New Arrivals and Current Reading, February 17 – 23, 2014

Reading, watching Winter Olympics, walking in the rain, sipping hot cocoa with little marshmallows on it, reading blogs, planning for Spring in the garden, quilt planning, chores and errands. The days are packed. How did I ever have time for work?

New Arrivals.
Restraint continues, just two this time.

A Darkling Sea by James L. Cambias [TOR 2014 hardcover, new] – science fiction. Bought because of reviews read and the teriffic cover by Thom Tenery. This one has human-alien culture collision as it’s primary theme.

Fledgling by Sharon Lee and Steve Miller [Baen Books 2010 mass market paperback, new] – science fiction. I’m enjoying the short story collection Constellation, Vol. 1 by these authors enough to try a novel. This one, though far from the beginning of the Liaden Universe books is, I understand, a good jumping in place.

Current Reading
I’ve been reading between watching the Winter Olympics which end Sunday. Reading will pick up as I watch very little evening television. I finished The Everything Store about Jeff Bezos and Amazon.com, which was interesting. I’m two-thirds through Constellation, Vol. 1 by Sharon Lee and Steve Miller, which is over 500 pages of short stories. Good stuff. Next up after that is Here, There, Everywhere by William Least Heat-Moon, subtitled Stories from the Road a collection of Heat-Moon’s short form travel writing.

I also read a couple of books on conifers from the library, as that is our winter gardening interest of the moment.

What new did you get, what have you been reading?

About Richard Robinson

Enjoying life in Portland, OR
This entry was posted in Current Reading, New Arrivals. Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to New Arrivals and Current Reading, February 17 – 23, 2014

  1. Richard, I’m currently in the mood for reading short stories across genres which means my reading of novels has taken a backseat.

  2. Like Prashant, I’ve been reading a lot of short story collections. Glad you enjoyed THE EVERYTHING STORE. I’m using it in one of my MARKTING classes. Jeff Bezos is an amazing guy! I’ll be eager to read your review of A DARKLING SEA. The cover is great!

  3. Jeff Meyerson says:

    No new books. I did read one “real” book as mentioned, Kristine Kathryn Rusch’s THE DISAPPEARED, first in her Retrieval Artist series (after the “origin” story we both read a while back). I liked it. The rest of my reading has been in ebooks (though I am halfway through the 10th Monk book by Lee Goldberg currectly).

    First was Daniel Pinkwater’s fun collection FISH WHISTLE: Little Short Essays (originally FISH WHISTLE: Commentaries, Uncommentaries and Vulgar Excesses).three and four minute essays he wrote (and performed) for NPR’s All Things Considered. Next was a collection of stories, TOP SUSPENSE – FAVORITE KILLS: The Best From 12 Masters of the Genre, including Max ALlan Collins, Bill Crider, Ed Gorman and Lee Goldberg. For a change of pace I read one I’d put in the humor/horror category (if there was one), Steve Hockensmith’s CADAVER IN CHIEF: A Special Report From the Dawn of the Zombie Apocalypse. Is the President, running for re-election, really a zombie? Some funny political satire here as well as pointed comments on the death of newspapers as we knew them.

    Besides the Monk I’m reading three more collections of stories, two of them anthologies (one mystery, one sf) and the other the seventh collection of Robert Silverberg’s stories. Also there is MAKING STORY: Twenty-One Writers on How They Plot. All but the sf anthology are ebooks.

    I’ve been reading a lot of stories down here. I’m over 100 for the year to date.

  4. Jeff Meyerson says:

    The Bezos book should be on hand from the library when we get home in a couple of weeks.

  5. Jerry House says:

    I read two more Pronzini novels in my Pronzini-thon. (I now have read all of his novels save the softcore books he did with Jeffrey Wallmann early in his career.) I stopped reading Alan Lightman’s THE ACCIDENTAL UNIVERSE about 80% of the way in; don’t know why — perhaps I’ll get back to it some day. I also read THE LAND OF SHORTER SHADOWS, the first of several travel books by Erle Stanley Gardner. Beyond that, just a number of short stories.

    Unless something else comes up, I’ll get to Jeff Vandermeer’s ANNIHILATION and the new Lansdale collection BLEEDING SHADOWS this week.

  6. Richard says:

    Prashant, this seems to be the short story time of year for everyone.

  7. Richard says:

    George, so you’re reading short stories too. I thought the Bezos book was…interesting. I didn’t quite realize how cutthroat Amazon became as it grew, but that’s the nature of business, I guess. If you want to be the biggest, you have to squash the little guys.

  8. Richard says:

    Jeff, seems you gone to the dark side: all those e-books. It’s a shame, isn’t it. (I’m half smiling as I write that). I’ve enjoyed all of Rusch’s Retrieval Artist books that I’ve read, which is four, maybe five. I’ll have to check. Is the DISAPPEARED the one about the virus?

  9. Patti Abbott says:

    Threw over THE GOLDFINCH after 600 pages. Just didn’t care. Reading COVER OF SNOW by Jenny Milchman. Also on hand THE KEPT by Scott.

  10. a darkling sea looks good. Love the title.

  11. Jeff Meyerson says:

    THE DISAPPEARED is the first, where he discovers the new owners of one of the “disppearance” companies (WARNING) is selling out the clients to aliens, and he ends up quitting the police to become a Retrieval Artist himself (END WARNING).

    Patti, you should have listened to George about THE GOLDFINCH. I did.

  12. Jeff Meyerson says:

    Don’t worry, Rick. As soon as we get home I’ll be back to “real” books. It is just easier to bring the Kindle on he road.

  13. Richard says:

    Patti, you did what you had to do. I’m amazed that the book went up the sales charts as it did, and seemed to stick there. I wonder how many of the people who bought it have read all or any of it? Have you read any of William Heat-Moon’s fiction?

  14. Richard says:

    Jeff, yep, I remember that one. I liked the next even better, and the third one, etc. I’m tempted to take the next unread one off the shelf now. Glad to hear you haven’t ditched ink on paper.

  15. Anton says:

    A Darkling Sea sounds really good. I got myself Book of Apex volume 4 and have been reading through that. I’m in the mood for short stories.

  16. Richard says:

    Anton, I’ve been reading a lot of short stories too. I am reading good things about Book of Apex 4.

  17. Rick, AMAZON, GOOGLE, and APPLE are all ruthless. I thought THE EVERYTHING STORE captured Jeff Bezos’ management style convincingly.

Leave a Reply

