Current Reading, October 20-26, 2014

Rain, wind, we had it all. Thankfully the biggest part of the yard work is done until after frost. It’s been good reading weather!

Reading – Richard
Ghost of A ChanceThe_House_of_Silk Verge PracticeI continue to get books from the library. Another Sheriff Dan Rhodes by Bill Crider, A Ghost of A Chance is here, but I haven’t started it yet, other books are in line before it. I’m now reading House of Silk by Anthony Horowitz, a Sherlock Holmes novel which is, at about the halfway mark, pretty dark but good reading.

Next up is The Verge Practice by Barry Maitland, highly recommended by Yvette Banek at her blog In So Many Words. Then I’ll read that Crider.

All these library books coming in means I’m not getting anything of my own read, except for the occasional short story from one of the half dozen collections I’m working on. Plus some new things came Sunday which I’ll tell you about in a couple of days.

Reading – Barbara
Barbara kept plugging away at The Remains of An Alter, (see last week’s post) until about page 150, then gave it up. So neither of us could finish it. Not an author we could recommend. She followed that with another Reacher, Worth Dying For. Now she’s reading The Verge Practice, and then will start Lynda La Plante’s The Red Dahlia, which is the second in that series.

What are you reading?

About Richard Robinson

Enjoying life in Portland, OR
This entry was posted in Current Reading, mystery. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Current Reading, October 20-26, 2014

  1. Jerry House says:

    Richard, this past week I read August Derleth’s THE SHIELD OF THE VALIANT, a Sac Prairie novel taking place in the years just before World War II. I also managed to get hold of a copy of Derleth’s AMERICAN REGIONAL LITERATURE, notes for a course he taught at the University of Wisconsin in 1940 — not published in book form, just xeroxed copies of Derleth’s type-written pages. It’s also been a Neil Gaiman week: a number of graphic novels by Gaiman and others about characters from the Sandman series. And last but not least, I read Mike Resnick’s early Edgar Rice Burroughs pastiche GODDESS OF GANYMEDE; slam-bang action sure to please the 13 year old in all of us.

    I’m sorry about your birthday dinner fiasco, but I’m taking a lesson from it for my birthday this week — no roast! I’ll just send out for a pizza or Chinese food. Here’s to better weather and better meals for you throughout the coming year.

  2. Richard says:

    Jerry, I’m getting more and more intrigued by your Derleth reading, but I’m so busy with other things I’ll not try one just yet. Those notes sound like an interesting accompaniment to the novels. The Resnick sounds very familiar, but I don’t see it in my Books Read list, so it may have slipped by me. Since I still have a lot of the 13 year old in me, I may have to try it! The roast things would have been okay if the power hadn’t gone off. Next year I’ll have pancakes!

  3. They look like good ones. I’m at about the 60% mark of Saltation by Sharon Lee and Steve Miller. I’m not liking it as much as I liked the previous novel featuring Theo Waitley, but as I like her character I’m enjoying it enough to keep reading.

  4. Jeff Meyerson says:

    What with the trip to Vegas etc. my reading was down, but this month will definitely be atop the list for most short stories read. Both books I finished were collections, first Robert Silverberg’s 9th (and final) book in his Collected Stories – THE MILLENIUM EXPRESS, 1995-2009 (an ebook) and then Ron Carlson’s THE EDEN HOTEL (library), which I enjoyed a lot. I prefer the Silverberg stories from the 1950s through 1970s, but I’m glad I read it.

    No new books here. I’m reading stories in EQMM & AHMM plus a couple of other collections (Warren Adler and Charlotte Armstrong), plus Emily St/ John Mandel’s STATION ELEVEN, a pre- and post-Apocalypse novel featuring a nomadic band of actors roaming the Great Lakes 15 years after a flu wiped out most of humanity.

    Just got the newest Archer Mayor and Lauren Beukes books from the library and the new Michael Connelly is on the way.

  5. Richard says:

    Carl, I’ve found that I like some of the Lee and Miller books / characters / stories better than others, but overall it’s a fascinating universe. I have a lot of them, mostly in those thick omnibus volumes, left to read.

  6. I’m reading a spy novel right now. In the “on-deck circle” is THE SECRET HISTORY OF WONDER WOMAN.

  7. The house of silk is a great title.

  8. Richard says:

    George, I haven’t read a spy novel in a while, I guess I just got burned out.

  9. Richard says:

    Charles. yes it is. The book is pretty grim, though, but I’m hoping it will lighten up a little soon.

  10. Patti Abbott says:

    A MAN CALLED OVE, Frederik Backman, a Swedish book about a grumpy old man. And LOVE ME BACK by Merrit Tierce. Both from library.

  11. I’ve seen “The House of Silk” at the bookstore and always wondered, should I get it, should I wait…I look forward to your review, maybe then I’ll make up my mind.
    I’m reading “House of Small Shadows” by Adam Nevill for Carl’s R.I.P. challenge – as if I really need an excuse for a good creepy book.

  12. Richard says:

    Jeff, hope it was a good Vegas trip. You read lots of short stories. I need to focus on them, I have SO MANY books of them unread, and several partially read. Focus, Rick, focus!

    I gave up on the Silverberg stories, I just don’t like his stuff much. STATION ELEVEN has either great or awful timing, depending on readers wanting epidemic novels or avoiding same. Also Scalzi’s LOCK IN.

  13. Richard says:

    Patti, I don’t need to read about grumpy old men, I am one. Or so I’m told…

  14. Richard says:

    Delia, it got kinda dark in the middle, but I’m at the 2/3 point and liking it.

  15. Cap'n Bob says:

    I just finished John D. MacDonald’s THE GIRL, THE GOLD WATCH, AND EVERYTHING. My reaction is: meh. It has its moments, but ultimately I didn’t care for it much.

  16. Richard says:

    Bob, as I recall, it’s a favorite of Bill Crider. I admit to not having read it.

Leave a Reply

