new coffee maker

Bonavita BV1800 8-Cup Coffee Maker with Glass CarafeWe’re coffee drinkers, a cup or two apiece every morning. The faithful Krupp coffee maker I bought about eight years ago finally gave up the ghost last week, so it was time for a replacement.

I’d seen an article in the March issue of Cooks Illustrated magazine with reviews of drip coffee makers, and the winner for price and performance was the Bonavita BV1800 8-Cup Coffee Maker with Glass Carafe. We found it at a good price and bought it. So far we’re quite happy with it. It doesn’t have any bells and whistles – no timer, or brew interrupt feature or such – but it makes darn good coffee and that’s what matters.

About Richard Robinson

Enjoying life in Portland, OR
This entry was posted in At Home in Portland. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to new coffee maker

  1. Jeff Meyerson says:

    Congratulations. George & I always appreciate it when someone else helps us stimulate the economy. 😉

    However, as much as we like coffee I’m way to cheap to pay $150 for a coffeemaker.

  2. Richard says:

    Jeff, I believe you get what you pay for. The Krupp coffee maker was a little expensive too, but it lasted over eight years of daily use. Cheap ones won’t give that performance over that time. We only wish Bonavita made this in a 12 cup size.

  3. Congratulations, Richard! That looks neat. I’m a tea drinker and I usually have coffee, which is very popular in South India, about a couple of times a year.

  4. Jeff Meyerson says:

    We have a decent Braun and a Krups in the closet, so it will – I hope – be a while until we have to buy a new one.

  5. Never drink much coffee. I like the taste but it often gives me horrible indigestion

  6. Cap'n Bob says:

    I never ingest the swill.

  7. Patti Abbott says:

    Everyone around here is buying that Kcup thing. I use a french press but mostly drink tea. Same issue as Charles.

  8. Like Jeff, I have a Braun coffee maker that I love. But Braun doesn’t sell it in the U.S. anymore for some unknown reason. So knowing about the Bonavita BV1800 8-Cup Coffee Maker is very useful. I’m also a believer in “You get what you pay for.”

  9. Redhead says:

    Good coffee makers are impossible to find. I’m the only coffee drinker in the house 1-2 cups a day, and I’m not a fan of the Keurigs. Over the years, I’ve gone through two or three Toastess single cup drip coffee makers. It’s a tiny little thing, which is nice too.

  10. Richard says:

    Red, we don’t like the single cup brewers. We prefer to make a pot of coffee, not fiddle with single cup packages and have to do it over and over.

Leave a Reply

