New Arrivals and Current Reading, August 25 – 31, 2014

New ArrivalsThe Long Way Home
Another pre-order I’ve been eagerly anticipating arrived Tuesday, plus I picked up some classical music.

The Long Way Home by Louise Penny [Minotaur Books August 2014, purchased new] – mystery novel. The latest Chief Inspector Gamache novel. I can’t overstate how much I love these!

Holst Cotwolds Symphony, Walt Whitman Overture  Indra, Japanese Suite, A Winter Idyll by Ulster Orchestra, JoAnn Falletta [Naxos 2012 CD 8.572914, purchased new] – classical, English symphonic. I already have another recording of the Cotswolds Symphony, but wanted the other pieces on this one.

Moniuszko Overatures – The Haunted Manor, Paria, Halka, The Fairy Tale Warsaw Philharmonic Orchestra, Antoni Wit [Naxos 2014 CD 8.572716, purchased new] – classical, symphonic. I had none of this composer’s music before purchasing this one.

Respighi Brazil Impressions, La Boutique Fantasque Royal de Leige Philharmonic Orchestra, John Neschling [BIS 2014 super audio CD, purchased new]

Current Reading
I’m still reading the lengthy Inheritance Cycle of four books, Eragon, Eldest, Brisingr, Inheritance. As I said last time, these are 500-600 pages so reading the set is no small undertaking. I’ve now finished the first three and am taking a break before starting the last to read the new Louise Penny shown above, which I’m about 100 pages into.

Barbara has read The Heckler by Ed McBain, Target: Tinos and Mykonos After Midnight by Jeffrey Siger. His books are good as always, especially Midnight. She has just started another Lee Child/Reacher series book in an attempt to catch up there as well. Louise Penny’s newest soon.

What new books did you get, and what have you been reading?

About Richard Robinson

Enjoying life in Portland, OR
This entry was posted in Adventure, Classical Music, Current Reading, mystery, New Arrivals. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to New Arrivals and Current Reading, August 25 – 31, 2014

  1. Evan Lewis says:

    Great to hear you’re reading something. Anything.

  2. Richard, I’ve been meaning to read Louise Penny having been drawn to her fiction through many reviews that I read. I’m currently reading THE DARK SIDE OF THE ISLAND, 1963, by my favourite writer Jack Higgins (Harry Patterson). Its predictable but entertaining. His early novels are his best.

  3. Jeff Meyerson says:

    No new books this week.

    I finished up my best reading month of the year with How to Breathe Underwater, first short story collection by Julie Orringer (was highly recommended by Nick Hornby); Robert J. Sawyer’s Red Planet Blues, from George Kelley’s “Mars Week” (it’s your classic hardboiled p.i. tale, set on Mars); Lee Goldberg’s Mr. Monk on the Couch, not quite as good as the previous entry in the series but fun; and Joseph Hansen’s Bohannon’s Women, the awkwardly titled (because it isn’t really accurate) collection of longish stories about his second (after Dave Brandstetter) series character.

    Overall I read 70 short stories in August and finished eight collections.

  4. Jeff Meyerson says:

    Whoops. Missed one. I also read the newly translated, very odd, The Mad and the Bad by the late Jean-Patrick Manchette. Not up to his classic Three to Kill or The Prone Gunman, but short and fast and worth reading if only for the “shootout in the department store” scene, which would be great in a movie.

  5. Jerry House says:

    This week I read the James Reasoner/Ed Gorman western HELL-FOR-LEATHER RIDER which was originally published as by “Jake Foster” (and is now available as an e-Book under the title THE MAN FROM NIGHTSHADE VALLEY under the Reasoner and Gorman byline), Arthur Machen’s horror/fantasy novel THE GREEN ROUND, Basil Copper’s WHISPERS IN THE NIGHT, a collection of gothic and horror stories, and Bill Crider’s HALF IN LOVE WITH ARTFUL DEATH, the latest Dan Rhodes mystery. (Everything stops in my house whenever a new Crider novel comes in.)

    I started reading F. Paul Wilson’s THE LANAGUE CHRONICLES, an omnibus of three of his early SF novels, but gave up on page 66; I found the overtly Libertarian viewpoint off-putting. I usually don’t mind political points of view in my reading but I just wasn’t in the mood. I’ll get back to this book in a few months (or — maybe — a few years) when I might be more receptive.

    On my bedside table are some Basil Copper novelizations of the comic strip character The Phantom, some true crime collections by Ellery Queen (actually Manny Lee this time), and a Joe Lansdale collection. Coming in from the library this week should be August Derleth’s THE WISCONSIN: RIVER OF A THOUSAND ISLES, Lawrence Block’s CATCH AND RELEASE, John Hampton’s 1939 anthology GHOST STORIES, and Caroline Wells’ 1927 anthology AMERICAN MYSTERY STORIES.

  6. Interesting set of works.

  7. Richard says:

    Charles, no Metallica, though. 😉

  8. Richard says:

    Jeff, you’re reading away as usual. I expect to finish The Long Road Home tonight or tomorrow and then start Target: Tinos, which Barbra already read but isn’t due back at the library yet.

  9. I spent the week reading business books to prepare for the First Week of classes. But I have a series of blog posts that will appear this week that include spy novels and fantasy series. I’m with Prashant on Jack Higgins: his early books are best.

  10. Patti Abbott says:

    Loved How to BreAtHE UNDER wATEr. I am reading BROKEN HARBOR by Tana French. Am amazed at how she just spent 100 pages on examining the crime scene. She is a very good writer but she is also one uneasy about moving on with a story. Why do some writers feel they have to turn in 400 plus page books. Phil read and loved SWEET TOOTH by Ian McEwan.

Leave a Reply

