November Reading Plan

winter-reading

For some reason, November seems like a good month to have some kind of organized Reading Plan. Over on her fine blog The Little Red Reviewer, Andrea had a post about November reading plans, and I thought it was a grand idea.

I DO have a plan. I have two library books to finish (mysteries), then I plan to spend the rest of the month reading short stories.

I have stacks of short story collections here, some partially read, many more not, that I’d like to plow into and hopefully finish (well, some at least). It’s a mixed genre bag, general fic, SF, fantasy, mystery, pulp. If I can finish up even four or five of them it will be good. One is pulp tales set in San Francisco’s Chinatown. Another is a fat collection of Christmas mystery stories I want to finish so I can do and review early next month. Then there’s an anthology of early fantasy by Andre Norton, a collection of Poul Anderson SF stories,  some Sherlock Holmes pastiche stories, a set of connected stories telling a coming of age tale of a boy in Fifties Cuba, and there are some stories featuring The Saint. It goes on and on. Did I mention Father Brown stories? Keith Laumer?

Brother, I’ve got so many short stories around here! So November is short story month here. What’s your plan for November reading?

About Richard Robinson

Enjoying life in Portland, OR
This entry was posted in books, reading. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to November Reading Plan

  1. macavityabc says:

    I never have a plan, but I like yours. I’ll be looking forward to some reviews.

  2. Never have much of a plan. What I’m asked to review(those I accept anyway), sprinkle in some for my own enjoyment. That’s about it.

  3. Richard says:

    Bill, I realize I’ve been light on reviews here lately. I’m working on it.

    Randy, I guess there’s nothing wrong with a plan, and if I try to have one I may get some of the things read that need reading here.

  4. Redhead says:

    I make no promises to stick to my plan, mind you.

    When you are reading anthologies, do you read cover to cover, or jump around in the table of contents? And which Poul Anderson collection do you have?

  5. Jeff Meyerson says:

    I like your plan (obviously). What’s the name of that “puulp stories set in San Francisco’s Chinatown” book called? I’ve managed to get back to where I want to be (17 books a month = 200+ per year) in the last three months, so if I can manage it all of next year I’ll reach 200.

    As for short stories, last month I topped 100 stories for the first time in the three years I’ve been keeping track of stories read. My previous high was 80. I finished seven collections, making 40 for the year. Last year I read 41. Now I need to top the 727 stories read two years ago. I’m just about at 600.

  6. Richard says:

    Red, I have all six of the NESFA hardcover Short Works of Poul Anderson collections, plus some other overlapping collections. (Remember that Guest post I did for ya?) When I read collections, I go straight through front to back. If I come across a stinker, as occasionally happens, I just skip and go on.

  7. Jerry House says:

    I don’t have a real reading plan, but there are some books I’d like to read before year’s end: some Stephen King and Dean Koontz, a Lansdale collection, some Solar Pons stories by Basil Copper, a few novels by August Derleth…the list goes on and on. Like you, I’ve got a lot of anthologies and collections unread — they will be a good part of my reading for 2015. Of course, I will be waylaid by some sparkly, shiny books that will derail all my tentative plans. They always do.

  8. Richard says:

    Jeff, that pulp collection is Grottos of Chinatown, The Dorus Noel Stories by Arthur J. Burks, (Off-Trail Publications 2009 trade paper). Your reading, novel and short stories, is beyond my abilities, or even logical comprehension. I can’t imagine how you and George can read so fast, remember so much and find any time for anything else. Mind blowing. My plan is to try to finish a few collections that are under way, and maybe get a good ways into a new (as in not started yet) one.

  9. Richard says:

    Jerry, that “getting waylaid” thing is often my downfall, too. I just have a lot of story collections stacked up while I read other stuff, and want to get them cleaned up. Uh, I mean, get them read. I’m looking forward to your review of those Solar Pons stories.

  10. Unfortunately for me, November is a very work heavy month for school, and I also have an article due at the end of the month that I need to work on. So there will be less reading this month for me

Leave a Reply

