Bouchercon 2014

bcon14-logoBouchercon 2014, “Murder at the Beach”, the world mystery convention, begins tomorrow  and runs November 13 – 16 in Long Beach, California. I’ve been to several Bouchercons, in Seattle, Milwaukee, Monterey and most recently San Francisco, but I’ll not be in Long Beach for this one, as much as I’m sure I’d enjoy the heck out of it. I had to make a choice on a con, and this year I chose Left Coast Crime in Monterey, CA last Spring. It was great, but certainly no Bouchercon, which is the biggest, best mystery convention there is.

So to all of you who are going, have a blast, buy lots of books, make new friends and visit with old ones, get to some panels, don’t miss Art Scott’s slide show, and generally just have a great time. I’ll be there with you in my thoughts. Whether your there or not, comments on this post will help me and anyone else reading them stay up to date on goings-on. Have fun!

About Richard Robinson

Enjoying life in Portland, OR
This entry was posted in At Home in Portland. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Bouchercon 2014

  1. macavityabc says:

    If I were going, which I’m not, I’d be right there at that slide show.

  2. Sorry you couldn’t attend both, Richard, but I understand. These things ain’t cheap.

  3. Jeff Meyerson says:

    Not going either but we have plans to go to the next several – Raleigh, New Orleans (yay!) and Toronto.

  4. Richard says:

    Jeff, there seem to be about three east of the Mississippi for every one west of the Rockies. I’m hoping for another one in Seattle, but who knows if that will happen.

  5. Richard says:

    Carl, for some reason, mystery cons are much more expensive then SF-F cons (except for Comic-Con).

  6. Jeff Meyerson says:

    It depends on who they can get to bid these days. I’m afraid it will be at least four as the year after Toronto it is supposed to be in Florida.

  7. I can’t make Long Beach, but I’ve made reservations for Raleigh. We hope to make it to New Orleans. Toronto is a 2-hour drive away. Like Bill, I’d really like to see Art Scott’s McGinnis presentation now that THE ART OF ROBERT E. MCGINNIS is available for sale.

  8. Jeff Meyerson says:

    We made our Raleigh hotel reservations today, arriving on Wednesday.

  9. Patti Abbott says:

    Not sure if I will get to any more. Maybe Toronto since Megan is the American friend on that one.

  10. Never been to any of these Rich – sound great though 🙂

  11. Richard says:

    Charles, you should try one, it will be in New Orleans in a couple of years!

  12. Richard says:

    Patti, you should go!

Leave a Reply

