Current Reading, November 10 – 16, 2014

Freezing rain, ice, wind. Winter weeks early.

Reading – Richard
There’s not a lot to report this time. I finished the first and third Penderwicks novels, and then just finished the second one. In between, I polished off 2o61, which I found disappointing. I kept being reminded of Charles Sheffield’s superior Cold As Ice which I would recommend reading instead. Now that the library books are polished off, I’ll start reading short story collections.

Reading – Barbara
Barbara finished the latest Charlie Parker mystery by favorite author John Connolly, The Wolf in Winter. She always likes the Parker mysteries. Next up, another 86th Precinct novel, followed by Conspiracies by F. Paul Wilson, a Repairman Jack novel. Everything we’re reading these days is coming from the library.

What are you reading?

About Richard Robinson

Enjoying life in Portland, OR
This entry was posted in Current Reading, mystery, science fiction. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Current Reading, November 10 – 16, 2014

  1. Richard, the John Connolly novel looks good and I’ll check it out. I read a nice suspense story by James Reasoner called “The Red Reef” and am nearly through with “Gray Mountain” by John Grisham.

  2. Patti Abbott says:

    Just finished an Adrian McKinty IN THE MORNING I’LL BE GONE, which was terrific. And about to start the Connolly too. From the library also. Also reading the locked room volume from Penzler.

  3. Jeff Meyerson says:

    The reviews and comments got me to get a McKinty from the library but haven’t started it yet, as I have other books by Westlake (shorts), Scott Westerfeld (550 pages), Lee Goldberg (Monk), Jack McDevitt (after a George Kelley review), Robert Silverberg, Jack Higgins already on hand (I’m currently reading the Higgins, originally published in 1970), not to mention the big locked-room mysteries book. I’m 200 pages into that.

    One new book came in this week, a paperback of THE SCIENCE FICTION HALL OF FAME, Volume IV, edited by Terry Carr.

    Read this week: first the previously mentioned VALOR’S CHOICE by Tanya Huff, first in her series about Staff Sgt. Torin Kerr and the Confederation’s fight against The Others, which I liked a lot. Next was THE AUTUMN DEAD (library) by Ed Gorman, which someone (sorry, to lazy to check back) reviewed last week. It’s in his Jack Dwyer series and a good, short, fast read. Dwyer is an ex-cop and now a PI and part-time actor but this case is more personal. His former high school sweetheart, whose role model is Holly Golightly, which is not a good thing, comes to him for help. At the same time he is feeling his age as his 25th High School Reunion is imminent. I read the first two Dwyer books years ago but never read the rest of the series. This one is a lot better than I remember the first two being, though I enjoyed them at the time.

    The Gorman was a perfect length, around 200 pages, The same is true of the delightful collection of Walt Longmire short stories, WAIT FOR SIGNS (library), which I would highly recommend.

    Lastly, I read the third in Scott Westerfeld’s YA/steampunk/Alternate Universe WWI-era trilogy, GOLIATH (library). This one was 540 pages but a relatively quick read, as he brings the series started with LEVIATHAN to a satisfying conclusion.

  4. I just finished AGATHA H AND THE VOICE OF THE CASTLE, the third volume in the Girl Genius series from Night Shade Books. But I’m about to be buried in an avalanche of research papers so my pleasure reading will completely disappear for a few weeks.

  5. I’d like to read that Connolly, been awhile. Bad men was the last one I read by him I believe.

  6. I saw Jeff mentioned Tanya Huff’s Valor series. I’ve read the first three and have books four and five on my shelf. I’ve been contemplating going on another adventure with Kerr here soon.

    Just finished reading the new book in the Honor universe by David Weber and Timothy Zahn. I thought it was an excellent beginning to this new series and am already itching to read the sequel.

  7. Jerry House says:

    A quiet week here, Richard. I read two graphic novels based on Neil Gaiman’s Sandman series, one by Jill Thompson and one by Mike Carey. The Sandman universe is one I keep coming back to. I also read COVER-UP STORY, Marion Babson’s first mystery, and VISIONS OF FIRE, Gillian Anderson’s “yeah, I’ll put my name one the cover” SF thriller written by Jeff Rovin.

    I’m currently reading THE TWENTY-YEAR DEATH by Ariel S. Winter, hoping the rest of the book holds up as well as the first part. Coming in later today are Stephen King’s latest, another volume in the Collected Stories of Theodore Sturgeon, a book of poetry by August Derleth, and five Lucifer graphic novels by Mike Carey. I also hope to squeeze in a collection of ghost stories, AYLMER VANCE, GHOST-SEER, and LITTLE TICH, a book that Sax Rohmer ghost-wrote for British music hall comedian Harry Relph.

    It’s cold and wet and rainy today, and due to get colder, wetter, and rainier. I think it’s a good time to get comfy and get back to reading.

  8. Richard says:

    Prashant, I’ve been meaning to read that Reasoner story myself.

  9. Richard says:

    Patti, Barbara really liked the Connolly. That locked-room collection is huge, it’ll take you a while, I think, though you’re probably another of the many fast readers in our blog bunch.

  10. Richard says:

    Jeff, I’m guessing the McKinty is the same one Patti just read, right? You have much good stuff on hand there, no fear of running low on reading materials. I’ll bet that SF Hall of Fame came from BookSwap, right? I may have to try on of Gorman’s Jack Dwyer books, maybe this one. We enjoyed seeing Craig Johnson n a panel at LCC, especially his sense of humor, Does it come across in the short stories? We have yet to try one of his books. Also on the “may have to try” list is the Scott Westerfeld WWI-era trilogy. One of these days…

  11. Richard says:

    George, I saw your review today of the Agatha H book. I liked the first one when I read it.

  12. Richard says:

    Carl, I thought the 2nd Tanya Huff book in that series wasn’t quite so good as the first, and didn’t continue on, but maybe I should have.

  13. Richard says:

    Jerry, “get back to reading”? When do you ever NOT read? Seems you have a hell of a line-up every week, incoming and what you list here as read. I never fail to be impressed. Personally, I wouldn’t have much expectation for that Rohmer.

  14. Jeff Meyerson says:

    The McKinty I got was the first in a trilogy, so not the same one. I’m not sure until I try it if I’ll be in the mood. The Gorman book was definitely one I’d recommend. I just don’t remember being bowled over by the first two Dwyers but it’s been a long time since I read them (1985) so don’t remember.

    Yes I got the SF Hall of Fame from PaperBackSwap. We’ve been getting a lot fewer books from them lately and the ones Jackie wants seem to take longer than they did 2-3 years ago.

    I would definitely recommend you try the Longmire short stories, then. Several of them have a very good sense of humor and about half have a Christmas-y theme.

  15. Jeff Meyerson says:

    As to the weather, we’ll be below freezing for the first time tonight – it rained most of the day but was 48 – and it won’t get higher than 32 tomorrow, with a wind chill of 15-25. Too early for this.

  16. Patti Abbott says:

    I am going back to read the first two. I liked it too much not to see where he comes from. I am not a fast reader at all.

Leave a Reply

