Current Reading, September 29 – October 5, 2014

It’s been much hotter here than is usual for early October, hitting 86 today. We’re ready for real Fall. While in recovery mode from the 2,850 page fantasy quartet I read, I wanted something lighter. The first two I read were new arrivals just a week or two ago.

maze1

Murder in the Maze, published by Coachwhip Publications

Reading
I finished The Phantom: The Ghost Who Walks as by Lee Falk but written by Basil Copper. It was just okay, not great, but is the lead-in to the rest of the series, telling the origin story of the Phantom through the twenty-first one. I’ll read the next book in the series, The Slave Market of Mucar (1972) one of these days. I also finished the graphic novel Astro City – Through Open Doors by Kurt Busiek which I enjoyed, as I do all of the Astro City books. I wouldn’t mind seeing novelizations of this series.

I just finished Murder in the Maze by Golden Age author J.J. Connington (the pseudonym of the distinguished Scottish chemistry professor Alfred Walter Stewart), a classic country house mystery originally published in 1927. I had a yen for a classic British mystery and this fit the bill. I became aware of this while reading the fine The Passing Tramp blog. The novel is Connington’s third mystery, but the first with Sir Clinton Driffield as detective. The book was highly praised at the time and considered in following years as one of the best country house mysteries of the 1920s. Coachwhip Publications has published three of the Driffield novels (so far?).

Next up? Not sure. I have a Jeffery Siger novel coming from the library and just got another English mystery, this one by Leo Bruce. Choices, choices.

Barbara read Gone Tomorrow by Lee Child and Bill Pronzini’s Bones. She’s just started Final Notice by Jonathan Valin. She’s read nearly twice as many books so far this year as last, but says she’s not getting as much quilt work in.

About Richard Robinson

Enjoying life in Portland, OR
This entry was posted in Current Reading. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Current Reading, September 29 – October 5, 2014

  1. Patti Abbott says:

    Reading slowly lately. My eyes have trouble in the fall with allergies. Trying to finish SwEET TOOTH and MEMBER OF THE WEDDING.

  2. Jeff Meyerson says:

    I have that Siger at hand but since I just read #4 I’m waiting to read the fifth. I find myself with a whole lot of short story collections on hand at the same time, so I’m reading at least four collections now, one of them the second F & SF collection and the rest straight fiction. And that doesn’t even count the half dozen collections I own that are waiting to be read.

    New Arrivals: from PaperbackSwap one new paperback, another Ed Gorman western – RIDE INTO YESTERDAY, which was recently reviewed by James Reasoner. The other (from Amazon, a pre-order) was a large trade paperback of The Getaway Car: A Donald Westlake Nonfiction Miscellany. I’m looking forward to it.

    Read last week: from the library, Molly Antopol’s excellent collection THE UNAMERICANS: Stories, and the next in Lee Goldberg’s adaptations of the Monk television series, MR> MONK ON PATROL. Two of mine: the latest in Andrea Camilleri’s Insp. Salvo Montalbano series set in Sicily, ANGELICA’S SMILE and a non-Maigret by Simenon, THE FAMILY LIE.

    There were other new arrivals – a couple of CDs and a bunch of DVDs from England, including the latest series of Jonathan Creek mysteries.

  3. Jerry House says:

    I read Russell Kirk’s collection WATCHERS AT THE STRAIT GATE; I don’t care much for his political views but his stories are first-rate. I devoured Fritz Leiber’s GUMMITCH AND FRIENDS, a collection of his cat stories, including several of my all-time favorites: “Space-Time for Springers” and “Kreativity for Kats.” I also read Robert E. Howard’s SHE DEVIL and Charles Angoff’s ADVENTURES IN HEAVEN.

    I’m almost finished with Edwin Lester Arnold’s THE STORY OF ULLA AND OTHER TALES — about forty pages left to read. This is a general collection of stories by the man who wrote GULLIVER OF MARS. I got the book from Interlibrary Loan; it’s the 1895 edition (which is perhaps the only edition) and the spine is cracked so I have been very careful in handling it. When I requested it I didn’t think I would get it but on occasion ILL has come through with some fairly old books (once, to my surprise, they sent me a first edition Charles Dickens) so I figured I’d give it a shot.

    Feeling cocky, at the same time I requested DANCING IMPS OF THE WINE (1880) by “Angelo” and TEN OF US (1887) by Sigmund Bowman Alexander, and — sonofagun! — if ILL didn’t come through with both this week. Only problem is that they sent both books on microfilm! Now I have to find a microfilm reader (I think there’s one about 20 miles from me) and block out some specific time to read these. Ah, Richard, the problems of a bibliophile…

    I’m also working my way through two more Robert E. Howard collections and M. P. Shiel’s XELUCHA. On tap is HORRORSTOR (with an umlaut over the third “o”), a novel about deadly doings at an Ohio IKEA wannabe.

  4. I’m finishing up THE IRON DRUID series this week. There’s a stack of Library books that are also due in a week’s time so I’ll have to tackle them. It seems like I’m always playing Catch-Up!

  5. Richard says:

    Patti, how are you liking Member of the Wedding? I’ve read mixed reviews.

  6. Richard says:

    Jeff, you are so busy getting books from here and there, and reading so much. I seem to just slog along, I think about 70 books so far this year and it’s October.

  7. Jeff Meyerson says:

    I’ve really picked up the pace the last couple of months, though compared to some here I’m not doing anything special. One book every other day would get me close to where I want to be – 200 books a year. Maybe next year. The last time I was over 200 was 2002 (206) and I was at 191 in 2003.

  8. Richard says:

    Jeff, my goal, as you may remember from my saying it in APA and here, is always two books per week for 104 total. I made over that last year, but may fall short this year.

  9. Richard says:

    Jerry, I don’t believe I’ve ever read that Leiber collection. I’ll have to see if the library has it. [just checked, they don’t] Speaking of which, that’s amazing that you could get those books through LII, though I’d not want a book on microfilm. I’ve had to read old records in that format, mostly long forms and such, and the machine was a pain in the next to use and the text hard to read. I guess I didn’t know there were so many RHH collections. I have a few, but you seem to read one or two every week or so.

  10. Richard says:

    George, yes at times reading seems like a catch-up activity. Certainly, there are always more books to read than the time to read them. I’ll expect to see a review of the Iron Druid trilogy on your blog, though it doesn’t interest me all that much, and the covers are terrible.

Leave a Reply

