New Arrivals and Current Reading, September 15 – 21, 2014

New Arrivals
I’m on a roll, I guess, nothing new again. After a few days with cooler temperatures, we’re back in the mid-high 80s and beyond. No rain in the forecast for weeks yet, making this the driest late Summer-early Fall ever on record.

Barbara went to San Diego for a few days to visit daughter and grand daughters while I held the fort here. The glasses finally came and they are an improvement, but then they would have to be.

Current Reading

Waiting for glasses I tried an e-book which I could make large. I had picked up a $1 cheap e-copy of On Basilisk Station by David Weber, which I’d been planning to re-read anyway, and it went pretty well. I finished that and now I’m back to Inheritance, the 4th volume of the Eragon books.

Barbara finished World of Trouble by Ben H. Winters, and is now reading Gone Tomorrow by Lee Child. On her trop she wanted to take a paperback so I suggested one of Jonathan Valin’s books. She picked The Lime Pit but she said she only read a little of it on the plane.

What new books did you get, and what have you been reading?

About Richard Robinson

Enjoying life in Portland, OR
This entry was posted in Current Reading, fantasy, mystery, New Arrivals, science fiction. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to New Arrivals and Current Reading, September 15 – 21, 2014

  1. Jeff Meyerson says:

    No new books here either.

    It was mostly a mystery reading week for me, other than short stories from THE VERY BEST OF FANTASY & SCIENCE FICTION: 60th Anniversary Edition. Should finish it this week.

    I read THE BARBED-WIRE KISS, Wallace Stroby’s first book. I’ve liked his later books a lot but the library didn’t have this so got it from PaperbackSwap. Harry Rane is a former New Jersey cop whose wife died, then he got shot. Now he’s trying to help out a friend in trouble and ends up in some trouble himself. Stroby is from New Jersey and clearly knows the state well. I’m looking for the sequel. Another of my own books (I bought an ex-lib copy for $4-5 since the library didn’t get it) was Jonathon King’s latest (as far as I know) Max Freeman book, MIDNIGHT GUARDIANS,. Freeman is another ex-cop, from Philadelphia, who is working as a p.i. in Florida and living in an isolated shack in the Everglades. I liked the earlier books in the series a lot more.

    From the library I read the (sadly) very disappointing DARKNESS, DARKNESS, the final Charlie Resnick book by John Harvey. What was wrong with it? For me, virtually everything except Charlie himself. But you are going to read it so perhaps I should let you make up your own mind without trying to influence you. I’ll give my reasons when you finish it.

    Not a disappointment, however, was Lawrence Block’s latest (self-published) Bernie Rhodenbarr book, THE BURGLAR WHO COUNTED THE SPOONS, which I was lucky enough to get from PaperbackSwap. There is a lot of entertainment to be had here and I learned a few things (like the real author of “A Visit From St. Nicholas”). Recommended.

    Otherwise I’ve been having trouble getting interested in library books at hand and have returned quite a few of them, unread.

  2. Richard says:

    Jeff, I sad to read the last Resnick was a disappointment. Now I’m wishing I gotten it from the library instead of buying it. I’ll get to it eventually, but I have a previous one to read first. Maybe I wish I liked Block more, but his stuff has turned me off, as has his personality.

  3. Jerry House says:

    This past week I read the three Phantom novels by Basil Copper for Friday’s Forgotten Books. I seemed to have shunned anything heavy on text for the rest of the week: two children’s books by Roger Zelazny (WAY UP HIGH and HERE THERE BE DRAGONS), a art retrospective (THE PAPERBACK ART OF JAMES AVATI), and Jules Feiffer’s new graphic novel (KILL MY MOTHER, Feiffer’s take on noir). The majority of my week was spent with Bill Mauldin’s WILLIE AND JOE: THE WWII YEARS, a massive (over 700 pages!) collection of all known Mauldin cartoons from 1940-1945, a book I’d recommend to anyone. Mauldin’s portrayal of war-weary soldiers slogging through WWII is at once funny and touching. There’s a reason these guys were called the “Greatest Generation” and Mauldin nailed it.

    I currently dividing my reading between August Derleth’s history THE WISCONSIN: RIVER OF A THOUSAND ISLES and Basil Copper’s THE FURTHER ADVENTURES OF SOLAR PONS, a collection continuing the adventures of Derleth’s Sherlock Holmes pastiche character.

    Here’s hoping the new glasses will make your life easier.

  4. Richard says:

    Jerry, hope you got my email with the mailing address. I’m looking forward to those Phantom books.

    That Mauldin book sounds like a must have for me. I fear it may be expensive, but no matter, I’ll be ordering it. I have Copper’s Pons books in a two volume slipcased hardcover set I bought a long time ago. I really like them. I think he did a great job of continuing Derlith’s Pons stories.

    So far the new glasses are working pretty well, it’s so nice to be able to READ again!

  5. Jerry House says:

    Richard, the Mauldin is a 2011 release from Fantagraphics Books. The cover price of the softcover (8″ x 10″) is $39.99 and is worth every penny, IMHO.. (Somehow I lucked onto my copy from a thrift store for 35 cents — my best thrift store buy in a long time! **gloat! gloat**)

    I dug out the Phantoms , wrapped them up, and will be mailing them tomorrow. I hope you enjoy them.

  6. I’m reading THE FAR PAVILIONS with more AMAZON boxes waiting to be opened. They arrived while we were in New Mexico visiting Patrick.

  7. Patti Abbott says:

    Yes, the doldrums with reading for me. Pick them up and put them down. Need a surefire book for my trip this week.

  8. I do remember being impressed with THE LIME PIT, which iread more or less when it came out I think.

  9. Richard says:

    George, I read The Far Pavilians so long ago (when it was a best seller in HB) that I’ve forgotten most of it, but I think I liked it.

  10. Richard says:

    Sergio, me, too, I may re-read it when she is finished or perhaps Day of Wrath.

  11. Richard says:

    Thanks again, Jerry!

  12. I’ve read a few webers and enjoyed them.

Leave a Reply

