New Arrivals and Current Reading, March 3 – 9, 2014

New Arrivals
Ah, a flurry of goodness.

Firstly, I now have the complete set – I already have volume 1 – of the MacBride & Kennedy collected stories. All three with an introduction by Evan Lewis.

Shake-Down: The Complete Cases of MacBride & Kennedy Volume 2 by Frederick Nebel  [Altus Press 2013 trade paper, new copy] – pulp mystery story collection.

Too Young to Die: The Complete Cases of MacBride & Kennedy Volume 3 by Frederick Nebel  [Altus Press 2013 trade paper, new copy] – pulp mystery story collection.

Winter Kill: The Complete Cases of MacBride & Kennedy Volume 4 by Frederick Nebel  [Altus Press 2013 trade paper, new copy] – pulp mystery story collection.

Then there are the other things that knocked on the door. More Liaden Universe novels from Baen, one an omnibus, one a single novel. Yes, one of these days I’ll read them.

The Green Hornet: Still At Large edited by Joe Gentile, Win Scott Eckert & Matthew Baugh [Moonstone 2012 trade paper, new copy] – pulp hero original story collection. Another 17 original stories featuring Hornet and Kato. I thought the first two collections were a lot of fun.

The Crystal Variation by Sharon Lee and Steve Miller [Baen 2011 mass market, new copy] – science fiction omnibus. More Liaden Universe. This contains three novels: Crystal Soldier and Crystal Dragon are the first two novels, in the internal chronology of the books. The third novel here is Balance of Trade. 

Ghost Ship by Sharon Lee and Steve Miller [Baen 2011 mass market, new copy] – science fiction novel. Another novel set in the Liaden Universe.

Current Reading
After finishing Here, There, Everywhere by William Least Heat-Moon I dug into a couple of short story collections I’ve been working on for what seems years, no need to mention names yet again. I have several books calling to me and hadn’t decided which to start, when Constellations volume 2 came from the library. I’m about halfway through it’s near 480 pages.

What new did you get, what have you been reading?

About Richard Robinson

Enjoying life in Portland, OR
This entry was posted in Current Reading, mystery, New Arrivals, science fiction. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to New Arrivals and Current Reading, March 3 – 9, 2014

  1. Wow, you have really stocked up on some great books! Spring Break begins next week so I may read a couple Big Fat Books…or a bunch of shorter books.

  2. Jeff Meyerson says:

    Nice ones. I kept checking for New Arrivals yesterday. I like your choices.

    The only new book I bought this week was Dave Barry’s latest collection, the very funny You Can Date Boys When You’re Forty: Dave Barry on Parenting and Other Topics He Knows Very Little About, which I also read, To me this shows what is wrong with the publishing industry. This 224 page book, essays on topics ranging from taking his 13 year old daughter to a Justin Bieber concert to the merits (verdict: none) of 50 Shades of Grey, is selling for $27.95. You can get a copy on Amazon for $18. I bought it at Costco for $14.89.

    By the way, his chapter on aging and death will hit home (in a funny way). Did you know that when Walter Brennan played the old coot in The Real McCoys he was the same age (mid-60’s) that we are today? Scary.

    The other book I read was an ebook, another collection of stories. This one is BEAT TO A PULP: Round Two, and with authors like Bill Pronzini, Dave Zeltserman, Wayne D \. Dundee, James Reasoner, Patricia Abbott, Bill Crider (much darker than his usual fare) and Ed Gorman (writing on Barbary Coast San Francisco) you can’t go far wrong. I’m also reading a collection of RObert Silverberg’s stories and a John D. MacDonald book from 1953,

  3. Haven’t read the MacBride and Kennedy but they sound pretty interesting.

  4. Richard says:

    George, you just finished Christmas break, and you get MORE time off? Boy you teachers really have a soft schedule. (no comment necessary, I know there is a lot of work involved in what you do.) We leave a week from today to drive to Monterey for Left Coast Crime. It’s a two day drive, one from here to Redding, then from there to Monterey. We’ll take books but there will be things there, book bag and book room. Who knows what may be bought, though I’m on a budget.

  5. Richard says:

    Jeff, I had the post ready to go Sunday afternoon, then forgot to post it until yesterday late afternoon.

    I’m not as much a fan of Barry as you are, but the pricing is silly-stupid on books, any books, including e-books. Okay, I’m officially an old Walter Brennan type old geezer.

    You say ” with authors like Bill Pronzini, Dave Zeltserman, Wayne D \. Dundee, James Reasoner, Patricia Abbott, Bill Crider (much darker than his usual fare) and Ed Gorman (writing on Barbary Coast San Francisco) you can’t go far wrong.” I guess not, but if those had been the actual authors, instead of authors like them, it would have been better. Snicker.

  6. Richard says:

    Charles, you ought to try the first volume!

  7. Jeff Meyerson says:

    Actually, after I wrote that I thought of that.

  8. Richard says:

    Jeff, I sure wish you guys were going to be at LCC. Maybe you can go next year, it’s in Portland.

  9. Rick, the blizzard that’s hitting us today has closed schools and Colleges. I’m hunkered down. Later, when the bulk of the snow (over 12 inches predicted!) falls, I’ll fire up Big Orange and snow blow my driveway and sidewalks.

  10. Jeff Meyerson says:

    We’ve been following “Vulcan” on the news, George, and saw the shift from New York City north. Last night they showed Buffalo in the 12-18 inch range. It also said Buffalo was at #10 on their “snowiest winter” list so maybe this will pull you up higher. I see Detroit had their snowiest winter ever. This is why we decided to stay here another week and leave next Tuesday instead of yesterday.

    Long live Big Orange!

  11. Richard says:

    George, Jeff, I gather Vulcan must be the name they’ve given this storm (we don’t get much national weather coverage unless it hits the network news, which is filled with the missing plane and politics in Florida and such just now. I wouldn’t want a foot of anything falling on my house, thanks, not even feathers. George, I bet you’re glad of that new roof, as well as Big O.

    Enjoy that warm weather, Jeff. We’re having mid-high 30’s at night, high 50’s days just now. Spring is here, Daffodils are blooming.

Leave a Reply

