Current Reading, November 3 – 9, 2014

The weather is turning cold, temperatures will be in the low 30’s next week, though so far we haven’t had a frost. We shut down the “winter valves” and the sprinkler system will be blown out this coming week.

Reading – Richard
I finished reading A Ghost of A Chance by Bill Crider, which I enjoyed a lot. If you haven’t read any Crider, or none recently, you should pick one up. I’m only partway through The Verge Practice by Barry Maitland. It’s slow going for some reason, though I’m enjoying it.

As I posted Saturday, more library books are flowing in, so the plan to read a bunch of short stories in November is on hold, as I read library books first. I never got around to the third Arthur Clarke novel in the series, so I put a hold on 2061, and it’s here. I also got a tween novel, The Penderwicks I decided to try after I saw it on a must read list.

Reading – Barbara
Barbara finished Lynda La Plante’s The Red Dahlia, which is second book in the series. She liked it, but says she’ll wait a while before reading another. She’s now reading the latest Charlie Parker mystery by favorite author John Connolly, The Wolf in Winter.

What are you reading?

About Richard Robinson

Enjoying life in Portland, OR
This entry was posted in Current Reading. Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Current Reading, November 3 – 9, 2014

  1. Richard, I’m halfway through COLD MOUNTAIN by John Grisham and the theme of the legal novel has left me cold owing to its stark reality — powerful coal companies strip mining in the Appalachia and its adverse impact on human life all around it.

  2. macavityabc says:

    Thanks for the plug, Rick!

  3. Richard, the title of the Grisham novel is GRAY MOUNTAIN and not COLD MOUNTAIN as I mentioned.

  4. Jeff Meyerson says:

    I’m reading that Black Lizard Locked-Room book Otto edited. I’ve already read a lot of the earliest stories in the book – Poe, Post, Doyle, Hodgson, Futrelle, etc. It’s kind of a tough book to hold and not something you’d take when you go out, but in a comfortable chair (or, in my case on the couch) it is fun reading. I’ve got a few other library books and five in transit but don’t know which of them I will read next…or at all.

    This week I read the previously mentioned BLOTTO, TWINKS AND THE DEAD DOWAGER’S DAUGHTER. Think Wodehouse as a model. In the right mood (which I was) these are a lot of fun. Simon Brett was the author. Next was the latest Michael Connelly about Harry Bosch, THE BURNING ROOM. Harry is closing in on retirement at the Cold Case squad of the LAPD and I don’t think he’s happy about it. This one is nearly 400 pages and the pages fairly flew for me. There are two cases – one man just died but it was from a bullet wound he received ten years earlier, and the other is not even his case – and Connelly does a great job with them, and Bosch.

    Lastly I read a new collection of science fiction stories (there is no indication of original publication dates) by 80+ year old Grandmaster Ben Bova, NEW FRONTIERS. I wouldn’t call it great but it was a fast read and I enjoyed it.

  5. I’m reading some novels before my students turn in their research papers for me to correct over Thanksgiving. Then Final Exams loom on the horizon. Fortunately, I’ve been “reading ahead.” I won’t be able to do any serious reading until Winter Break (most of January).

  6. Jerry House says:

    The problem with Bill Crider is that he just doesn’t write them fast enough, Richard

    I’m currently reading A VISION OF FIRE by Gillian Anderson (hah!) and Jeff Rovin (who did 99% of the work). This past week, I read three volumes of The Collected Stories of Theodore Sturgeon (KILLDOZER!, THE PERFECT HOST, and AND NOW THE NEWS…), the second (and final) volume of P. Craig Russell’s adaptation of Neil Gaiman’s THE GRAVEYARD BOOK, Craig Johnson’s Longmire collection WAIT FOR SIGNS, along with several miscellaneous graphic novels.

    Tomorrow is the release date for the new Stephen King and the new F. Paul Wilson Repairman Jack; with luck the library will have copies for me soon. In the meantime, I have Ariel S. Winter’s THE TWENTY YEAR DEATH and Marion Babson’s first novel on deck.

    Time to break out the long underwear, I reckon.

  7. Patti Abbott says:

    The new Amy Bloom book and the latest Adrian McKinty.

  8. Steve Oerkfitz says:

    Just finished The Burning Room by Michael Connelly and The Final Silence by Stuart Neville. Next up The Wolf in Winter by John Connelly, Laughing Monsters by Denis Johnson and Tinseltown by William Mann. Still waiting for the new Lavie Tidhar which apparently got lost in the mail from England.

  9. Richard says:

    Prashant, sounds good, but the grim reality theme would be hard for me to read.

  10. Richard says:

    Any time, Bill. I’ve really been enjoying getting back into some of the Rhodes books I’d missed. They’re a lot of fun.

  11. Richard says:

    Jeff, wow, is Ben Bova really 80-plus years old? But when I think about it, I guess, yeah, that’s about right. Which means I’ve been reading his stories for mumble-mumble years! Whoa.

  12. Richard says:

    George, enjoy your reading time, then nose to the grindstone until late December, eh?

  13. Richard says:

    Jerry, you’re right, of course, about Crider’s writing. You always seem to have a lot on your TBR list, I’m not sure how you read it all. Another fast reader, I guess. Barbara has enjoyed the Repairman Jack books she read, but is way back in the series.

  14. Richard says:

    Patti, I hope for a review from you on the Bloom.

  15. Richard says:

    Steve, as you see, Barbara is reading The Wolf in Winter now, about halfway through, and enjoying it a lot, but then she likes the Charlie Parker books a lot. I’ll have to look into Tinseltown, by Mann.

  16. Jeff Meyerson says:

    Bova turned 82 on Saturday, according to Wikipedia.

  17. The next month or so promises to be chaotic. I’ll be correcting research papers. Katie and Patrick are coming home for Thanksgiving. Then Final Exams. And Christmas. Reading will take a back seat during all of that action!

  18. Been a while since I read a Connolly book, either John or Michael. I like them both

  19. I’m reading Andre Norton’s novel, Secret of the Lost Race, right now. So far its been fun.

Leave a Reply

