ffb: Torch Town Boogie by Steven Womack

this is the 142nd in my series of forgotten or seldom read books 

Torch Town Boogie by Steven Womack, Ballantine Books paperback original, November 1993 ($4.99) – Harry Denton, private investigator

Torch Town BoogieIt was a magnificent fire, a marvelous fire, the kind of fire whose brilliance penetrates even closed window shades and eyelids.

Fire is scary enough, arson downright frightening and the latest fire is so close to Harry Denton’s apartment that he can stand in his bedroom and watch the conflagration from his window. The newspapers have dubbed – not very creatively – the person starting fires all over Eastern Nashville the “East Nashville Arsonist” and this time the house torched was the best in the neighborhood, a big old Victorian belonging to wealthy psychotherapist Will Elmore, whose burnt remains are found in the basement. Harry gets a call from his ex-wife Lanie who wants his help. Seems she and Elmore were engaged and Elmore had already changed his will so she’ll get everything, which makes her  – you guessed it – the prime suspect.

This Harry’s second case. He’s now been a P.I. for ten months, and he’s still struggling to keep his business going and pay his meager expenses, like rent on his one room office and his two room apartment. His old Ford’s on it’s last legs and he needs a case, any case. That doesn’t mean he’s particularly happy when his ex-wife wants to hire him, but the fact is he needs the money.

Sometimes when I’m reading a mystery I have to make myself remember that people do things without thinking about the consequences. It’s easy enough for me as a reader, with the whole past, present and future sequence of events in my hands, to think at a character “Oh come on, you’re not really going to do ‘that’, are you?” Yet when I consider, ‘that’ is perfectly logical in the context of events from the character’s point of view. Not smart, maybe, but logical. It’s just that I know this is a murder mystery, and something bad’s due to happen pretty soon, and this is pretty obviously gonna be it, and if the character is smart he’ll turn right around, go home and read a book. Now wouldn’t that make an exciting story. So characters do things that turn out to be a bad idea, that’s the way life is, and when it comes to bad ideas it seems Harry Denton is on a roll in this book; taking his ex-wife’s case, getting involved with an arson investigation, lying to the cops and then things really start to go downhill.

The one thing that’s going good for Harry is his love life. He and his girlfriend Marsha, an MD at the Medical Examiner’s Office, are getting closer by the day, and that gives this tale of arson and murder a nice place to go when Harry’s not getting himself into trouble. I liked the first book in this series, Dead Folks Blues, (reviewed here) and I liked this one even better.

~  ~  ~  ~  ~

More Friday Forgotten Book posts
can be found at Patti Abbott’s fine blog Pattinase

 

About Richard Robinson

Enjoying life in Portland, OR
This entry was posted in At Home in Portland. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to ffb: Torch Town Boogie by Steven Womack

  1. I’ve enjoyed all the Steven Womack books I’ve read including this one. My favorite Womack novel is CHAIN OF FOOLS.

  2. BV Lawson says:

    I’m hosting Friday’s Forgotten Books today for Patti Abbott, but unfortunately Typepad (which hosts my blog) had a denial of service attack and is down. They are working to fix it ASAP, so please so stay tuned. My apologies – I’ll put up the links when things are back to normal + they’ll be up all weekend (and beyond). If necessary, Todd Mason has offered to stand in. I’ll let you know one way or the other.

  3. Richard says:

    Sorry you’re having blog troubles, and especially when you volunteered to stand in for Patti. Hope all is well soon!

  4. BV Lawson says:

    Okay, I think we (as in Typepad) are back in business. Here’s the direct FFB link:

    http://inreferencetomurder.typepad.com/my_weblog/2014/04/fridays-forgotten-books-post-downtime-edition.html

    If you see any errors or omissions, please let me know in the comments or via bv@bvlawson.com

  5. BV Lawson says:

    Thanks, Richard! Fortunately, as of 4pm (ONLY 8 hours late!), I think we (as in Typepad) are back in business. Here’s the direct FFB link:

    http://inreferencetomurder.typepad.com/my_weblog/2014/04/fridays-forgotten-books-post-downtime-edition.html

    If you see any errors or omissions, please let me know in the comments or via bv@bvlawson.com

  6. Jeff Meyerson says:

    I must admit I’ve never read a Womack book, though I’ve tried a couple of them over the years. These do sound kind of interesting so maybe I will try again.

  7. Richard says:

    Jeff, I read the first four and liked them, but that’s all there were at the time and I never checked to see if he wrote more.

  8. Sounds like a similar characterization to the Matthew Hope book I’m reading now, Beauty and the Beast

  9. Richard says:

    Charles, I haven’t read any of McBain’s Matthew Hope books – or any 87th Precinct books either, to my embarrassment – so I can’t compare. Are the Hope books as good as the Precinct ones?

Leave a Reply

