New Arrivals, October 2014 #3

New Arrivals: I had a birthday, so naturally some new things came my way.

From good friend Dave Lewis comes a DVD and a comic strip collection:
The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes has all 39 episodes of the 1954 television series, starring Ronald Howard as Holmes, Howard Marion-Crawford as Watson and Archie Duncan as Lestrade. It’s 19 hours of Holmesish entertainment. The 4 DVD set also includes 4 films: Murder At The Baskervilles (1937) with Arthur Wontner as Holmes, which is really more a rewrite of “The Silver Blaze” than the Hound story, The Sign of the Four, (1932, with Wontner again), The Triumph of Sherlock Holmes (1935, with Wontner yet again), and the oft-seen The Woman in Green (Rathbone / Bruce) from 1945. I’ll have a lot of fun watching this.

Mickey Spillane’s Mike Hammer – The Comic Strip with “The Sudden Trap” and Other Stories. Introduction by Max Alan Collins.

From family came:
Fables Volume 19 – Snow White by Bill Willingham and Mark Buckingham [Vertigo Comics, 2013 comic-sized trade paper, gift] – fantasy comic. I love Fables, and read every collection as I get them. I’m a few behind, but this is the next for me and I’ll gobble it right up.

Through The Seasons With Dulcy by Ted Mahar [Carpe Diem Press 2014 hardcover, gift] – gardening. I loved Dulcy Mahar’s gardening columns in The Oregonian and the collection of them that came out a year ago. This is the brand new, just out collection. A must for Northwest gardeners!

I also got new lightweight Panasonic headphones and an iPod case. Some may think iPods are already outmoded, but I use and enjoy mine a lot.

Any comments on these books or this author? Have you read any of these?

About Richard Robinson

Enjoying life in Portland, OR
This entry was posted in gardening, graphic novel, mystery, New Arrivals. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to New Arrivals, October 2014 #3

  1. I’ve seen the Sherlock Holmes series. That Mickey Spillane looks good. Looks like you really scored big with your Birthday presents!

  2. I don’t know anything about “Fables.” Going to have to have a look.

  3. Jeff Meyerson says:

    Nice. Haven’t seen or read any (other than the Rathbone movie) but nice presents.

  4. Evan Lewis says:

    That Dave Lewis guy appears to have good taste. And the gardening book looks like something I should get for the missus.

  5. Jerry House says:

    Richard, you made out big time for your birthday (your twenty-ninth, wasn’t it?). Like you, I’m a big fan of Fables. I have several of the collections coming someday from the library. l have read the Mike Hammer comics and enjoyed them. I used to watch that Sherlock Holmes series on public television; great fun! About the gardening book, neither I nor my black thumb can comment.

  6. Richard says:

    Evan, the Other Lewis is indeed a terrific guy, and generous too. The Hammer was – okay, both items – were a surprise. I’m sure your spouse would like the second Dulcy book.

  7. Richard says:

    Jerry, I did make out, and not my 29th but my 39th, just like Jack Benny. I’ve bought all the Fables collections as they have come out, except the most recent couple, which I haven’t gotten my hands on yet. Gardening is only a matter of soil, plant and water. They grow by themselves.

  8. Richard says:

    Jeff, yep, good stuff indeed. I’ll be watching the DVD over time on rainy afternoons.

  9. Richard says:

    Charles, you MUST read Fables in order! Start with the first one.

  10. The Hammer and the Holmes both look interesting. Like Jerry, my thumb is as black as they come. I’m terrible with plants.

Leave a Reply

