New Arrivals and Current Reading, July 28 – August 10, 2014

Lights in the DeepLights in the Deep by Brad R. Torgersen [Wordfire Press 2013 trade paper, purchased new] – cover art by Bob Eggleton. Essay and science fiction short story collection. An author whose short fiction I’ve been hearing about for the last couple of years. If you’ve not read Torgersen, this collection – his first – is a great place to try his work. It contains stories nominated for or winner of Hugo, Nebula, Analog Reader’s Choice and Writers of the Future awards.

Here’s the table of contents:

Introductions by Stanley Schmidt, Mike Resnick and Allan Cole.

  1. “Outbound” (Analog, Nov 2010)
  2. “Gemini 17″ (Jim Baen Memorial Contest anthology, Baen Books, 2015)
  3. “Influences: Allan Cole & Chris Bunch”
  4. “The Bullfrog Radio Astronomy Project” (Analog, Oct 2011)
  5. “Exiles of Eden” (Orson Scott Card’s Intergalactic Medicine Show, Issue #22)
  6. “Writer Dad: Mike Resnick”
  7. “Footprints” (Licton Springs Review, 2002)
  8. “The Exchange Officers” (Analog, Feb/Mar 2013)
  9. “Essay: On the Growth of Fantasy and the Waning of Science Fiction” (Writers of the Future web site)
  10. “The Chaplain’s Assistant” (Analog, Sept 2011)
  11. “The Chaplain’s Legacy” (Analog, Jul/Aug 2013)
  12. “The Hero’s Tongue: Larry Niven”
  13. “Exanastasis” (Writers and Illustrators of the Future, XXVI)
  14. “Ray of Light” (Analog, Dec 2011)
  15. “Denouement”

Current Reading
I’m trying to get a little bit of reading done and did read a couple of Saint short stories. I’ve listened to another audiobook or two, some more of The Complete Sherlock Holmes audiobook – The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes and The Memoirs of Sherlock Holmes.

Barbara read Living Proof by John Harvey, Murder in Retribution by Anne Cleeland, Give the Boys a Great Big Hand by Ed McBain. She has just gotten Stephen King’s Mr. Mercedes from the library.

What new books did you get, and what have you been reading?

About Richard Robinson

Enjoying life in Portland, OR
This entry was posted in Current Reading, New Arrivals, science fiction. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to New Arrivals and Current Reading, July 28 – August 10, 2014

  1. Sounds good. May hve to get this one.

  2. Richard, “Lights in the Deep” looks good although I must confess I have never read modern science fiction stories. I’m reading “Sister Carrie” by Theodore Dreiser. Published in 1900, it is considered revolutionary for its bold theme of a young woman who dreams of making it big in Chicago and falls by the wayside.

  3. Jerry House says:

    It’s been a Pogo week for me. I finished the last of the Simon and Schuster collections and read three of the posthumous collections edited by Walt Kelly’s widow and Bill Crouch, Jr.: THE BEST OF POGO, OUTRAGEOUSLY POGO, and PHI BETA POGO. All three collect cartoons, photos, articles, and special drawings from the OKEFENOKEE STAR, a Pogo/Walt Kelly fanzine. Fascinating books which give light to Kelly and his creations.

    I also read THE BOYS’ LIFE BOOK OF OUTER SPACE STORIES, a ho-hum 1964 anthology that would still have been ho-hum if I had read it when I was a Boy Scout.

    Current reading includes L. Sprague de Camp & H. L. Gold’s NONE BUT LUCIFER and Basil Copper’s THE WEREWOLF: IN LEGEND, Fact & ART.

    Coming up: a collection of Ellery Queen correspondence and a Michael Collins Charlie Chan novel.

    Stay well, Richard.

  4. Pingback: New Arrivals and Current Reading, July 28 – August 10, 2014 | Todd DeanTodd Dean

  5. Jeff Meyerson says:

    I must admit I’ve been tempted by that Torgersen book too. So far I’ve resisted,

    I did get in a number of books, all from PaperbackSwap.com. First, Jackie finally read the first Marcia Muller book (Edwin of the Iron Shoes) and she asked me to get her more of the series in paperback so I ordered the next 14 titles (from two people) and the first group of 8 arrived. I’m expecting the other six this week. For me there was the new (self-published) trade paperback by Lawrence Block, THE BURGLAR WHO COUNTED THE SPOONS plus the first in the new series of Maigret reprints by Simenon, PIETR THE LATVIAN. (I’m disposing of my Penguin edition, MAIGRET AND THE ENIGMATIC LETT.

    Books read: three. Two were library books, Lee Goldberg’s MR. MONK ON THE ROAD and Amy BLoom’s LUCKY US. The third was mine,, Jim Gaffigan’s humorous essays about bringing up five kids under the age of eight in a small (two bedroom), five floor walkup apartment on The Bowery, DAD IS FAT.

    I’m read a couple of books of short stories, the first Science Fiction Hall of Fame book and the first collection of The Company stories by Kage Baker (featured by George Kelley in his Mars Week), BLACK PROJECTS, WHITE KNIGHTS. Also reading Piper Kerman’s memoir (and basis for the Netflix series) ORANGE IS THE NEW BLACK.

  6. Jeff Meyerson says:

    THat should be “reading” in the last paragraph.

  7. Patti Abbott says:

    FOURTH OF JULY CREEK by Smith Henderson. Just finished A TRICK OF THE LIGHT by Penney and THE ROSIE PROJECT. (Simeon) Jeff-what did you think of the Bloom?

    Barbara is aces in her reading. My taste but at three times my speed.

  8. Jeff Meyerson says:

    It was kind of an odd book, I thought. To say the sister was an unsymathetic character is an understatement and I found the narrator something of a cipher, but there was an amazing amount of stuff that happened in 230 pages – when I was retelling the plot to Jackie she couldn’t believe how much had gone on – so overall, I liked it. I’d previously read only her first book of stories and I’m reading her second collection now.

  9. I’m tempted by that Torgersen book, too. But I want someone I trust to give it a rave review first. Summer is winding down here. I’m headed back to work in two weeks. Right now, I’m reading a bunch of spy novels. MARS WEEK went well so I’m considering another theme week next summer on my blog.

  10. macavityabc says:

    My “new” books all come from Kayo Books in San Francisco, so they’re not exactly new. I didn’t read a single book last week, but I did read three novellas on the plane yesterday as we came back to Texas.

  11. Patti Abbott says:

    Yes, I have only read the stories and the review in the NYT yesterday was kind of mixed, saying the character never quite came to life. But I think I will try it.

  12. Jeff Meyerson says:

    Patti, you will probably like it. At the very least you’ll like some of it. And it is short! It is set between 1939-49.

    I’ve started Bloom’s second collection and will probably go on to her other novels.

    Did I mention they are all short?

  13. Cap'n Bob says:

    I just finished a Western ghosted by Bill Crider, and before that two books by Jan Strnad that I had on my Kindle. One a s/s collection, the other a novel. Yesterday I picked up a few modeling magazines from B&N so they’ll have me tied up for a few days.

  14. Richard says:

    Bob, hoe do you like reading on that Kindle? I still can’t get comfortable reading on a screen, even one of the of the laptop’s.

  15. Richard says:

    Bill, welcome home. I’d love to see a listing of the books you got!

Leave a Reply

