Long, Hot Summer

3789711442_22b06f7fe6I don’t do well in hot weather, that’s just one of the reasons I wanted to move from Southern California to the Pacific Northwest. When it’s very hot I stay indoors, don’t sleep well, grumble a good deal and am pretty miserable.

It’s been in the mid-to-high 80s for the last two weeks here, with several days in the 90s. That’s hotter than is normal for this time of year. The forecast for the next week is more of the same, followed by a week with temperatures rising into the 100s.

Like so many other parts of the west, we’re having drought conditions in parts of Oregon and there are many wildfires burning in the state. The air is smoky and hazy. Sure, it’s probably worse elsewhere, but for here, it’s lousy.

Nothing has changed with my health issues, so that’s piled on top of the heat. I’m not enjoying this Summer.

About Richard Robinson

Enjoying life in Portland, OR
This entry was posted in At Home in Portland. Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Long, Hot Summer

  1. Patti Abbott says:

    And in Michigan it has been very cool most of the time. But after the winter we had, we deserve it.

  2. Western NY has been cooler than normal…which is fine with me. I prefer 70s to 80s or 90s. We’ve been getting plenty of rain, too. Sorry your health issues aren’t resolved yet. Hope to have you back online with your usual curmudgeonly style soon!

  3. The last week we’ve had seventies, but it’s supposed to get back to normal in the coming week. I don’t do heat well either.

  4. Richard says:

    Man, it seems like everyone is having cool, pleasant Summer. Everyone but we in the west, I guess. Sigh.

  5. Richard says:

    Hey George, that’s not curmudgeonly, it’s insightful. I’ll try to be more positive and upbeat.

  6. Jeff Meyerson says:

    Bummer, Rick. Really sorry to hear your health issues continue. If you’re not feeling well it makes everything else worse – you’re not comfortable, you can’t read, etc. Really hope it gets better.

    Not to add to the pain but I have to echo what Patti & George said – so far our summer has been not only a relief after the rotten winter (granted, by being in Florida for a lot of it we missed some of the worst of it) but cooler than normal and way better than last year. Last July was 3.3 degrees above normal and had 10 days over 90, including 7 in a row. This July, 3 days over 90 and below average (by half a degree only, mostly because it hasn’t been that cool at night) temperatures. We’ve had enough rain to keep things green but less than normal, yet our reservoirs are 10% above normal because the Catskills and other upstate areas have had a lot.

    We measure the coolness of a summer by whether or not it is a “jeans day” – generally, if it is 80 or cooler – and we’ve had a lot of them this year.

  7. We’ve had some relatively mild weather the past week. If anything, we’re getting more than usual rain. Changes all over. Hope you feel better soon.

  8. Richard says:

    Jeff, once Summer comes I pretty much am in shorts until Fall. Glad you’re having a mild Summer there. I got new glasses which were supposed to help, at least with reading, but they don’t work and I have to go back to the eye Dr. and see if something more can be done.

  9. Richard says:

    Thanks, Charles. We could use the cool and the rain.

  10. So odd to hear of those temps up there when we’ve enjoyed a Summer with by and large Spring-like temperatures. We’ve had a some mid-upper 90’s (will for the first three days this week again) but we’ve had a really mild Summer overall. Still, I cannot wait until Autumn arrives.

  11. Evan Lewis says:

    I enjoy the heat every bit as much as you do. If I had my way it’d be 70 degrees and overcast all year long.

  12. Cap'n Bob says:

    I just got back from three days in Portland on Sunday and the house I stayed in was very hot. At least the hotel was air conditioned. It was good to see a couple of friends but I’m glad to be home where I have an air conditioned office.

  13. Richard, we had three months of horrible summer, March through May, and now we are having equally horrible rains that will last until September. I don’t see how anyone, especially foreign tourists, can envy Indian summer and monsoon. I hope you get well very soon, Richard.

  14. Richard says:

    Prashant, that sounds awful. Thanks for your well wishes.

  15. Richard says:

    Evan, I like the idea of 70-75, but I’d take some sun with that.

  16. We’re on a string of 90°-plus days here too, with no end in sight. At least Labor Day is looming, and we usually get a change almost immediately after that. I can’t wait for Fall….

  17. Richard says:

    Yep, Todd, we’re getting all the heat in the Northwest. Like you, I’m ready for Fall.

Leave a Reply

