Current Reading, October 27 – November 2, 2014

 The images below are exactly the same as last time, but this is an update. The weather continues rainy and cool, though the leaves have yet to fall nor have we had a frost yet. Good weather for watching football, reading, walks.

Reading – Richard
Ghost of A ChanceThe_House_of_Silk Verge PracticeI finished reading House of Silk by Anthony Horowitz, a Sherlock Holmes novel, which I enjoyed. Review in the coming week. I’ve started A Ghost of A Chance by Bill Crider, which was a good Halloween season choice, since it starts with a body in a grave, but not the right one.

After that will be The Verge Practice by Barry Maitland. That will finish up the library books I have here, then I’ll begin reading the short stories mentioned in my November Reading Plan post.

Reading – Barbara
Barbara is reading Lynda La Plante’s The Red Dahlia, which is the second in that series. We have both been busy and our reading is down a little.

What are you reading?

About Richard Robinson

Enjoying life in Portland, OR
This entry was posted in Current Reading, mystery. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Current Reading, October 27 – November 2, 2014

  1. macavityabc says:

    I hope you like Ghost of a Chance!

  2. Jerry House says:

    It’s been another quiet week on the reading front, Richard. Joe Lansdale’s BLACK HAT JACK, P. Craig Russell’s adaptation of THE GRAVEYARD BOOK (Part One), and Stephen King’s collection FULL DARK, NO STARS. I’m currently reading King’s EVERYTHING’S EVENTUAL; after that, Craig Johnson’s new collection of Longmire stories.

    It’s been cold and windy and wet here. The leaves are piling up on the yard. They may stay there until spring unless I get my act together.

  3. Richard, I do want to read Barry Maitland. This is the third time I have come across his books in less than a week.

  4. Jeff Meyerson says:

    You mention two authors I’ve tried to read but – so far at least – have not been able to read, Lynda LaPlante and Barry Maitland. Don’t know why.

    No new arrivals this week and none expected until Art Scott’s book arrives. I do have 2-3 things I’ve asked for from PaperBackSwap.

    I read: STATION ELEVEN by Emily St. John Mandel, which I mentioned before. I liked it but did not find it totally satisfying, and it wouldn’t be on my award short list. A superflu wipes out over 99% of humanity. Fifteen years later a traveling troupe of actors and musicians roam the Great Lakes region performing. More satisfying, to me at least, was Archer Mayor’s latest Joe Gunther mystery, PROOF POSITIVE. A reclusive hoarder and PTSD sufferer since Vietnam is found dead, apparently a victim of his own collection falling on him, but since it is a mystery we know better. And why are two hitmen on the trail of photographs he took 40 years ago? As always the entry in this Vermont series had me turning the pages quickly to the satisfying end.

    I can’t remember where I read a recommendation for actor Clive Rosengren’s first mystery, MURDER UNSCRIPTED, but it got me to buy an ex-lib copy of this odd little trade paperback. It’s 110 pages of very tiny print about actor-turned-p.i. Eddie Collins in a modern Hollywood that almost seems like the 1940s, except for the cell phones. Collins became a p.i. when his acting career stalled and now is called on to investigate the murder of his ex-wife on the set of her latest movie. Frankly, I’m not sure what Michael Connelly saw in Eddie that made him blurb this one, as other than the behind the scenes look inside a movie studio this is quite ordinary.

    I think George Kelley might have been the one who recommended the sardonic but entertaining DEAR COMMITTEE MEMBERS by Julie Schumacher, a somewhat bleak look inside the English department of a not very successful college today. The book is a series of Letters of Recommendation by a tenured, if unhappy, professor. I liked it a lot.

    Lastly I finished Warren Adler’s collection, JACKSON HOLE – UNEASY EDEN, written while he was living there before he returned to New York. Let’s just say if you’re interested in Adler’s non mystery short stories you want to look for the ones set in Florida – THE SUNSET GANG and NEVER TOO LATE FOR LOVE – rather than this one.

    I’m currently in the middle of two books, Simon Brett’s wonderfully silly parody of the 1920s house party mystery, BLOTTO, TWINKS AND THE DEAD DOWAGER DUCHESS (second in the series) and Tanya Huff’s first Confederation (space opera) tale, VALOR’S CHOICE.

  5. I just finished reading the massive (and massively Good!) THE NEW ANNOTATED H. P. LOVECRAFT (nearly 1000 pages!). I usually don’t read Big Fat Books during a semester (work intrudes) but I couldn’t resist THE BLACK LIZARD BIG BOOK OF LOCKED-ROOM MYSTERIES and THE NEW ANNOTATED H. P. LOVECRAFT. But now I’m burned out from reading short stories so I’ll turn to some novels and non-fiction in the weeks ahead.

  6. Richard says:

    Bill, I almost finished it last night, and am really liking it a lot. The author seems to have a great sense of humor, though I admit Hack gets on my nerves a bit.

  7. Richard says:

    Jerry, a quiet reading week for both of us, then. I’ll pass on that Lansdale, though I do have the omnibus of his three Drive-In books on the shelf to read. I may have to try Craig Johnson’s new collection of Longmire stories.

    Well, you can always just call those piles of leaves “mulch” and let ’em rot, I guess, but you probably don’t want to do that…

  8. Richard says:

    Prashant, I read a review of this Maitland on another blog, and got this from the library. It’s not the first in the series, but was recommended. I’m told it has a bit of a slow start, though. I’ll probably start it today.

  9. Richard says:

    Jeff, Barbara enjoyed the first book by Lynda LaPlante and the Barry Maitland. I’ll be starting the Maitland today. I was into architecture in college, both working in an architect’s office and taking courses, so that aspect of the Maitland book will be of interest.

    The McGuiness book could be December or later, I hear. I bought the limited edition, so who knows when it will show up. I think you mentioned Station Eleven last week, but it doesn’t sound like one I want to read. Yet, maybe later. Archer Mayor must have been writing those things for several decades now. I’ve not tried one since the 90’s.

    I’m not at all sure I’d want to try a “silly parody” of the 1920s house party mystery, but if I did, that might be the one to try. I have read the Huff, and liked it. The sequel was less good but still enjoyable.

  10. Richard says:

    George, that’s almost 2000 pages in a week and a half. Ye gods, man, how do you do it? You and Jeff make the rest of us look like pikers when it comes to reading and finishing books. [hangs head in shame]. The Lovecraft isn’t up my alley, but sounds like – judging from your today blog post – a good one for horror readers.

  11. Jeff Meyerson says:

    Blotto is Bertie Wooster-like only dimmer. He only cares about cricket, horses and cars. His sister Twinks has all the brains of the family (and a lot of them), as well as being beautiful. They are devoted to each other. Actually the books are a lot of fun.

  12. Richard says:

    Hmmm, I’ll withhold an opinion until, or if, I read one. Somehow dimmer than Bertie isn’t too encouraging.

  13. It helped that the Bills were on their Bye Week. I watched a lot less football while reading those two thick volumes. It also helped that I’d already read 30% of the stories in THE BLACK LIZARD BIG BOOK OF LOCKED-ROOM STORIES. And THE NEW ANNOTATED H. P. LOVECRAFT had plenty of illustrations and photos in addition to the delightful annotations.

Leave a Reply

