New Arrivals and Current Reading, May 5 – 11, 2014

We’ve had very nice Spring weather, slightly cool and wet, but typical for Portland, and it’s moving into the mid 70s and on to the low 80s this coming week.

New Arrivals
Two books this time, one because Bill Crider reviewed it, one because I wanted it.

The Fugitive Stars by Daniel Ransom (Ed Gorman) [DAW 1995 mass market paperback, used copy] – science fiction. After reading Bill Crider’s review of this, I couldn’t resist.

Tales from High Hallack Volumeby Andre Norton, edited by Jean Rabe [Premier Digital Publishing 2014 trade paper, purchased new] – science fiction / fantasy short story collection. From the publisher’s description:

“For well over a half century, ANDRE NORTON was one of the most popular science fiction and fantasy authors in the world. With series such as Time Traders, Solar Queen, Forerunner, Beast Master, Crosstime, and Janus, as well as many stand-alone novels, her tales of adventure have drawn countless readers to science fiction. Her fantasy novels, including the bestselling Witch World series, her Magic series, and many other unrelated novels, have been popular with readers for decades. Norton died on March 2005 at her home in Murfreesboro, Tennessee.

Jean Rabe was the co-author of several novels with Andre Norton, and edited several of her short stories for various DAW Books anthologies. Rabe and Norton were long-time friends.”

This is the first of three volumes now in print. I’m not sure if there will be more coming. I got this to try, and will buy the rest if I’m happy with it.

Current Reading
I have finished the first two of the three novels in The Planet Pirates omnibus mentioned last week. The three books combined run nearly 850 pages.

Barbara finished Cockroaches and The Leopard by Jo Nebso, both of which she liked a lot, and read The Killer by Jonathan Kellerman, which she said was “pretty good”.

What new did you get, what have you been reading?

About Richard Robinson

Enjoying life in Portland, OR
This entry was posted in Current Reading, mystery, New Arrivals, science fiction and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to New Arrivals and Current Reading, May 5 – 11, 2014

  1. I have the Ransom(Gorman) around the house as well as another SF novel by him. The Norton looks like one I would like.

  2. Jeff Meyerson says:

    No new arrivals this week. On the other hand, I have a bunch (7? 8?) of library books with others on the way. [My library does have the Ransom book, and I’ve added it to the list by the way.]

    Books read include one ebook, one of my paperbacks and a library book. First was Paul D. Brazill’s very dark collection, SNAPSHOTS. Next was a very good western by Ed Gorman, GHOST TOWN, set (unusually) during a malaria outbreak in Wisconsin around the turn of the last century.

    Lastly was the well reviewed VISITATION STREET by Ivy Pochoda, which I really liked. I do enjoy reading books set (as this one was) in Brooklyn, as long as the author gets it right, and since Pochoda was born and grew up in the area where she sets this – mostly in Red Hook – she does get it right. (There was only one tiny mistake.) Two fifteen year old girls go out on the dirty waters of lower New York’s harbor on a flimsy raft late one summer night. The next morning one is found unconscious on the shore and the other is just gone. The book follows Val, the survivor, and various other members of the Red Hook community in the following weeks. I would definitely recommend this one.

    I’m nearly done with the Martin Limon short story collection and I’m read Roger Hobbs’s GHOSTMAN at the moment.

  3. Jerry House says:

    I read the Ransom a few months ago and enjoyed it (as I do with just about everything Ed writes).

    This past week I finished David Case’s THE THIRD GRAVE, read two more Pogo collections (INSTANT POGO and DECK US ALL WITH BOSTON CHARLIE), read two Robert E. Howard collections (THE PRIDE OF BEAR CREEK and MAYHEM ON BEAR CREEK, both chock full of humorous western tall tales about Breckinridge Elkins), a Dean Koontz novella (DARKNESS UNDER THE SUN), and an Isaac Asimov nonfiction juvenile (COMETS AND METEORS), as well the Prince Zaleski stories in PRINCE ZALESKI AND CUMMINGS KING MONK. I’m currently reading Basil Copper’s THE BLACK DEATH, then I hope to finish off the Shiel collection and move onto John Dickson Carr’s 13 TO THE GALLOWS, a collection of four plays. Sometime this week, I’ll squeeze in a mystery book from the 50s for Patti Abbott’s Friday Forgotten Books.

  4. I ‘m still in FINAL EXAM mode. But next week I’ll be reading some Big Fat Books that I’ve stockpiled over the past few months. I have some Jo Nesbo books but haven’t read one yet.

  5. Patti Abbott says:

    Jeff puts us all to shame. Reading Ed’s collection SCREAM QUEEN, UNDER THE SKIN, and the UPDIKE book. I cannot get into Nesbo for some reason. Too political? I’m not sure.

  6. Richard says:

    Randy, I seem to be the last one to pick up on the Gorman/Ransom book. Thanks goodness for FFB reviews. If you’re a Norton fan, the collection is one to check out. Though I’ll know better after I read it.

  7. Richard says:

    Jeff, I’m amazed your library has the Ransom book, ours seems to get rid of books sooner, I guess, even though it’s a large system. Visitation Street sounds interesting, I think, though I’m not sure I’ll get to it any time soon, with all that’s on the plate now. Is it dark, straight mystery, or what? From your description, I’d guess they were attacked by Narwhales. ( g ). I’ll be interested in your opinion of the Hobbs. Barbara read it and gave it an “okay”, I didn’t get to it. Hobbs is a local guy, you know.

  8. Richard says:

    Jerry, another person who has read that Ransom/Gorman book! I have the Deck Us All… Pogo collection, used to have the song memorized to smart off at the holidays, but that was decades ago now. I’ve tried Howard’s various wanderings into non Sword/Scorcery stuff, but find it all seems to fall short of Conan, Kull &ct.

    I may have read that Asimov, about 55 years ago. Yikes. I’ll want to hear your opinion of that Copper, I have only read his Solar Pons.

  9. Jeff Meyerson says:

    Patti and George – you might try the first two Nesbo books, which are set in Sydney (THE BAT) and Bangkok (COCKROACHES).

  10. Richard says:

    George, you could always read some not-so-fat books, you know. I’m sure you’ll be glad when Finals are done, though not as glad as the students.

  11. Richard says:

    Patti, Barbara says the politics are more of a factor in some Nesbo books than others, and I see Jeff just commented as well.

  12. Jeff Meyerson says:

    At the beginning I thought the Pochoda book was going to be a mystery but as it went on the cops disappeared and it clearly wasn’t. The Hobbs has been compasred by some to Stark’s Parker books but so far I don’t see it. It reminds me more of Brett Battles’ “Cleaner” series. In any case it is a fast read (I should be done in a day or so) and you can see why it sold to the movies. It is certainly cinematic.

  13. Jeff Meyerson says:

    My library has two of the Ransom books, two copies of one and one of the other. I was surprised as well.

  14. Jeff Meyerson says:

    That was quick. I read your remarks (and Bill’s review) on Monday, reserved the Ransom book at the library (online, of course) and had it in my hands by Thursday.

  15. Richard says:

    Quick is right! Whoa.

Leave a Reply

