New Arrivals and Current Reading, September 1 – 7, 2014

New Arrivals
No books, CDs, etc. Nada. The new refrigerator and freezer come sometime Monday, that’s it. It’s continued quite hot here, and I’ve been under the weather too, including my eyes bothering me a lot. Another new pair of glasses are on the way in a week or two.

Current Reading
I finished the Louise Penny The Long Way Home. I also read the fourth Jeffrey Siger Inspector Kaldis book, Target: Tinos which I thought was the weakest of the series. I understand the next one, Mykonos After Midnight is better. Generally, it’s a series I like.

Barbara just finished Bad Luck and Trouble and Nothing to Lose by Lee Child so she’s catching up on the Reacher series. She’s now reading Louise Penny’s newest, The Long Way Home.

What new books did you get, and what have you been reading?

About Richard Robinson

Enjoying life in Portland, OR
This entry was posted in Adventure, Classical Music, Current Reading, mystery, New Arrivals. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to New Arrivals and Current Reading, September 1 – 7, 2014

  1. J. Glee says:

    Nothing? Gee, you always have something. Sorry you’re still feeling lousy.

  2. Jeff Meyerson says:

    No new books this week, though I did pile up a bunch of new stuff from the library – Child, Maron, Harvey, etc. We also got our second Kindle (sorry, Rick), a Paperwhite that Jackie wanted.

    Books read: Anya Ulinich’s (semi-autobiographical?) graphicnovel, LENA FINKLE’S MAGIC BARREL; John Scalzi’s excellent LOCK IN, which is basically a mystery set in the future; and the new Jack Reacher books by Lee Child, PERSONAL, which wasn’t bad but not nearly as good (IMHO) as the last one. One big problem is, the young woman he mentors is pretty uninteresting as a character.

    If you read the Scalzi, and you should, you should firstr read the prequel story setting up the premise – Unlocked.

    Also reading short stories by Lorrie Moore, Warren Adler and Jeffery Deaver.

  3. Patrick has a Paper White Kindle, too. He loves it. I just finished THE SUPERNATURAL ENHANCEMENTS. And, shockingly, the Buffalo Bills won in Chicago for the first time. All of Western NY is on a natural high this week!

  4. I started Nos4atu. Pretty good so far.

  5. Patti Abbott says:

    Still reading BROKEN HARBOR by French. Phil is reading THE BOTTOMS, which I have been pushing on him for years. Now I have to read SWEET TOOTH in recompense. Also have to read A MEMBER OF THE WEDDING for my book club.

  6. Richard says:

    J, I have been buying a lot less. Currently, unless it’s been on pre-order, I either get it from the library or skip it. I have far too many unread books here to keep buying, except for a very few authors I always buy: William Kent Krueger, Louise Penny, a few others.

  7. Richard says:

    Jeff, the library is saving us both a lot of money these days. Congratulations on that new Kindle, long may it serve you. As fa as the Scalzi is considered, I’m still not sure. The idea of Lock In Syndrome scares the hell out of me, I’m not sure I could read about it. I may see how long the library hold list is… Thanks for the link to his prequel. I’d seen it on his website, but didn’t go there.

    Barbara is reading her way through the Reacher books, I have yet to try one. The only one of those last authors you mention I know is Deaver. Barbara likes his novels.

  8. Richard says:

    George, see my comment to your yesterday post on that great Bills victory.

    You super techie types love your electronic book readers and such. I’ll stick with the classic. That book title sounds like something the busty models have.

  9. Richard says:

    Charles, I hope to see a review on your blog.

  10. Richard says:

    Patti, I read your comment to Barbara, and asked if she wanted to read each others’ recommendations. She already does some of that, but I rarely read the dark serial killer novels she likes. I doubt we’ll do it.

  11. Jeff Meyerson says:

    Sorry to hear Siger #4 isn’t so good. I have it waiting for after I finish the library books that can’t be renewed.

  12. Richard says:

    Jeff, it’s not bad, just not as good as the others. Barbara liked #5 a lot.

Leave a Reply

