New Arrivals and Current Reading, March 10 – 16, 2014

New Arrivals
I was listening to the program Here and Now on public radio about a week ago and there was a very good segment on visiting Eudora Welty’s home in Jackson, Mississippi. The piece had recordings of Welty speaking of her writing, her childhood in that house and reading snippets of novels and stories. The host discussed Welty’s influence on southern writers and how, along with William Faulkner, her writing defined life in the south in the early and mid decades of the 20th century.

I realized I’d only read one Welty story, probably in college or soon after, and I wanted to read more. The Library of America seemed the obvious place to go to obtain the works I wanted.

Complete Novels by Eudora Welty [Library of America volume # 101, 1998 clothbound, new copy] – fiction. The Robber Bridegroom, Delta Wedding, The Ponder Heart, Losing Battles, The Optimist’s Daughter.

Stories, Essays & Memoir by Eudora Welty [Library of America volume # 102, 1998 clothbound, new copy] – fiction. Contains A Curtain of Green and Other Stories, The Wide Net and Other Stories, The Golden Apples, The Bride of Innisfallen and Other Stories, selected essays and the memoir One Writer’s Beginnings.

Obviously I’m not going to read all this in great gulps, but plan to dip into the short stories and then tackle a novel. Once I’ve done that, I’ll decide how to proceed.

Current Reading
I finished the story collection  Constellation, Vol. 2 by Sharon Lee and Steve Miller. That made two very thick collections of Liaden Universe stories I’d read, back to back and after that I need a break. Just in time here comes Left Coast Crime (see previous post) and some immersion in mystery fiction. I’ll take a book or two, as always, to the con but expect to pick up something there. For the time being, some mystery short stories will suffice.

What new did you get, what have you been reading?

About Richard Robinson

Enjoying life in Portland, OR
This entry was posted in Current Reading, New Arrivals. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to New Arrivals and Current Reading, March 10 – 16, 2014

  1. Patti Abbott says:

    She has been a favorite of mine for a long time. I like her short stories especially. “Why I Left the P.O” is my favorite.

  2. Patti Abbott says:

    Why I Live at the PO. Sorry.

  3. Jeff Meyerson says:

    Have a great time, Rick. We’re leaving for home tomorrow.

    I haven’t read much Welty, I confess. New books: Jackie wanted to read DIVERGENT by Veronica Roth before the movie opens and as the library has a waiting list of 500 (!) – I was about #200 – and the exchange not much better, we bought a copy at Walmart for $6.99. She’s reading it now.

    Books read: the latest (for me, that is) volume of Robert Silverberg’s collected stories [on the Kindle], WE ARE FOR THE DARK, covering 1987-90. I particularly liked “In Another Country.” I have Volume 8 on the Kindle and at least one more is due this year. Next was a mystery, whose main problem for me was the teeny tiny print. This was John D. MacDonald’s 1953 DEAD LOW TIDE, a good early one set on the West Coast of Florida.

    I’m just about done with the 1940 Best SF Stories volume edited by Martin Greenberg & Isaac Asimov.

  4. Back in my 30s I got interested in her and read some of her stuff, particularly the book on writing. Good stuff. But over the years I’ve drifted well away from her.

  5. I heard that NPR HERE & NOW story on Welty,too! I bought the Library of America volumes when they were published and read them. Great stuff! I’m reading a lot of Milton Lesser for future FFBs.

  6. Richard says:

    Patti, I knew which story you meant, it’s the only one I’d read, back when. I’m looking forward to reading it again.

  7. Richard says:

    Charles, when you read Welty, what was your take from a southerner’s viewpoint? Having grown up in California in the Fifties, I’d have no idea, am not able to place the works in a personally experienced cultural context.

  8. Richard says:

    Jeff, I always hear – in my mind – Willie Nelson’s “On the Road Again” when I set out for a more then day long driving trip. Have a safe drive.

    I have read three Welty stories so far. Haven’t read Divergent, probably won’t bother with it. I was never a big fan of Silverberg, excepting the first Marjipoor book. I have some short stories here, mostly unread. That’s a JDM I’d not read. Yep, many older PBs had that tiny print. Want to do a guest FFB on that SF anthology?

  9. Richard says:

    George, that’s cool; imagine us listening to the same thing at the same time, on nearly opposite sides of the country. I got that Lesser collection Bill mentioned.

  10. I bought that JOHNNY MAYHEM collection, too. And I bought a Milton Lesser collection from ARMCHAIR FICTION (love their books!). And chance lead me to a “Stephen Marlowe” collection I’d never heard of.

  11. Richard says:

    George, we just pulled into the Hilton in Redding. I brought Nicholas Blake’s 1935 novel, A Question of Proof to read tonight and tomorrow…seemed a good intro to a mystery con, and I can use it for a ffb sometime. You’ll enjoy the Lessor and Marlowe collections, I’m sure.

Leave a Reply

