ffb: The Ganymede Club by Charles Sheffield

this is the 144th in my series of forgotten or seldom read books 

The Ganymede Club by Charles Sheffield Tor 1996 mass market paperback, science fiction

Ganymede“After fourteen months in space and ten weeks of irritation, the culprit had at last been discovered.”

This looks at first glance like a sequel to the author’s Cold As Ice but it is in fact a prequel. Though the two books can be read in any order, and they are both enjoyable, were I approaching them both unread I would begin with this one simply because of the chronology.

This book takes place immediately after the the solar system-wide Great War of 2067 as backdrop for a science-fiction mystery. During a war records are lost and people move about and assume new identities. Lola Belman, a sort of psychometric psychologist, encounters a patient with a past that gradually crumbles under treatment, but the patient doesn’t seem to know who he really is or why he is having terrible nightmares and flash-backs to places that were destroyed in the war. Neither of them understands who is trying to kill them both, or why.

This book introduces a character, a boy, who will appear as an adult in Cold As Ice. It also introduces the interplanetary Puzzle Network, an internet logic gaming group, members of which play a role in both books. The two teenaged characters gave it some flavor of a juvenile, but the plot and motives focus on adults and some of the events recall wartime lab experiments and aren’t childlike (nor are they grotesque).

I’ve read this book twice now, in fact I’ve read the pair of them twice, and enjoyed them both times. This isn’t too surprising, as Sheffield is one of my favorite SF authors and has been for a long time. I enjoyed reading this and recommend it.

~  ~  ~  ~  ~

More Friday Forgotten Book posts
can be found at Patti Abbott’s fine blog Pattinase

 

About Richard Robinson

Enjoying life in Portland, OR
This entry was posted in Friday Forgotten Book, science fiction. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to ffb: The Ganymede Club by Charles Sheffield

  1. reading SFF says:

    Thank you for your interesting review.

    I have so far not read anything by Charles Sheffield, although I have been meaning to for a long time. The cover looks like this might be a space opera type of novel, so I WILL move him up on my authors-to-check-out list.

  2. Jeff Meyerson says:

    Gee, just what I need (he said sarcastically), another new one. I have ten library books sitting on my shelf right now and don’t even get me started on my own books that I haven’t read.

  3. I pick up Shefield books at Book Sales, but I haven’t read one yet. Maybe this summer….

  4. I haven’t read Sheffield either and it sounds like I’ve been remiss. I’ll have to pick this one up.

  5. TracyK says:

    Richard, I don’t read a lot of sci fi, but I do read some every year. This one sounds interesting. I will try to find it at my yearly book sale.

  6. Richard says:

    Tracy, look for both this one and Cold As Ice, they really are a pair. Cheap pb copies are available on line.

Leave a Reply

