New Arrivals and Current Reading, February 24 – March 2, 2014

New Arrivals
It’s all science fiction this time!

I very much enjoyed the short story collection Constellation, Vol. 1 by Lee & Miller [Thanks again to Carl Anderson at Stainless Steel Droppings for the review that led me to it!] so I decided to try a novel. The more I looked into the Liaden Universe, the more I wanted to read a lot of it, so I’ve gotten these omnibus volumes to get started:

The Agent Gambit by Sharon Lee & Steve Miller [Baen 2011 mass market paperback, new] – science fiction omnibus contains two novels:  Agent of Change and Carpe Diem.

The Dragon Variation Sharon Lee & Steve Miller [Baen 2010 mass market paperback, new] – science fiction omnibus contains three novels: Local Custom, Scout’s Progress and Conflict of Honors

Now for some older and less serious stuff:

Whistle Stop in Space by Kendell Foster Crossen. [Altus Press 2013 trade paper, new] – science fiction. I enjoyed the first of the Manning Draco story collections, Once Upon A Star a lot so I ordered this one. These are fun, quick reading, just the thing for a Winter’s afternoon.

Johnny Mayhem – the Complete Series by Milton Lesser writing as C.H. Thames [Pulp Tale Press 2013 paperback POD, new] – pulp science fiction stories. Thanks to Bill Crider, for whom no superlative is too great, I was made aware of this collection of 1955-1958 stories from Amazing Stories. A romp.

Current Reading
As mentioned above, I finished the story collection  Constellation, Vol. 1 by Sharon Lee and Steve Miller. I finished Here, There, Everywhere by William Least Heat-Moon, a very enjoyable collection of Heat-Moon’s short form travel writing. That made a nice break before my plunge into some short stories of various genres and then my first Liaden Universe novel (not sure which one yet).

What new did you get, what have you been reading?

About Richard Robinson

Enjoying life in Portland, OR
This entry was posted in Current Reading, New Arrivals, science fiction. Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to New Arrivals and Current Reading, February 24 – March 2, 2014

  1. Richard, I finished reading Clifton Adams’ noirish western “A Noose for the Desperado” and I’m eager to read more by the author, and I’m about to dig into some short stories of Evelyn Waugh.

  2. Jerry House says:

    Slow week for me; many short stories and a Pogo book, POSITIVELY POGO. I did read a lot of Jeff Vandermeer’s ANNIHILATION but, for some reason, gave it up with only twenty pages to go. (The second time in two weeks I did not finish a book. I lose interest, or something else bright and shiny catches my eye.) Currently reading Harlan Ellison’s THE CITY ON THE EDGE OF FOREVER, with various treatments and approaches to the STAR TREK episode.

  3. I like the looks of that Milton Lesser collection. I might have to order that. Like you, I’ve been acquiring various volumes in the Liaden Universe. I need to find some time to read them.

  4. Oh my, they all look great. Of course you know I have the two Liaden omnibus editions already, but I still get a thrill looking at them, knowing there is potentially great storytelling ahead. And the other two just look fantastic. Wow!

  5. Jeff Meyerson says:

    Nice books. I especially like that title WHISTLE STOP IN SPACE and I am definitely ordering the Lesser collection as soon as I get home. No new books here.

    I read three books, two of them “real” paperbacks I brought with me. The ebook was edited by Timothy Hallinan: MAKING STORY: Twenty-One Writers on How They Plot. The writers include our own Dr. Crider, as well as Brett Battles (who is writing FIVE books a year), Cara Black, Gar Anthony Haywood, Wendy Hornsby, Zoe Sharp and Yrsa Sigurdardottir, among others. Some interesting things to say on the “plotter vs. pantser” method of writing. The majority seem to favor the latter or a variation of it.

    The others were MR. MONK IN TROUBLE by Lee Goldberg, Trouble being an old California Gold Rush town where a modern murder has taken place, and Ed Gorman’s western TROUBLE MAN. The former is fun though not near the best in the series (IMHO) but the latter is definitely worth seeking out and reading. I believe James Reasoner has recently republished it as an ebook.

    I have (obviously) been keeping up with short stories (though no books finished this week) and read 64 in February, bring the year’s total to 117 so far. I’ve finished four volumes in each of the first two months of the year.

  6. Patti Abbott says:

    WINTER PEOPLE by Jennifer MacMahon, a ghost story and a Philip Roth bio.

  7. Richard says:

    Prashant, I haven’t read any Clifton Adams, but a “noirish western” sounds interesting. Waugh I have read, though there is a lot more I haven’t gotten to. I’ll be interested to hear how you like those stories.

  8. Richard says:

    Jerry, a slow week for you is a better then average week for many of us. I have that Pogo book, and most of the others. I started reading Pogo when I was in fifth grade, and periodically pick up one of the books and reread it. Plus I’ve been getting the new large format hardcovers of the dailies. I’ve read the short story version of City in the original collection (by Blish, perhaps?) but not any other versions. It’s not my favorite original ST episode.

    I gave up on a book just last week, at about the halfway point. It obviously wasn’t going to deliver what I’d hoped when I got it from the library.

  9. Richard says:

    George, there’s one of the Johnny Mayhem stories available on line here. You could try before you buy.

  10. Richard says:

    Carl, see my comment to George on the on-line story. I still haven’t decided which Liaden novel to start with. Either Crystal Dragon or Agent of Change, I think.

  11. Richard says:

    Jeff, your short story totals are mind blowing to me. I keep trying to do the one per day and fall off that cart every time. I’m going to read a few before starting the next novel, but I’ll never, ever read ss the way you do. I just don’t know how you do it, but then you’re a faster reader than I am.

    Making Story has been mentioned before on Blogs I Read (BIR) and I admit it sounds interesting but I haven’t time. That said, I can’t imagine trying to write a story, let alone novel, without an outline of some kind.

  12. Richard says:

    Patti, I sit here wondering how a Phillip Roth bio could be of any interest.

  13. Jerry House says:

    Richard, there are also a number of Stephen Marlowe/Milton Lesser/C. H. Thames/Darius john Granger SF stories at Project Gutenberg, including three Johnny Mayhems.

  14. Richard says:

    Jerry, thanks! I’ll check it out.

  15. Jeff Meyerson says:

    Rick, that book is short and a fast read., All I did was read one or two authors’ pieces at a time. As fpr the shorts, I’ve gotten into the habit of reading one first thing in the morning and getting it out of the way immediately.

  16. Richard says:

    Jeff, from the numbers, you’re reading four a day, or more…

  17. Milton Lesser. Haven’t seen that name in a while.

Leave a Reply

