New Arrivals and Current Reading, April 21 – 27, 2014

New Arrivals
The final Duncton book has arrived, and that’s the end to them, except for the reading. Also a classic mystery for me, a couple of dark thrillers for Barbara’s birthday, and a gift from afar.

Duncton Stone by William Horwood [Century Hutchinson 1993 hardcover, purchased used] – fantasy-adventure. This is the last of the six Dunction hardcovers I’ve been seeking. Now to read the two trilogies.

The Lake District Murder by John Bude [The British Library 2014 paperback,  purchased new] – mystery, originally published in 1935. I enjoyed The Cornish Coast Murder by this author (a new arrival last week) so I ordered this. Another classic village mystery.

Hanging Hill by Mo Hayder [Grove Press 2011 trade paper, purchased new] – mystery. An author Barbara likes, this was a birthday gift.

The Leopard by Jo Nesbø [original (c) 2009, translation to English, 2011, Vintage Crime 2012 trade paper, purchased new] – thriller/mystery. Barbara likes Nesbø’s dark thrillers.

Well-Read Women by Samantha Hahn [Chronicle Books 2013 hardcover, gift] – literate interest. Color sketches accompanied by a quote, of 160 women characters from literature. Sort of a mini-coffee table book.

Current Reading
I started reading the third book in Jeffrey Sigel’s Chief Inspector Andreas Kaldis series, Prey on Patmos, but Barbara finished the second book, Assassins of Athens, and wanted to continue on, so I handed it over and read The Cornish Coast Murder by John Bude which I very much enjoyed. Since she finished Patmos, I’ll now continue on with it. Then I plan to go back to Bude’s second book, which came this week.

Meanwhile, Barbara now has the two books she got this week plus there’s something for her at the library but I don’t recall what it is.

What new did you get, what have you been reading?

About Richard Robinson

Enjoying life in Portland, OR
This entry was posted in art and illustration, Current Reading, fantasy, mystery, New Arrivals. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to New Arrivals and Current Reading, April 21 – 27, 2014

  1. I’ve only read Nesbo. One I think.

  2. Richard, I plan on reading Jo Nesbo later this year. I’m currently reading Martin Cruz Smith’s “Stallion Gate” which is set during WWII and where Robert Oppenheimer is suspected of being a Soviet spy, and Elizabeth Spann Craig’s “A Body in the Backyard,” a Myrtle Clover mystery. The three used novels I picked up recently were “Early Autumn” by Robert B. Parker (never read him before), “The House That Jack Built,” a Matthew Hope mystery, by Ed McBain; and “Cast a Long Shadow,” a Bandolero western, by Wayne D. Overholser who wrote very good westerns.

  3. Jeff Meyerson says:

    I’ve read the first two Nesbos, as mentioned previously. Both take him out of his native Norway – the first to Sydney, the second to Bangkok – and both are very good. I’ll be moving on to the next one soon. And I have the second Siger in trade pb from the library, which I may take with me on the trip (again) to Phoenix. I’ve got about 10 library books on hand. No new arrivals.

    Read this week: Jeffrey Siger’s first, MURDER IN MYKONOS; the latest Alan Banks by Peter Robinson, CHILDREN OF THE REVOLUTION, which I liked – both were library books; and the Ed Hoch collection of Dr. Sam Hawthorne stories, NOTHING IS IMPOSSIBLE. I’m finishing up the first in Jo Walton’s “alternate universe” mystery trilogy, FARTHING, this morning. Check your library. It’s an English country house mystery, set in 1949 in a world where the British made peace with Hitler in 1941. And I’m reading Martin Limon’s excellent collection of Sueno & Bascom stories, NIGHTMARE RANGE, about two MP’s in Korea. The last two were library books as well.

  4. I’ve been reading non-fiction books, but that will all come to a stop tomorrow when I collect about 100 research papers to correct. No pleasure reading this week.

  5. Richard says:

    Randy, Nesbo is an author Barbara likes but I’m not much fond of. A bit too dark (“grimdark”, as the fantasy fans say) for me, with slashers and such. She read the first two, now she’s reading The Leopard, which is out of order, but she’s enjoying it.

  6. Richard says:

    Prashant, I liked Stallion Gate when I read it a few years ago, though my favorite Smith is still Gorky Park. The early Parker books are the best. The further he got in the series the less substance they seemed to have.

  7. Richard says:

    Jeff, as previously said, our deepest condolences. I liked the second Siger book better than the first, so it may serve to take your mind off the reason for your trip, or not. I’m not big on alternate history stuff; Harry Turtledove’s books are well-liked by many people, but I tried one, unsuccessfully. So I’m not sure the Walton would work for me, but I could try it. Of course if England made peace with Germany, where did that leave the U.S.?

    Nightmare Range, on the other hand, sounds very interesting.

  8. Richard says:

    George, you’ll whip right through those research papers, especially since most of the research was probably does on Wikipedia… (let’s hope not). I look forward to you reviews after you get back to fiction reading.

  9. Jerry House says:

    Two by Lansdale: The Drive-In: The Bus Tour and Under the Warrior Star. Also Moorcock’s Sojan the Swordsman (published with Lansdale’s Warrior), Dagni Bredeson’s The First Female Detectives (reprinting AndrewForrester’s The Female Detective and William Stephens Haywood’s Revelations of a Lady Detective (both 1864), Meridel’s Le Sueur’s collection Corn Village, Alicia Austin’s Age of Dreams (a collection of artwork), Walter de la Mare’s Eight Tales, and Peter Cannon’s Pulpwork.
    Coming up: Several Arkham House collections and Basil Copper’s The Black Death.

  10. Richard says:

    Jerry, I have a two book omnibus of Landsdale drive-in novels I have yet to read. I’m afraid 1864 is too old for my mystery/crime reading taste, I’ll go bad to the 1920s, but that’s about it. I look forward to any review you do of Copper.

  11. Jeff Meyerson says:

    In the Walton book the U.S. is barely mention, other than a couple of references to “President Lindbergh” (as in Roth’s THE PLOT AGAINST AMERICA) so presumably they stayed out of the war. It’s also like the Roth in that anti-Semitism rears its ugly head, You might like it. Walton is a big fan of Sayers and other Golden Age British women mystery writers so this is sort of her homage. I’ve reserved book two.

    I will take the Siger book on the plane tomorrow. We have a plane change in Denver so it won’t be five hours in the air like last time, only four.

  12. Patti Abbott says:

    THE CUCKOO CALLING and ORDINARY PEOPLE, which I have to read for my book group. There is a big book sale tomorrow. Will I go? I just gave hundreds of books away….

  13. Richard says:

    Jeff, hope it goes well in Phoenix. One less hour in the air is a score. You might finish that book in four hours plus airport time. Naturally, being a slow reader, it took me several days.

  14. Richard says:

    Patti, sounds as if you’ll have an internal dialogue tomorrow.. will you, won’t you…

  15. There’s a Library Sale here tomorrow. I’m definitely going, but I’m bound and determined to be picky.

  16. Richard says:

    George, hope you (and Patti, if she goes) find some good stuff, in the Crider meaning of the phrase.

Leave a Reply

