Revised: November Reading Plan

library shelvesI guess plans are made to be revised, just as rules are made to be broken, or so “they” say.

My plan WAS to finish up a couple of library books, then read short stories for the rest of the month, finishing up some several collections and getting started on some others.

Well… I did finish reading one of the library books, and am part way through the second one. Then yesterday two more library books came off my hold list and are ready for pickup. Plus I’m at the front of the line on three more, so those are about to pop from hold list to ready for pickup.

Yep, five, count ’em, five more library books in hand or about to be. Since it is my policy to read library books before anything else – that deadline, don’t you know – it looks like it will be a while before I get to those short stories.  * Sigh *

About Richard Robinson

Enjoying life in Portland, OR
This entry was posted in books, reading. Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Revised: November Reading Plan

  1. Jerry House says:

    Richard, you can read those library books faster if you just skip the vowels. May detract from the enjoyment, though.

  2. macavityabc says:

    That’s the problem with library holds, as I’ve found to my sorrow. Everything is ready at the same time. There must be some kind of law about it. I’ve tried to put fewer books on hold for that reason.

  3. My local doesn’t allow holds. If you check online and it’s in, they will hold it until you pick it up. One presumes you don’t wait an inordinate time to do so though.

  4. Richard says:

    Jerry, that explains how you get through so many books so fast.

  5. Richard says:

    Bill, yep, some kinda law.

  6. Richard says:

    Randy, doesn’t allow holds? So if a great new book is coming out, you can’t get on the list to chaco it out? That’s terrible. Most of the holds I do are just where I want it sent to the local branch for pickup, instead of going across the county someplace, or they have the book, but it’s checked out and I want on the list.

  7. Jeff Meyerson says:

    Rick, I just picked up that 900+ page collection of locked room stories (that George read in a week) at the library yesterday. I finished the new Michael Connelly this morning and I’m nearly done with a collection of Ben Bova stories.

  8. Jeff Meyerson says:

    Oh, I also got a collection of Westlake’s science fiction stories from the library and have the collection of Craig Johnson’s Longmire stories on the way, along with several other books.

  9. They will move books from another library for one to pick up. But not new books. One has to catch them in the library.

  10. Richard says:

    Jeff, the Current Reading post goes up Sunday night/Monday morning…. repeat this there, okay?

  11. Patti Abbott says:

    I’ve been waiting months for the Anthony Doerr book but I had three come in this week. Our library system is great. They will reserve as many as you want and get a book from anywhere in the state. One good thing about Michigan if the state legislature doesn’t screw that up too.

  12. I’ve been reading novels the past few days, but the Library called and said Otto Penzler’s THE BEST AMERICAN MYSTERY STORIES OF THE 19TH CENTURY arrived. So I picked it up yesterday and I’m reading it now. The College is closed for Veteran’s Day so I many get a little more reading done this week. But I’ll have a 100 research papers to correct over Thanksgiving…

  13. One reason why I tend to read the books I own before I use the library. I use it mainly for research purposes at this point. I use my own library for fiction reading because then it’s predictable about when and where those books will be available.

  14. Richard says:

    Randy, I guess every system is different.

  15. Richard says:

    Patti, our library system is great, and we can get any book in the three local county systems, but outside of that we need inter loan. Compared to the library system in SoCal, this one is wonderful. Getting things statewide sounds great!

  16. Richard says:

    George, I’ll bet you’ve already read a lot of those stories. How long are those research papers supposed to be, each? Because if they are 30-40 pages each, at 100 total, that’s a huge number of pages. I also wonder how often you just get cribbed net info dumps from your students. In the “good old days”, we at least had to go to reference books, histories and such and read a lot to glean a little. Not that I have much confidence in the writing ability of today’s college student.

  17. Richard says:

    Jeff, which Bova collection, and was it good?

Leave a Reply

