New Arrivals and Current Reading, July 14 – 27, 2014

Health Update – Still having problems. Things are getting a little better generally, but my sight is not, so far. Hopefully a few more weeks will see some improvement.

New Arrival
Not ordering so much these days, but I had to have this one, as I have the rest of this fine set from NESFA.

 Bicycle Built for BrewA Bicycle Built for Brew – The Collected Short Works of Poul Anderson, Volume 6 edited by Rick Katze [NESFA Press 2014 hardcover, purchased new] – science fiction short works. This collection contains five short novels and three novellas, a length Anderson is very good at.

contents:

Short Novels

  • A Bicycle Built for Brew
  • Three Hearts and Three Lions (original magazine version)
  • Silent Victory
  • A Plague of Masters (Dominic Flandry),
  • The Snows of Ganymede

Novellas

  • “Territory” (Nicholas van Rijn)
  • “Three Cornered Wheel” (David Falkyn)
  • “The Sensitive Man”

Current Reading
I’m not reading. I have listened to some of The Complete Sherlock Holmes audiobook – A Study in Scarlet, The Sign of the Four, and a few of the short stories. It’s well done. I’ve also listened to about half of Changer of Worlds by David Weber. My old headphones were about worn out after many years, so I bought new ones, AudioTechna MTH M50. They are the over the ear type and quite comfortable.

Barbara read Norwegian By Night by Derek Miller, The Burning Wire by Jeffery Deaver,  The Last Policeman and Countdown City both by Ben H. Winters and Ordinary Grace by William Kent Krueger, which she liked very much.

What new books did you get, and what have you been reading?

About Richard Robinson

Enjoying life in Portland, OR
This entry was posted in Current Reading, New Arrivals, science fiction. Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to New Arrivals and Current Reading, July 14 – 27, 2014

  1. Patti Abbott says:

    Just finished ELIZABETH IS MISSING by Emmal Healey and am now reading A TRICK OF THE LIGHT by Penney.

  2. Jeff Meyerson says:

    Yay, you’re back! Boo, you’re still having problems. Eyesight problems are scary to me. Not being able to read is a major, major bummer. I really hope it improves quickly.

    By coincidence Jackie also read those two Ben H. Winters books this past week. We have the third on reserve at the library, which has it on order. I’m waiting to see if the Earth really gets destroyed or not. 😉

    I did get a couple of books from PaperbackSwap: Wallace Stroby’s first book, THE BARBED-WIRE KISS, which I’d been unable to get from the library was one. I’ve really liked his more recent books and wanted to catch up on this one. The other was the massive CARRION COMFORT by Dan Simmons. Neither have been read so far, probably needless to say.

    I have pared the library books way down. I’m still waiting for the next Jeffrey Siger book, among others. I’ve been reading a big collection of Nadine Gordimer’s short stories (started, by coincidence, a week before she died) that someone left in the laundry room downstairs. I should finish it this week.

    What have I read? DYING INSIDE by Robert Silverberg, which Barry Malzberg touted as a “classic” of the 1970s. I didn’t expect to like it for some reason (perhaps because it is mostly first person narration) but, surprisingly, I did. David Selig is a telepath. He can read other people’s minds. He hasn’t done much with his gift (perhaps because he doesn’t see it as a gift) but now in his mid-forties he is losing the power so reasseses his life. This is set in the New York of the early 1970s. Good one.

    Next was THE NIGHT ETERNAL by Guillermo del Toro and Chuck Hogan, the third of the “Strain” trilogy. It took a while to get going but eventually made it to the inevitable, if not necessarily happy, ending. I’ve mentioned previous books by Jo Walton before. I read her latest, the rather odd and hard to characterize MY REAL CHILDREN. After college the somewhat naive protagonist has to decide whether or not to marry her controlling loser (apparent to the reader, if not to her) of a fiance. At that point the book splits in two, as chapters alternate in the world where she marries him and the world where she doesn’t – both of which are our world, with changes. As always she is very readable however you categorize this book.

    John Scalzi’s blog featured Marcus Sakey talking about his latest book a couple of weeks ago and it made me want to read the first in the series, BRILLIANCE. I’m glad I did and I have the new one on the way from the library. Since 1980 1% of the population has been born with extraordinary powers of some sort (mathematical genius, ability to anticipate what others are going to do, etc.) and now thirty plus years later the governing powers regard them as a threat. Sakey’s hero Nick Cooper works for the government agency that tracks down (and sometimes “neutralizes”) those that are considered dangerous. You can see immediately why this one sold to the movies.

    Lastly I read Martin Limon’s excellent first book in his series about US Army CID officers George Sueno and Ernie Bascom in 1970s Korea, JADE LADY BURNING. If you have any interest in a mystery set in an exotic (to us) culture where you can really see, feel and even smell what it is really like I’d really recommend Limon. You could start with this or the excellent collection of stories recently published, NIGHTMARE RANGE.

