new arrival, etc.

I guess that coffee maker will have to suffice as this week’s New Arrival. No books or other items of interest arrived here except yet another wave of nasty hot weather. It’s hit 90 the last three days here in our corner of Portland, which runs 2-3 degrees hotter in Summer and cooler in Winter than the official temperature downtown. Could hit three digits today.

I haven’t been feeling well, more of the same, and I’m suffering in this weather. Come on, Fall.

As for reading, nothing to report for me. Barbara read some things, but I don’t remember what right now.

About Richard Robinson

Enjoying life in Portland, OR
This entry was posted in At Home in Portland. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to new arrival, etc.

  1. macavityabc says:

    Hope you’re feeling perkier soon.

  2. What Bill said. Don’t want to add to your misery, but here in North Carolina, it’s 72 right now.

  3. Jerry House says:

    Let me join the chorus of good wishes, Richard. It’s warm and muggy in southern Maryland with the incipient threat of rain to cool things down. Little reading done this week. After battling with Comcast for three days, we finally got cable service just in time for a free HBO weekend, so we spent our time catching up on GAME OF THRONES and JOHN OLIVER. Only thing of substance I read was the 1992 Horror Writers of America anthology, FREAK SHOW edited by F. Paul Wilson – a themed collection of eighteen stories and interspersing material that ties to Wilson’s Adversary and Repairman Jack series.

  4. Richard says:

    Thanks, guys. I just can’t seem to shake this eye problem, listlessness, etc. I go see the doctor tomorrow

  5. Patti Abbott says:

    It’s lovely here. I will blow some cool your way.

  6. Jeff Meyerson says:

    What Bill said goes for us too. Feel better soon. We’re averaging nearly two degrees below average for August after a cooler than normal July, which is great for us. Only three 90 degree days in July and one so far in August.

    I’ve been reading a lot of short stories lately, mostly science fiction plus a book of Amy Bloom’s stories. I also read Piper Kerman’s memoir, ORANGE IS THE NEW BLACK.

    I wasn’t able to get the library to disgorge the fourth Jeffrey Siger book, TARGET: TIMOS, so was able to get a copy from PaperBackSwap.com, along with 6 more Marcia Muller books for Jackie.

  7. soon I’ll be getting a new kindle

  8. Hopefully you’ll get some Good News from your doctor. I suffer in the heat, too. But, fortunately, Western NY has enjoyed a cool summer. No 90 degree days at all! I’m busy reading the last Big Fat Books on my stack. I’m back to work next week.

  9. Richard says:

    George, sounds like you’re having a great summer. I don’t think doctors know how to say anything positive to their patents any more. My blood sugars are down in the low 100s after those horrifying reading in the 280-300 range, and the doctor said that’s not good enough, she expects 80-110. I’m already eating an extremely restricted diet, after taking away anything with calories, that would my blood sugar negatively, and anything not on the strict South Beach diet, as well as counting Weight Watchers points. I finally had a small weight loss after 6 weeks, total of 5 pounds. Not good enough, says doctor, you’re not trying hard enough. Instead of hearing the slightest bit of encouragement, I come away from a doctor’ visit feeling guilty and frustrated. It’s the same story with my primary care doctor. They pound on what’s wrong with never a word to what might be improving.

    Don’t suggest trying a different doctor, I’ve done that twice now, and they are all the same. They may think they are working for my best interest, but don’t they realize a little positive reinforcement can do wonders? Apparently not. It’s like I’m not a person, only a set of numbers they need to manipulate to their own satisfaction. Bah.

  10. I think you’re doing great! Doctors are part of a “test and quantify” medical system. They’re under pressure to “process” patients within a 10-15 minute window. My advice is to rely on your own good judgment. I also find frolicking at the pool each day really makes a Big Difference. Hang in there!

  11. Richard says:

    Thanks, George, and also to any who read this with empathy but choose not comment here. I’m very discouraged right now.

Leave a Reply

