-Castro Cuba.

In 10 linked stories, Rodriguez charmingly conjures life in Santa Rita, a coastal town in Cuba, before Castro’s revolution. The townspeople are seen mainly through the eyes of Carlos, a young boy growing up surrounded by his colorful neighbors. Chief among them is Pedro, a homeless man who makes the wharf his home and who relates to a wide-eyed Carlos the rich history of their town.”

– Kirkus Review

Four Doc Savage books, Python Isle, The Phantom Lagoon, White Eyes and The Ice Genius, numbers 8, 9, 10 and 12 in the New Wild Adventures of Doc Savage, published by Altus Press. I now have the first 12, missing only the most recent one. The books are written by Will Murray, as by Kenneth Robeson.

Veiled Alliances by Kevin Anderson [Wildfire Press 2011 trade paper, purchased new] – fantasy-SF. Anderson’s Saga of the Seven Suns is up to seven books, plus this prequel to the series. I generally like Anderson’s science fiction writing, and have decided to try this. I already have the first book in the series, so decided to get this lead-in, also done as a graphic novel, to get me up to speed.This edition includes both the novella and the script for the graphic novel. If I like this, and the first book, I’ll keep reading, otherwise, on to something else. The series:

  • Book 1: Hidden Empire (2002)
  • Book 2: A Forest of Stars (2003)
  • Book 3: Horizon Storms (2004)
  • Book 4: Scattered Suns (2005)
  • Book 5: Of Fire and Night (2006)
  • Book 6: Metal Swarm (2007)
  • Book 7: The Ashes of Worlds (2008)
  • Prequel: Veiled Alliances (novella & graphic novel) (2011)

Any comments on these books or this author? Have you read any of these?

About Richard Robinson

Enjoying life in Portland, OR
This entry was posted in New Arrivals. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to New Arrivals, November 2014 #1

  1. I have the new Doc Savage novels, too. Now, to find time to read them… I’m intrigued by the Kevin Anderson books. I see them in used bookstores and thrift stores all the time. Now, I might pick them up.

  2. Evan Lewis says:

    Those Savage books will add class to your bookshelf. Interesting that Altus is reissuing Will’s Bantam books from the early ’90s (in this case Python Isle and White Eyes) as part of the WILD line. Not that there’s anything wrong with that. The books had such poor distribution back then that they’re almost new.

  3. Very nice looking Doc Savage books! Evans comment about your bookshelves, coupled with the fact that earlier this week I was remembering your Harris purchases, makes me want to see updated pics of your space and shelves.

    Maybe I’ll just fly in and peek in your windows.

  4. Richard says:

    George, yes, time to read them” is a problem, as always. I need to look for used copies of those Anderson’s, but except for Powells there are few used book stores.

  5. Richard says:

    Evan, I did notice that those two don’t have the word “New” on the covers, though.

  6. Richard says:

    Carl, yes, you should plan a trip to the Pacific Northwest, drop by Portland, see the sights, and come visit us! You’d be most welcome.

  7. Jeff Meyerson says:

    I like the look of the Doc Savage books a lot but the content isn’t my taste. I will admire them from afar. Never heard of Rodriguez but the book sounds interesting.

  8. I wouldn’t mind getting hold of some of those Doc Savages.

  9. Richard says:

    Jeff, I like most of the books, enough to keep reading one now and then. The constant arguing between Hamm and Monk = and pig and monkey – is very tiresome, but it was – though a lot less – in the original books. I’ve read 4, have 12, so it will be a while before I buy more.

    The Rodriguez is good so far, I’m 1/3 of the way in.

Leave a Reply