  3. I’m busy getting ready for MARS WEEK. Glad to hear your health is improving! Hang in there!

  4. Richard says:

    Patti, I hope you have read the previous Penny books or Trick of the Light may not make as much sense as it would.

  5. Richard says:

    George, I’m looking forward to Mars week.

  6. Richard says:

    Jeff, long comment, requiring more screen time than I can put in just now. I’ll answer later, but thanks for the long, newsy comment!

  7. Jerry House says:

    I’m glad things are improving, Richard, and I hope your problems will soon be behind you.

    Since you last posted, I’ve read Dean Koontz’s THE CITY, Bill Pronzini’s STRANGERS, and Craig Johnson’s ANY OTHER NAME, along with a number of minor books.

    This past week I read Ed Gorman’s witchcraft novel RITUALS, Boucher and McComas’ THE BEST FROM FANTASY AND SCIENCE FICTION (from 1952, the first in the long-running series), Harry Harrison’s SF collection GALACTIC DREAMS, two more in my great Pogo read/reread (POGO’S SUNDAY PUNCH and POGO’S BODY POLITIC), and — although it can hardly count as a book, the latest Neil Gaiman children’s picture book CHU’S FIRST DAY OF SCHOOL.

    I’m currently reading Robert E. Howard’s historical adventure collection THE ROAD OF AZRAEL, John Kier Cross’s THE UNKNOWN PASSENGER, and the possible end of my Pogo-a-thon with six more by Walt Kelly.

  8. Evan Lewis says:

    I too have been listening to The Complete Sherlock Holmes (or some of it). Some earlier Holmes audiobooks I’ve tried had accents so thick they gave me a headache, but these are about right. Also reading, thanks to Mr. Mike Britt, MEDICINE MAN, a Hashknife and Speedy novel by W.C. Tuttle.

  9. Richard says:

    Jerry, sounds like good stuff. I read that Harrison collection years ago, I believe. About done with Pogo? That will leave a bit of a hole in your enjoyment quotient.

  10. Richard says:

    Evan, glad your comment got through this time. I looked for the Complete Sherlock Holmes at the library, but no dice, so I coughed up the dough as I knew I couldn’t read anymore. Too bad, we could have shared. I’ll bet your really enjoying that Hashknife and Speedy novel!

  11. Richard says:

    Jeff, at last I have the big screen and magnification enough to read and reply to your comment.

    I’m not really back, but Barbara helped me get this one up by taking dictation, etc. I never realized how much I read and depend on my sight for most everything I do each day. Sobering, to say the least. I, too, hope for improvement soon. We’ll see. It’s not getting worse, but not better.

    “By coincidence Jackie also read those two Ben H. Winters books this past week. We have the third on reserve at the library, which has it on order. I’m waiting to see if the Earth really gets destroyed or not. ;)”

    Will the world be destroyed (in the Winters books)? I think not, but then I’m such an optimist.

    I’ve cut back on library books too, other than a couple I have on hold but am way down the list. Not being that much of a Silverberg fan (though I liked Valentine’s Castle well enough) I usually avoid his stuff. As for the third “Strain” book, I rarely continue with books that “take a while to get going”.

    The plot you describe for BRILLIANCE has been done and overdone in the comics. As for Martin Limon… maybe.

  12. Evan Lewis says:

    Did you buy only Vol. 1 of the Sherlock set?

  13. Richard says:

    Evan, I bought the whole shebang.

  14. Evan Lewis says:

    10-4. I have a couple of new mp3 books, should you desire a listen. Bran Mak Morn: The Last King and Kull: Exile of Atlantis.

  15. Hope you get completely better soon. Poul Anderson is a favorite of mine. Love his work. I don’t have this collection

  16. John says:

    Glad to read that your eyesight is returning to normal. Like Jeff I’d be terrified of any problems severely affecting eyesight. Hoping your full recovery comes quickly.

    For once I’ve read almost all of the books that your wife read! I’m not a fan of Deaver, but I read all the others. Really enjoyed NORWEGIAN BY NIGHT. It’s not really a crime novel IMO, but a very well done novel (that happens to include some crime) about growing old, the ghosts of memory, and finding the courage to perform the one important act of one’s life. But ORDINARY GRACE — now there’s a real mystery novel! One of the best modern mysteries I’ve read in a *long* time. I rave about it to anyone who will listen to me. I think you might like Ben Winters’ trilogy about Hank Palace. The third one, WORLD OF TROUBLE, is the best and I’m not saying anything about the ending.

  17. Richard says:

    Unfortunately, John, it’s the vision that is NOT returning to normal. The rest of the problems – dizziness, light-headedness, nausea, extreme lethargy – have improved. I have more energy now and am walking some but still cannot read.

    Barbara is typing the comments and posts on dictation.

Leave a Reply

