New Arrivals and Current Reading, September 8 – 14, 2014

New Arrivals
Once again, nothing. The hot weather continues, several days in the 90s, very windy, humidity in the low teens and we have had zero rain since early July. We’re parched! Many fires burning, one just 22 miles east of us. The air is full of smoke.

world of troubleI take my glasses in tomorrow (Monday afternoon) to have yet another set of lenses installed, will be without glasses for a 2-3 days (again), by Friday I hope, so no reading until then.

Current Reading
I’m working my way through the 4th volume of the Eragon books. It’s 850 pages, I’m at the 240 mark.

Barbara is reading World of Trouble by Ben H. Winters, the third of his The Last Policeman trilogy. She says “the astroid will hit soon”.

What new books did you get, and what have you been reading?

About Richard Robinson

Enjoying life in Portland, OR
This entry was posted in Current Reading, mystery, New Arrivals. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to New Arrivals and Current Reading, September 8 – 14, 2014

  1. I managed to miss the middle book of the Winters trilogy, but liked the other two.

  2. Jeff Meyerson says:

    I read the Winters (not Williams) this week too. I guess it was inevitable how the series ended, but it wasn’t happy. Still, I’d recommend the trilogy as well written and real mysteries. First, however, I read a good first mystery set in Brooklyn, Julia Dahl’s INVISIBLE CITY. Her protagonist is a 22 year old reporter who is sent to cover the discovery of a murdered woman near the (notorious) Gowanus Canal, who turns out to be a member of the reclusive Hasidic Jewish community of Borough Park. Her mother, who abandoned her shortly after birth, was also from that community and she is clearly setting this up for future books. Next I read BARK, Lorrie Moore’s latest collection of short stories. I like Moore’s writing, though I’d recommend her earlier BIRDS OF AMERICA.

    Next was the latest in Margaret Maron’s excellent Deborah Knott series, DESIGNATED DAUGHTERS, which has even more of the judge’s family than usual, when her father’s sister is murdered in a hospice even though her death is imminent. Lastly I read the highly recommended collection of stories, REASONS TO LIVE by Amy Hempel. While I recognize her fine writing I have to admit her writing just did not appeal to me all that much and I won’t be reading her other collections.

    No new arrivals this week.

  3. I’ve been busy reading Kevin Hearne’s IRON DRUID series. It’s a silly and fun series. Our weather is nice and cool: 60s during the day, low 50s at night. Just the way I like it!

  4. Jeff Meyerson says:

    I agree, George. It’s great here too – around 70, with a nice breeze and low humidity.

  5. Never read the Eagon books. I guess you must like them given that you are on #4

  6. Richard says:

    Randy, Barbara says “that must have made it confusing”.

  7. Richard says:

    Jeff, thanks for acting the wrong name, I corrected it. I started Birds of America but didn’t get far. I don’t remember why now, maybe just got distracted, or maybe wasn’t enjoying it. As said above, I’m going into another no glasses period, so no reading for a few days.

  8. Richard says:

    Charles, I am enjoying them, though I think the 3rd and 4th volumes could have used editing down. I am usually loath to leave a set of books unfinished if I like it at all.

  9. Patti Abbott says:

    Reading TO RISE AGAIN AT A DECENT HOUR (Joshua Ferris) after finishing BROKEN HARBOR, which was brilliant. Also reading a book, ROGUES, a collection of stories put together by George Martin, and Ron Carlson’s book on writing.
    BIRDS is my favorite Lorrie Moore. Haven’t liked the recent ones as much.
    I liked the first Winters book a lot but probably will not finish the trilogy.

  10. Jeff Meyerson says:

    Patti, Jackie is with you on not finishing the Winters trilogy, especially after I told her it did not have the ending she was hoping for. But I told her, you knew an asteroid was going to hit the Earth, right? So how can you expect a happy ending?

    I have the first Tana French book but still haven’t started it. Some day.

  11. Richard says:

    Patti, you read some terrific books.

  12. Richard says:

    Jeff, I have so many “someday” books here it’s overwhelming.

  13. Cap'n Bob says:

    The Battle For Leyte Gulf and a Western that’s the beginning of a series. I’d mention the title and author if I could remember them.

Leave a Reply

