Current Reading, October 13 – 19, 2014

We decided to revise some things in the garden, old shrubs out and moving things around, and we’re having 5 yd. (135 cubic feet) of soil amendments delivered. Of course it’s supposed to rain that day, but we have tarps to cover it until our garden-landscape fellow comes a couple days later, when it’s also supposed to rain.

Reading
Well Read, Then Dead
I decided to try a book mentioned by Bill Crider on his blog. Well Read, Then Dead is the first of a new series by Terrie Farley Moran. It’s a cozy set in Florida, the protagonist and her best friend run a bookstore-café named Read ‘Em and Eat. Yes, plenty of cutsey in this one, along with lots of “characters”, a heroine who persists in making bad decisions and incorrect guesses and doing foolish things. Of course it all works out fine. Lots of food talk and a recipe in the back. This is the type of cozy that puts me off reading them, though I’ll open a book by Christie, Sayers, Allingham, Aires, or any of the classic Brits in a heartbeat. If this sounds like fun, go for it. If not, avoid.

Murder Most FowlDeath on the MoveSpeaking of Bill Crider – and we were – I figured it’s high time I read a few more of his books, especially some older Dan Rhodes I’d missed. So I got these from the library and spent some enjoyable hours with Rhodes and the folks in Blacklin County.

Barbara  finished Above Suspicion by Lynda La Plante, and says she liked it and will read the next in the series. She is also taking a try at The Remains of An Alter, Phil Rickman’s 8th Merrily Watkins novel that I didn’t finish. She’s having the same problems with it that I had, but sometimes she’s more stubborn about finishing books than I am. Also, she has another Reacher in the wings.

What are you reading?

About Richard Robinson

Enjoying life in Portland, OR
This entry was posted in Current Reading, mystery. Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Current Reading, October 13 – 19, 2014

  1. Evan Lewis says:

    Mr. Bill Crider! My, what good taste you have.

  2. Richard, I like the covers of both WELL READ, THEN DEAD and MURDER MOST FOWL, the latter so apt for the title. I haven’t read anything by Bill Crider yet and hope to get acquainted with his Dan Rhodes series. I’m currently reading a few short stories by Kate Chopin.

  3. Patti Abbott says:

    THE GOOD GIRL by Mary Kubick. Not sure I will finish it. Picked up and put down about six books this week. STATION ELEVEN reminded me too much of what was going on in Africa. The new Mcewan was too didactic.

  4. macavityabc says:

    Thanks for the kind words. As I always say, the sheriff and I need all the help we can get. I finished the new Jack Reacher book, PERSONAL, last night. Not sure what I’ll pick up today.

  5. Jerry House says:

    Richard, it’s been a busy week at home, so not much reading. I finished MASTER SEA STORIES, a collection of…yup, you guessed it. An older collection, this one was a mixed bag with a several of the stories written in the late nineteenth century. A few took place in the Sargasso Sea, one cute one about a sailor who taught his cat to steal the captain’s cigar, and another based on the “Marie Celeste.”

    Beyond that, I read three short books published by Donald M. Grant: AS IT IS WRITTEN, a novella mistakenly published as by Clark Ashton Smith and only later discovered to be by De Lysle Ferree Cass, THE GENERAL’S WIFE, a novella excised before publication from Peter Straub’s FLOATING DRAGON, and A VISION OF DOOM, a collection of poems by Ambrose Bierce.

    Planned reading has gone by the wayside because I started a large novel by August Derleth, THE SHIELD OF THE VALIANT, a book in his Sac Prairie saga. It’s enjoyable to revisit some of his characters from other books. After that, my local library is holding Joe Lansdale’s BLACK HAT JACK for me.

    Fall has hit here with a vengeance. I finally had to turn the heat on in the house. Brrrr.

  6. As soon as I calculate about 150 MID-TERM grades, I start reading for pleasure again. I’m in the mood for something pulpy.

  7. I need to read a bit more Crider

  8. Richard says:

    Bill, I really enjoyed the Dan Rhodes books! Not that it’s any surprise, I’ve read several in the past, it’s just that I tend to forget, with time, what a fine assemblage of character, place, humor and crime they are. I think that may be an alternate (or UK?) cover for Murder On The Move, I couldn’t find a decent image of the U.S. edition I got.

  9. Richard says:

    Evan, of course I do. I also read Nebel.

  10. Richard says:

    Prashant, I thi k you might like the Crider books, they’re well written, intelligent and fun.

  11. Richard says:

    Patti, that’s a lot of books to put back down, especially in a week. Sounds like you may be feeling picky or searching for what you’re in the mood for as the season changes. Why don’t you try something by Ross Mcdonald?

  12. Jeff Meyerson says:

    MURDER MOST FOWL is one of my favorite covers too. Of course, I’ve read all the Sheriff Rhodes books as well as many, many other Crider titles, though I still have a few unread. (Just checked – current total read, 60.)

  13. Richard says:

    Jeff, I have read several books of Mr. Crider’s, including a western or two, but have a ways to go before I’ll have read all of them.

  14. Jeff Meyerson says:

    And let’s not forget his pseudonymous work, or the juveniles. The man is a veritable Renaissance man for our time!

  15. Jeff Meyerson says:

    I have to agree with you on the cozies, by the way. Cutesy titles like this are mildly amusing but they also turn me off from ever reading the books.

    I’m currently reading (and nearly finished with) the final (IX) volume of Robert Silverberg’s collected stories.

  16. Yvette says:

    MURDER MOST FOWL – gotta’ love that title. Though I’ve not read any of the books mentioned in your post, I did read PERSONAL by Lee Child and liked it very much. I’m a big Reacher fan too.

    Lately I’ve been reading up a storm. Currently in the middle of PAW AND ORDER by Spencer Quinn. Having read every book in this engaging series, I’d say this is definitely one of the best. Though the last one wins honors for best of the best. I guess some might label these books as cozies, but some would mostly be wrong. 🙂

  17. tracybham says:

    I want to read some Dan Rhodes mysteries. I have the first in the series, then I will go from there.

    Currently reading the first Colin Cotterill book … The Coroner’s Lunch.

  18. Richard says:

    Tracy, that Cotterill is a good one. I haven’t found the first Rhodes at either of the library systems here, so I just read what I can of the series, but they are a lot of fun.

Leave a Reply

