New Arrivals and Current Reading, April 28 – May 4, 2014

New Arrivals
Happy Cinco de Mayo! Here it was enchiladas, tacos, refried beans, Mexican rice and, of course, a bottle of Pacifico.

In the past week we’ve had some rain, some sun, we bought plants, but other than things from the library, not a single book has come this last week.

Current Reading
patmos cover final 88KBI finished Prey on Patmos, the third book in Jeffrey Sigel’s Chief Inspector Andreas Kaldis series, which I liked. This is a darn good series. Also read Once Upon A Star  by Kendell Foster Crossen, the first Draco Manning short story collection (image) and Sea Gold by John Blane. I’m currently reading a three novel omnibus titled The Planet Pirates by Anne McCaffrey and Jodi Lynn Nye, comprised of Sassinak, The Death of Sleep and Generation Warriors. This is one I started months ago, then got turned aside by some books from the library and other things and am just now picking up again. I’m also chipping away at other short story collections, but making slow progress.

Barbara read three books (all from the library) Assassins of Athens and Prey on Patmos by Jeffrey Siger, and the second in the Harry Hole series, Cockroaches by Jo Nesbo, which she liked a good bit. She is now reading Killer by Jonathan Kellerman.

What new did you get, what have you been reading?

About Richard Robinson

Enjoying life in Portland, OR
This entry was posted in Current Reading, New Arrivals. Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to New Arrivals and Current Reading, April 28 – May 4, 2014

  1. I finally finished correcting those 100 research papers so I can start reading for pleasure again. AMAZON has been delivering books despite my hiatus. I’m currently reading THE UP SIDE OF DOWN by Megan McArdle.

  2. Sounds like a good series, Richard. My newest purchase is the one I am picking up tomorrow, a copy of Authority by Jeff Vandermeer. Can’t wait.

  3. Patti Abbott says:

    I am reading UNDER THE SKIN by Michel Faber because I enjoyed the movie so much. Also a bio of John Updike and a collection of short stories.

  4. Jerry House says:

    Just two Arkham House collections this week (HOUSE OF THE WORM by Gary Myers and David H. Keller’s THE FOLSOM FLINT) and Walt Kelly’s INSTANT POGO, along with short stories by Sax Rohmer, M. P. Shiel, and Robert E. Howard. I’m half-way through David Case’s THE THIRD GRAVE, with Basil Copper’s THE BLACK DEATH on deck.

    I’ll have to check out Sigel.

  5. Richard says:

    George, time to move from non-fiction to something more fun, maybe? Does this mean you’re officially on summer vacation, or do you still have finals to give and grade?

  6. Richard says:

    Carl, I know you’re anxious for that Vandermeer. It’s SF, right?

  7. Richard says:

    Patti, I’m guessing Under the Skin will have more to it than the film. The Updike should be interesting, defending on how deep and detailed the author gets.

  8. Richard says:

    Jerry, what is that Pogo, not one I recognize. Still looking forward to your comments / review of the Copper, assuming they will be Solar Pons stories.

  9. Bought a couple of short stories in the last couple of days from Amazon. James REasoner and a book from Ron Scheer.

  10. I’m conducting REVIEW sessions this week. FINALS are next week. Then the correcting and grading and I’m DONE!

  11. Jerry House says:

    Richard, the Pogo book (1962) was published about the same time as THE JACK ACID SOCIETY BLACK BOOK and introduces the Pig (Krushchev) and the Goat (Castro) and (I believe) the introduction of the Puce Stamp Catalog.

    The Copper book is a thriller. However, his Solar Pons stories are moving up on mount TBR.

  12. Richard says:

    Charles, I’ve ordered that book by Ron.

  13. Richard says:

    Jerry, That sounds familiar, I know I have the old books with the Pig and the Jack Acid Society, but I don’t recognize the name Instant Pogo. I’ll have to check my Pogo shelf.

  14. Richard says:

    George, not too long now. This is the time of year that friends who were teachers were talking about two and a half months off, and I was looking at a week vacation and then work through to Fall, when I got my second week vacation. They tried not to look smug, but with little success.

  15. Jeff Meyerson says:

    I did read the second Siger, ASSASSINS OF ATHENS, and like you I preferred it to the first in the series. I put #3 on hold at the library so should have it soon. I didn’t – obviously – have much time for reading last week but I did read (and enjoy) Jo Walton’s FARTHING before we left. I have her second in the trilogy (HA’PENNY) waiting at the library. Otherwise all I read were short stories.

    It is good to be home and get back to the pile[s] of waiting books.

  16. John says:

    I’m on a science fiction and fantasy kick after reaching a saturation point in crime fiction.

    Finished Foam of the Daze (punny English translation of L’Ecume des Jours) by Boris Vian. It’s not only weirdly imaginative, exuberant, witty and a celebration of life, love and jazz music — especially of Duke Ellington. The book is something of a cult classic for those who like Vian or surrealist fiction. It was filmed and the title changed to MOOD INDIGO. Supposedly the movie (directed by Michel Gondry and starring Audrey Tatou) will be coming out in limited release to US art houses in the summer. The paperback tie-in is being released then. Vian’s book will be reviewed as my FFB on Friday.

    Now I’m on Zoo City by Lauren Beukes which won the Arthur C Clarke award a couple of years ago. Has some similarities to Pullman’s “His Dark Materials” trilogy in that many of the characters have animal companions that give them special powers. Also reading Flower Phantoms by Ronald Fraser, a love story about a woman who gets along better with the plant world than with her human lover. Fraser’s book was published in the 1920s and was very hard to find. Valancourt Press remedied that problem by reprinting it last year.

  17. Richard says:

    I suppose the woman turns into a plant at the end…

Leave a Reply

